We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Round Lake Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just came back from this amazing resort, first of all I need to recognize the big effort that all staff puts to make your stay so comfortable and pleasant. Rooms are always clean and tidy, smiles all over the place, food is good and tasty, the buffet restaurant "La Veranda" for breakfast and lunch maybe will show the same options with the exception of 2 to 3 dishes being different every day but dinner is different according to the theme, snack stations offered what they said (burgers, hotdogs, pizza, nachos and cut vegetables).

Beach is tiny but good enough for the kids and having the reef very close it is excellent for snorkeling, water pristine and very colorful tropical fish. Pools are nice and clean, whirlpools are filled with cold water sometimes getting warm but they are not hot tubs, just to relax and have a drink.

El Mexicano restaurant have excellent dishes and everyone is friendly, wet bars are ok, and drinks are good enough to keep you busy.

We definitely recommend it and will get back soon.

Room Tip: Try to get your room above 5th floor and facing north, otherwise you will be facing the pier and cru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    1,396
    547
    206
    155
See reviews for
1,210
1,642
75
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here with an RCI certificate and got a very good deal on the all inclusive package. The room was large and beds comfortable. The service was excellent. Hotel staff were efficient and eager to please. The beachside pools provided lovely, relaxing settings. I would consider staying here again with a similar deal. The food was just adequate. The two two sit down restaurants were ok, though menus were small. The buffet got old after a week (breakfasts were my favorite). If you are not a meat eater, choices become much more limited, though one day, a kind server/ kitchen worker got me a tuna fish sandwich. Outdoor snacks could have used some more healthy choices (e.g. Grilled chicken instead of the breaded patty and especially, some of the lovely fruit that was on the buffets). It also seems odd that an AI charged to use the room safe, Internet, and for more than an hour of snorkeling (and the company that rented snorkeling equipment also charged for our scuba operator to pick us up at their pier). The biggest problem was the noise level in the evening. When they had their entertainment, the noise blared in our room for an hour and a half most evenings. Overall, we were satisfied, but these minuses led to a rating of just average.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chs8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My expectations are not that high but this resort fell short of them all. What is advertised online is not accurate. The service was not at all great, I hate to say horrible. The food was ok but definitely not a variety for all inclusive. Too many "extra" charges. Ex..use of safe box & wifi. No coffee maker in room or iron. It rained while we stayed which pretty much limits you to your room because anywhere that you want to go you have to walk outside. Last complaint...the bed! Not at all comfortable. Based on my review I know I must come across as picky but I'm not. I'm usually very pleased with the places I stay, but this place was disappointing. I hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Amazing view of the ocean from the infinity pool, great beach entry to a private snorkeling area with beautiful fish. Overall the staff was good, however they have a few bad apples that almost ruined our trip. The beds are as hard as sleeping on the tile in the room. We were promised "all-inclusive" included non-motor water sports. It only includes one hour, who can get that gear on go out and be back in an hour? The wifi is outrageous and we heard it was unreliable. We had been told the lobby had free wifi, not true. They won't allow children in the Italian restaurant for some odd reason which is what all the kids want! We were lucky enough to have an amazing waiter in the mexican restaurant that overheard our kids discussion and offered us the italian menu in the mexican restaurant the next night. Thank you!!

There are a ton of rules at this place that they should be required to disclose. All pools close at 8 pm and the beach closes at 9 pm. The buffet is not open all the time. They will not, absolutely will not, move more than two tables together. The restaurants consist of all 4 top square tables and they wouldn't put three together for our group of 11 which was so frustrating. You can only play volleyball in the one hour time slot they select each day which is odd.

The beach is across the street so you have to go under the street via a tunnel to reach it but it isn't as far as at some resorts. There is no room service and you are not allowed to take your coffee or drinks out of the restaurants with you.

Overall I loved the view and setup. Need longer hours on the buffet with the other side open with more options. Need more areas open for families to play cards, yes even after you close up shop. Need way longer hours on swimming as your pool as amazing lighting which is perfect for later evening swims. Need new beds that are soft and full disclosure of the "add ons" that will occur with your "all-inclusive".

Room Tip: High floors if you request ocean view. Travelers in our group that stayed in tower 1 had working ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CyndiLeeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Once again, the Park Royal delivers! This is our 15th trip to this lovely island and our second stay at the Park Royal. We will most definitely stay here again next year. The grounds are meticulously maintained. This hotel delivers with it's lush tropical feel and friendly staff. The infinity pools on the beach are clean, and the hot tubs (cold tubs) were recently refurbished during our visit. We love watching the cruise ships come in during the week. The beach area is small, but the snorkeling more than makes up for it! The food is good. For the nay-sayer's out there, this is Mexico, not the US. Hotels are rated differently in Mexico, but I feel this is a serious 4.5 stars! The only thing I would seriously consider if you are booking this resort, it is not very handicap accessible. The pavement in the grounds is cobblestone and does not work to well for wheelchairs or walkers, but we did see some people just making the best of it! The only other thing is the mattresses....they are very hard!! I like a soft sleep, but lucky for me I was too tired to think about it! LOL As I stated above, I have been to the island many times and have stayed at several different properties, but this is my favorite for sure!!! I love the Park Royal and without a doubt will book this property again next year!!

Room Tip: Fourth floor and above will give you a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

In Cozumel and Playa del Carmen you will be hounded at every corner an in the middle of every block by these people !! They want to "give" you free gifts or discount excursions, they are now even saying they'll give you $200 cash - but they don't tell you you will have to listen to their (they say) 90 minute presentation - this presentation will be more like 6-7 hours and good luck trying to say "no" ... they are ruthless and relentless !!
You will get much better hotel/resort service at many of the other hotels/resorts in the areas !!
Even if you are just visiting Cozumel or Playa del Carmen - DO NOT TALK TO THESE GUYS !!!!
BE CAREFUL !!!

Room Tip: for a great room/service - go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannville, OK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is our second time for my husband and I to stay at Park Royal. Our first was in 2010. We loved it as much this time as we did then. The staff was soooo friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. The food was so good it seemed there was always something new on the menu so you never got tired of the eating the same stuff. They have to "snack shack" places that serve hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza, chicken burgers and nachos. I felt like we ate all the time. Every night there was something going on and the resort has it's own entrance to a new mall. So you never have to leave the resort. The only thing we didn't like is you had to pay for, the gym, WIFI and the internet in the guest services room. Also, you had to pay for the safe in the room. It's only $2 a day but still....! We brought our daughter (she is 16 months) with us this time. She loved the kids club. We didn't leave her but some parents left their kids for the day. They watched movies, played volley ball, colored, they have two waterslides, and one day they made cookies. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Young or Old.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,636 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing