We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozumel Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My sister and I just returned from a relaxing stay. We had a great view and enjoyed the jacuzzi. We arrived on a Thursday and it was not crowded at all, by the time the weekend came a lot more people had arrived but there are various pools and places to relax that it didn't feel crowded. The entertainment was ok. I would suggest taking a taxi to the flea market since it's a good 45 minute walk. We also ate at a restaurant called La Mission which was good; that was recommended by our apple vacation rep Estaban. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1705 which was perfect, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoSo_Hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 4,122 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family (wife, 11 yr old, 2 yr old and I) stayed at this resort for the second time. We had just as much of a good time as we did our first visit. We became Royal Holiday members on our last visit so we wanted to see what it was like staying as a member. Not much except the color of the wrist band, fee for the in-room safe and gym access. The service was just as good as we remembered it to be the first time staying here, the room was adequate and had a good view and the staff at the buffet was wonderfully patient with our stubborn and messy 2 yr old.
This trip was more relaxing than our first trip because we planned no excursions off of the island. Besides taking a taxi into town to shop, we did work a deal with a taxi driver to drive us around the whole island and stop at all of the cool spots on the eastern side of the island for a very low price. It was a six hour sightseeing, restaurant and pub crawl and we all had a great time. It was also on a day when there were no cruise ships docking that day so that explains the deal for the tour.
As for the Park Royal, it is by far my family’s favorite property that is in the vicinity. We have been to both of the Park Royals in Cancun and they are very good, but we just prefer Cozumel because of the relative safety of the island community (lots of expats) and specifically the way the beach is set up at the resort it is great for little kids to have fun in the water. My 11 yr old took a couple of days to warm up but once he did he was out the door and constantly involved with the activities staff and other kids playing volleyball, playing Texas Hold’em, making bracelets or learning how to Cha- Cha or Tango in-between water polo matches in the main pool.
As of right now we are planning our 3rd trip to this resort for August of 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrockL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were upgraded into "ambassador suites" . I couldn't find any info before hand, so here is a description. These corner suites consist of the standard bedroom/bathroom separated by a short hall from a living room (couch, chairs, tv, murphy bed in the wall) with a full bathroom.
Both rooms have separate lockable doors and separate balconies. The suite itself is behind a locked door into the main hallway. Very comfortable beds, very clean rooms, attentive staff thru out the resort. The food is buffet for all 3 meals with the option of making reservations in the Italian or Mexican restaurants. There are a limited number of tables and staff, so make reservations around noon or you may not be able to dine until 9pm. Highlights of the buffet include theme nights (Asian night with sushi, Tex Mex, Chef's night), omelet/eggs cooked to order, Mexican and American dishes, and lots of fresh fruit. Be sure to try a mojito.!The beach is beautiful, with palapas and lounge chairs on the white sand; an easy walk into the calm water for the younger set, and lots of fish to see with a mask beyond the coral breaker. The landscaping is beautiful with coral stone paths winding thru out the grounds. There is a elevator for handicapped patrons, as the lobby is a good flight of stairs above the main grounds, and must be traversed every time you enter or leave the resort. Scuba divers have a good choice of dive centers across the street: Scuba Shack( which we used and were very happy with), Del Mar Aquatics,and Dive with Martin. The only detraction for us was the booming beat of the music from the pools from mid morning til late afternoon.

Room Tip: floor 4 or above for ocean view, all rooms face the ocean but garden views only below 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and love Cozumel and thought the hotel and the grounds were beautiful and well taken care of. The room was nothing to write home about but we didn't spend much time there. Wish the beach access was a little bigger but they did good with the space they had to work with. Awesome snorkeling right in front of the hotel and the staff and restaurants were great. Overall our trip was great and we will be going back in November with the kiddos this time!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Platinum3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here in May/June on a diving trip with friends. The rooms are super clean, my bed was really comfortable, the food marginal (mostly, but we didn't eat at the a la carte restaurants), but the pool bars were great. The snorkelling was decent once you go beyond the ropes, but watch for boats. The things that ticked me off were: I asked for a cappuccino and was told they didn't offer it when I heard the waitstaff on two separate days ask other people how they liked their cappuccinos, there is a charge for the room safe and wifi and on holidays I like a little baileys in my coffee or cappuccino. They wouldn't serve any liquor before noon. A number of small things do add up to something bigger. One other item of note is a friend also staying here had the mirror on the wall break when the bed slid across the slippery floor and the hotel charged him for bleeding on the sheets. While I liked the location and many things about the facilities, I would not stay at the Park Royal Cozumel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were switched to the Park Royal after notification that our original reservations at Fiesta Americana could not be honored due to renovations. We were concerned, since we primarily were traveling to a location that catered to scuba divers. We were very pleased with the accommodations at the Park Royal. First..they have a "Disney" mentality...clean it before it gets dirty. Grounds are meticulously maintained... Beautiful landscaping. The pools offer different options...with a magnificent infinity pool overlooking the Caribbean. Each pool has a swim up bar. The beach is small..but there are plenty of seating options. The beach is also a great point to snorkel from. The food was excellent..at the buffet the presentations were done with a appetizing arrangement..the selections always varied and were copious. Food was tasty..the soups were phenomenal. The ala carte restaurants were very good. The food presentations were like those found in upscale restaurants...much thought and flair. The food was prepared with care and served by a professional staff. The menu offered a nice variety of choices. The beds were on the hard side, but the rooms were large. Ample space to keep diving gear. However, if you are going here to scuba dive..you may want to check with other dive operations close by. Aqua World is associated with the Park Royal..dive trip times are not the best. Only had one trip per day. Beach diving was great, especially at night. Easy ingress and egress from the Aqua World dock. Overall, this is a wonderful place, with a great staff. We would go back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here over spring break. Overall, it was less than ok. Some things were excellent, like the staff at the Italian & Mexican restaurants. Unfortunately most things were not. We requested a room on a high level because I have problems sleeping when there is alot of noise. We were placed on the fourth floor so there was no sleeping in. We were awakened every morning with the entertainment staff on the microphones. When we asked for a higher room, the lady said, I won't make any promises. However we were placed on a "waiting list" to be moved. I still don't believe there was ever a list. We were NEVER moved, even though there seemed to be alot of empty rooms, and we were on the "waiting list." It was ironic also that the alot of the people from our flight, checked in after us, but received a room on the upper levels?? We also met alot of people who were on higher floors, but were leaving in the next day or two, but we were NEVER moved!! We could not see the water, only the tree tops.
If you wanted a beach chair.............forget it!!! They did not have adequate chairs for the number of people staying there. If you wanted a chair, you had to get to the pool/beach area by 7am. Many people placed towels on the chairs, and then left the area for hours. While others had to lay on the sand or concrete.
There were multiple issues with our room on the very first night. No air conditioning, (I have breathing problems), the tv did not work, the toilet had it's own disturbing issues, and the balcony door was broken. My daughter cut her hand badly on trying to close the broken balcony door. We reported the injury, but they didn't even offer a bandaid!! They really did not care!! However, the maintenance staff was great, and fixed everything promptly.
We generally are pretty easy going, and give the benefit of a doubt, we could handle the room issues, but the front desk staff was AWFUL!! They were EXTREMELY RUDE, and really didn't mind showing it! At first we thought it was just Mildred, but we soon discovered that the male working with her was just as bad!
We spent most of our time OFF of the resort, and had a blast. We love the downtown area, so that's where most of our time was spent. We did break the "NO FOOD OR DRINK IN THE ROOMS RULE!!" Since the resort does not have ice cream, we had to walk to the convience store every night for my daughter, we even took it in our room!! I have never stayed at a resort that is suppose to be a "family " resort, or even an adults only resort that didn't have ice cream??? The buffet had one fish dish with onions, etc on Good Friday. Since I cannot eat onions, I ate cereal that night with my daughter!
I should have really looked closer at the reviews before booking. I think some people just are never happy so I believe about half of the reviews, but believe me we were really disappointed!! We spent alot of money to go there, and we were really let down.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lag726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,683 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $149 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the award-winning architecture and the interior design of Grand Park Royal Cozumel; its Mayan touch that lives together with the nature that surrounds it will captivate you. From the pools, Jacuzzis and bars, you will be amazed with the turquoise shades of the sea. You will also be delighted with a wide range of gastronomic options including seafood and international specialties. Immerse yourself in an incredible submarine adventure by practicing diving and snorkeling in the world’s second biggest reef. Our activities program and nightly shows are ideal for enjoying in family. Fun is guaranteed! Live the Grand Park Royal experience in Cozumel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing