We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort but not without a few quirks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Resort but not without a few quirks.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here the first week of December (2013) for 5 nights via a Living Social deal. Booking was fairly easy and everything was correct upon arrival. On top of the stay we received (2) 20 minute massages, 500ml bottle of tequila, and 50% of Spa Services. We didn't use the discount but did receive the tequila and massages.

Location is just south of the downtown area, probably a little too far to walk. But generally seemed safe and not a far drive to the airport. We booked a shuttle with our flights, which worked well.

If you're looking for long white sandy beaches, this is NOT your place. The water side area consists of a couple infinity pools, decks, and there is a little inlet from the sea. Also as many said, the cruise ships dock nearby. We personally found this kind of cool, but obviously other reviewers didn't. I thought if you just turned your head to the right you had a ton of water to view. We never had any issues finding chairs, getting drinks, etc down by the water.

Service is great, everybody is friendly from the bartenders (Luis in particular), entertainment staff (Jesus and Jorge), and waiters.

Food was pretty good I thought. They have a Mexican and Italian restaurant for dinner reservations, dress was really casual. With that said, the resort was not busy so they may have been more lax. There is a buffet for all 3 meals. I thought the food was generally very good. They also have 2 snack bars that have hot dogs, burgers, and nachos. Nothing fancy but served the purpose.

As far as drinks, they had 3 pool side bars (2 by water, 1 in central pool), 1 bar near the lobby, and then there is a Sports Bar that opens in the evening. The pool side bars close fairly early (6-7PM) and the others are open later. Service friendly, drinks good. Nothing real top shelf but good none the less. Bartenders are friendly. We weren't blown away by the service at the Sports Bar. We went there the first night and that was it.

Rooms were decent, the ocean view we had was awesome. I was disappointed by the lack of a mini fridge with beverages. Maybe got spoiled in our last resort. No clock was my other pet peeve. Rooms were clean and good service. Our AIR stopped working and they came to fix it promptly. Rooms are loud. You can hear everything. Beds were just okay. I would say our view helped move these from average to very good.

Entertainment staff was fun. The shows were decent. They have a theater on-site. There aren't any on-site vendors, or very minimal. The resort hooks up to the Royal Shopping Center but didn't really find that appealing. It didn't have a ton of life and nothing that peaked our interest I guess. If you play volleyball, don't dive! There is concrete under the sand, my leg is still recovering!

WORST part of this place, like many said, timeshares are ANNOYING! You have to almost avoid the lobby, they come at you hard. They also put them in your hotel building and as you walk under the road to the beach. It was a little too much. The first day was the worst and then you adapt to avoiding/saying no, but I didn't like this at all.

We did receive our 20 minute massages, the process to get them was cumbersome but it was worth it. It felt great and wish we would've taken advantage of our 50% spa services looking back.

This is a smaller resort so you often see the same people everyday. This is kind of cool for meeting people but some may not like this.

Overall I would definitely come back here. I thought it was a very personable stay, facilities were clean/safe, food was good, I thought the beach side area was more than fine, and it was a nice place. I knock it down a little bit due to the time shares and maybe lacked a few things here and there that would've been nice. We had a nice relaxing time and that was the purpose.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,551
    1,393
    546
    205
    155
See reviews for
1,209
1,634
74
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The kids loved the buffet. The Mexican restaurant was good fine dining. No need to ditch the kids for the adult only Italian.

Because everything was so spread out, it didn't seem too crowded, there was always a chair by the pool. It was also small enough that the kids could get their own drinks and not feel like they were going to get lost. The beach area was a pleasant surprise for the kids because there was a breaker which made a nice ocean pool. They could practice snorkeling, and there were fish in there. Glass bottom snorkeling trip was very good, great guides.

Downsides, the rooms facing the ocean also faced the street and you could hear everything. Showers were body temperature, so if you like it hot, you are out of luck.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank snowgirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Ambassador Suite with a spectacular view of some of the most amazing Caribbean waters anywhere. Fair food and limited entertainment with pleasant staff. But last visit to an all inclusive from Royal Holiday. Not a good value for the price unless you like cheap booze.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariner1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed there for only 1 night, sadly. We booked our stay through Cheaptickets for $150 for 2 people, all inclusive.

Check in was easy. We took a taxi from the ferry for 80 pesos. Don't fall for the guy trying to sell you a rental car if you plan on staying in the hotel for most of the time. It is not worth it. It was annoying to be attacked by the so-called concierge people who are actually just trying to get you to join their club. We had it easy, since we were staying for just one night. We just told them we had no time.

THE ROOM
We had a garden facing room that was clean and spacious. It had two double beds and a large shower with good water pressure. They provided us with ample toiletries, which was nice, even though we had our own. Our bed was comfortable, clean and nice. We had lots of channels on TV and a nice view of the trees. I found it weird that their shower is glass enclosed being in a room for up to four people...

THE FOOD
The food at the buffet is alright, not extraordinary. For breakfast the had basic dishes. They do have an omelette/egg station. They serve fruit, toast, juice, cereal, and a few other things.
For dinner at the buffet it was Asian night. The selection was not very large, but the food was pretty tasty. We stopped by for a small dinner, as we had reservations at the Mexican place. Both times, the service there was ok.

The Mexican place was delicious! We had late night reservations. The food we ordered was deliciously excellent. The flan that has caramel mixed in it is to die for! In addition to your meal, they bring you a plate to share with a little sample of authentic Mexican snacks. It was so cute/tasty! The service there was EXCELLENT!

The food at the snack shops was good too! The one by the beach/pool had the BEST service. They were serving freshly grilled burgers, hot dogs, pizza (the pizza wasn't all that), nachos, a variety of cut up fruit with powdered chile (if you wanted). We had a feast!

THE SHOW
We went to see the Pre-Hispanic show. It was blah. I tried hard to enjoy it, but was glad to have to leave for our dinner reservation.

CHECK OUT was easy.The guy at the front desk was polite and friendly. They helped us get a taxi for 80 pesos back to the ferry.

We were there on a VERY, VERY windy/cold day and couldn't enjoy the pool or beach, but it was still beautiful to look at. I think it would have been very nice in nicer weather.

We will be going back!

Room Tip: Maybe one near an elevator, just to make it easier to get to the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizluvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kihei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Park Royal Cozumel for 15 days in May 2013 and 10 days in November 2013. Both times were superb - great food, clean rooms and grounds, friendly staff. Time share people can be a bit pushy, but once you let them know you've done the presentation once they lay off! The scuba diving in Cozumel is the best in the world - great viz, vibrant colorful corals, sea fans, etc. All in all, I would recommend Park Royal to everyone - for the price you can't beat it.

Room Tip: request higher floors, above palm trees, for best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mauiblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A beautiful resort with employees to please.. I could not say enough about the service we received at the hotel, restaurants, and bars. They truly made me feel pampered . They had a buffet with plenty to offer for every pallet. A little fine dinning in the Mexican Steakhouse or the Italian Restaurant. either fine dinners had mouth watering dishes that melted in your mouth. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were average, but comfortable. The pools were clean and well maintained . Definitely enjoyed. the swim up bars and tasty snack bars. A very nice private beach sitting between 2 of the pools. A very clean relaxing environment. If it is to costly to fly direct there is a cheap flight from Cancun to Cozumel for around $ 60 U.S. dollars. .Alraedy booked a return trip in a few months.`

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy610_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Me and my wife been there for a couple of days, the rooms are very basic and not looks so good, but most of the time you are not in the room at all so it's OK.

The 2 pools on the beach are amazing and with the snack bar and the open bar- we just stayed there all day.
There are no so many youngsters there so the activities during the day are pretty poor. and as mentions before- The internet is not included and there in no wifi on the beach area.

The location- like any others good hotels in this island are driving distance from the center.

Last thing- for some reason when we stayed there was no hot waters in the room and the air condition was not working for couple of hours in all the hotel.

Room Tip: The Italian restaurant (need to make a reservation, but it's free ofcourse) is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing