We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, Beautiful, & Relaxing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable, Beautiful, & Relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I went here with my husband to escape an Ohio winter. We have many fabulous things to say about the Park Royal:

1) The grounds- This is such a beautiful & updated resort, The grounds are impressively clean. You will always find the staff cleaning the grounds to make sure they are in tip-top shape. You will see many beautiful animals- peacocks, lizards, & pelicans at the beach. There are also many beautiful plants & flowers. We were also happy with the size of this resort- you got to know your way around quickly and the quaint size of it made us feel comfortable.
2) The food- I have been to a few all inclusive resorts and I felt the food here was better than most. The buffet is great for breakfast. The chicken sandwiches & nachos at the snack bars are awesome. The Mexican & Italian restaurants are both very good. The only food we were never impressed with were the deserts.
3) The pools are relaxing and never too crowded. You don't have to wait long to get a drink at the pool bars. The pools along the ocean are the best. If you tip the bartender he will take care of you the rest of the week.
4) The complimentary snorkeling is a plus. You can only get the snorkeling gear for an hour at a time, but it's not too bad because the snorkeling is right there on site. There is so much to see at the reef at this resort. Baracuda, eel, and an assortment of tropical fish. Definitely find time to do the snorkeling here.
5) If you are looking for some excursions to do, you can book them at the resort and have arranged transportation take you to & from the excursion. We did a dolphin excursion and it was definitely worth the money. There are many excursions to do close by. Take advantage of it!
--- You definitely get your money's worth at this incredibly affordable resort!


The only cons of this resort:
1) The cruise ships are docked on the ocean in front of the pools the entire day except Sundays. You can't enjoy much of a sunset during the winter because the cruise ships don't leave until it is dark.
2) The entertainment is no good. We didn't mind because we would usually have a late dinner and a drink or two after and call it a night, but if you are expecting wonderful shows then you will not be impressed.
3) There is no room service
4) You have to pay for Wi-fi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2013Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    1,340
    530
    191
    145
See reviews for
1,151
1,571
71
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were here during Christmas and the hotel was 100% full. We were impressed by the friendly and helpful staff everywhere except the front desk and the nice pools and beach area. The all-inclusive food and drink program was good but not great. (I'd say just a notch below Norwegian Cruise Lines If that helps). We thought that the Mexican restaurant that required reservations was nicer than the buffet. Because we have kids, we could not try the Italian restaurant which is for 12 and over.

I knock off two overall stars because of the noisy rooms. Our rooms (We had two, one on the ground floor and one on the first floor) were so noisy that we couldn't sleep well. The ground floor room was near the theater which was LOUD until 10:30 (Likely not a problem if you don't have small kids) and then security folks with walkie-talkies beeped and sqwalked at all hours. We asked to switch several times and were told no because the hotel was full even though there were stacks of check-in papers and bracelets for guests that had not yet arrived on the counter. Not sure why these guests somehow merited a room where they could sleep while we did not :(

For our last night, we were were assigned to a room away from the theater that had an air conditioner that banged twice every time it turned off so it sounded like someone was knocking at the door every hour or so all night long.

I knock off another overall star for the hotel's poor response to our complaints. At check-out, I asked to speak with a manager and was told that he was on the phone or with another guest so I could not speak to anyone... NOT an OK response in my book.

Overall an OK place but if you want a good night's sleep or management that you can talk to I'd try elsewhere. We left it feeling exhausted... not what we were hoping for in a vacation!

Room Tip: Lower Floor (Garden View) LOUD... can't speak for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank f0urf0rfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Park Royal Cozumel. Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection, let me offer you an apology if we failed to meet your expectations at different times during your stay. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show the improvements made thanks to your valuable comments.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hotel, great views, good food, really nice staff and the beach is pristine. No regrets except for the Vacation Rental husslers. We specifically told them that we do not want to buy anything, but just want to get more information (as we might buy 1 year down the line) - we did not go because of any discount or so. But they still use those same dirty tactics which makes me not buy it even more.

Other than that, a great hotel - would recommend Cozumel and Park Royal if you like snorkeling, scuba, etc.

Room Tip: Stay away from those sales guys if you want a stress free vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vabby2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The all inclusive is nice - we were traveling with three late teen and early adult boys. The fact that the food and drink is always available is a nice option. The downside to the food is.... Not a lot of vegetarian options, the food gets old after day 3 and sometimes the food temperature is cold when it needs to be warm... Ex: pancakes...it is nice to leave the property to get a little island cuisine. The property itself is immaculate, the staff is friendly and the drinks are never ending. We enjoyed our clean room ( full size bed was not a great thing and the pillows were also not pleasant) but being in a beautiful place with those you love... Makes for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite noisy because of the marble flooring, building one is near the road so proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slckimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived at Park Royal and were immediately greeted by Agnes, one of the concierge staff. She was friendly and helpful which was indicative of the rest of the staff of the resort. Restaurant service was prompt and friendly; the food at the buffet was good, but not great for lunch and dinner; breakfast was very good. The food in the specialty restaurants, which requires a reservation, was delicious. The choice of food at the beach, however, was disappointing; it was burgers, pizza and hot dogs, all of which were very average. The pizza tasted like bad frozen pizza. The rooms were very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 2000 range are on the hallway to the elevator and very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Boys week, just my 20 year old son & me......and it rained everyday! But the hotel was great, the food was great, the staff was great, the location was perfect, not a negative thing to say....and I am never happy. I was struck by the maintenance guys, who always smiled and said hola. If you travel, you know this never happens. Everything was first class.

I believe it to be a timeshare resort but we had no pressure to do a presentation. No one even mentioned it.

We dove with Gabriel at Casa Del Mar Aquatics which is 100 yards away. They store our gear so the 20 year old only had to carry it once. First class.

Great trip and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms above the fourth floor have a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Baggiolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was our first trip to Mexico and I tell you... It was magnificent! Not a thing that we did not love about this place. Great people, great resort, great pools, great beach (small).. It's an inclusiveness resort. My wife and I are vegetarians, at first it was not much for us to eat there... However, as soon as I told one of the managers, they made food which was not in their menu to cater our dietary needs. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing