We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time look at the good and so so of PRC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“2nd time look at the good and so so of PRC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my second time at PRC and the things I loved most about this resort the first time were still excellent: super clean every thing, amazing, accommodating and very sweet staff, a wonderful beachfront set up with multiple level decks and fantastic snorkeling right off the little beach! (saw an eagle ray this time but the resident eel had moved on this year.)
The rooms are spacious, have lots of closet space and shelving to store your things, a large vanity counter top and each room has a small balcony with 2 chairs and a little table you can sit out on or hang your wet clothing on the chairs to dry. The showers are large and have great water pressure, there were several times that I found the water too hot almost for me, so no problems with hot water here, perhaps I was showering at off hours and thus got so much hot water - 5pm/8pm/11pm. TV's are older but works just fine to watch lots of movies in Spanish and English, there was always a good selection of movies on at all times of the day and night, I enjoyed watching some movies I had already seen in Espanol - tried to retain a little of the language. As there isn't much to do in the evenings, if you stay on the resort your best bet is just to hang out in your room and watch tv and just relax. Or do what we did a lot and go out and explore - walk along the water on the nice big sidewalks and stop in at places like La Hach (15 min walk away) for a great drink.

The not so great things in my opinion - no little bar fridges in the rooms - I prefer cold water to drink but I survived. They don't want you to have any food or drink brought into the rooms so probably why no fridges - we still brought some cocktails back to the room but when we were done we were nice enough to rise the cups out before putting them in the garbage. The La Veranda buffet at dinner is something to be desired, I'm not a picky eater and I honestly had a hard time finding something that tasted ok to eat other then salad at the dinner buffet, it was pretty bad - especially anything pasta based - always mushy and the sauces have no taste. The soups are the only good things that are a safe bet. I ate dinner at the buffet one night, then ate dinner off the resort 4 nights of the week and 2 nights never had dinner at all and went to bed on an empty stomach waiting to have a good big breakfast (breakfast options are wonderful here).

The beach and pool grills are ok, the chicken burgers taste like McD's McChicken so I can only imagine what is in them but I preferred them over the hamburgers which I found really greasy. The grill guys were fast and polite though so can't complain about the service. Nachos with Pico de Gallo and some pickled jalapeno's were a good snack with Jamimica and carrot sticks.

The location of this resort is great, close to a lot of the dive piers, some beach bars, restaurants, OXXO convenience stores and it's only a good hours walk right into the centre of San Miguel. It's about a 35-40 minute walk to the Mega (Mexican Walmart near Punta Lagusta). There is always something to look at on the walk and I noticed this year that in the evening around 6pm all the locals and expats have taken up jogging, whether it be the influence of the Cozumel Ironman or North American culture to be healthy and live longer I noticed a lot more locals getting active this year which is great, speed walking with their dogs, jogging couples, etc. I speed walked almost every evening either to have the goal of getting downtown or just feeling the ocean breeze and taking in the culture and sites.

Overall Park Royal is a great all inclusive if your looking for a very clean beautifully maintained resort with wonderful staff, a great snorkeling area, great pool bars and pools to cool off and really nice spacious rooms. Everything at this resort is quick to get to, it's not spread out like some of the giant resorts in Riviera Maya or Punta Cana. Just make sure to have good walking sandals and shoes - would highly recommend no heals, all the paths around the resort are made of coral reef rock so it's uneven and it's like hiking rocky trails in some areas. I met 3 people during the week that had all twisted their foot or ankle and were limping. Be careful! Also bring water shoes to go in the water if you want to venture out in the deep area snorkeling or swimming - lots of coral rock or just start swimming and don't touch down to avoid any sharp rock pieces.

Although this review is getting long! (sorry) I want to mention during the day the pools down at the beach can get a little rowdy with vacationers getting their drink on. It is usually fun and not over the top and the music wasn't too loud and was a good selection. A lot of people like to chat once they have had a few drinks. Met a lot of people this way. By 4 or 5pm the pools clear out because it gets cooler. If your an early riser like me, first thing in the morning is perfect if you really want to swim in the pools or snorkel.

Room Tip: Anything 4th floor or above is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    1,371
    535
    198
    151
See reviews for
1,186
1,611
73
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a 4 star resort and it is definitely worthy of the 4 stars. It is kept immaculately clean, the room was great, the service was beyond anything I have experienced in the past, the bartenders are excellent and it is a great place to vacation. The food was good with the buffet offering a different theme every night we were there and the 2 a la carte restaurants were very good. The snorkelling is awesome! I highly recommend the Park Royal Cozumel!

Room Tip: The higher up the better for sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and property were very very clean, all staff that we encountered were very nice and helpful, with the exception of the time share people. They were annoying for a day or so, but they do back off after that. We did get a free jeep rental for 24 hrs, just for listening to them for a couple of hours.
We drove the jeep all over the island, it was a beautiful day and would highly recommended that you do this, very nice spots to stop and see, and roads were not busy. At no time did we feel uncomfortable traveling by ourselves anywhere on the island, felt very safe.
Hotel is close to everything you would want to do. You can walk to San Miguel (4km) one way, or taxi it for 7 dollars(usd) one way. Taxi drivers very friendly and informative.
Wifi at hotel is a rip off but works good($15 for 24 hrs)
Food is not amazing, but very satisfactory in the buffet. Mexican and Italian al a carte restaurants were good, but book up fast as reservations are done daily starting at noon on a first come basis.
No clock or coffee maker in room, but fresh coffe always available at lower main lobby bar early in morning and for the entire day
Beach area is small but very nice.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will be staying here again, whenever we return to cozumel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

THE GOOD. This was our third visit. The rooms are still good, every thing spotless on the whole resort. Snorkeling even better than last time, more plant life lots of fish. No problem at all getting reservations at the on site Mexican and Italian restaurants. The wait staff is super, the housekeeping, bar tenders, waiters, gardeners all have customer service in mind. More on this in the ugly though.

THE BAD. We were placed the the worst room in the hotel 2017. Right across from the fitness center where the music starts at 0700. I did not try to get a room change mostly based on the fact that I know that that doesn't usually work out to well.

THE UGLY. We arrived one day late due to Winter Storm Q. A quick call to Travelocity assured us that they would arrange for us to still get our 6 night vacation. When we arrived the check out date on our paper work had a pen change crossing out the computer generated check out date of the 1st of March and a hand written 28 Feb was in it's place. They said they would not call travelocity and they were not contacted by them. Another couple traveling with us did not have fraudulently altered hotel paperwork and checked out 1 March, no problem. They would not make me a copy of the check- in paperwork nor let me take a photo of it. They were ok with putting a $200.00 charge on my credit card. They couldn't make eye contact with me and were argumentative. This third trip represents about $6600.00 of my money I decided to spend at this report. Each time a couple accompanied us. The Second trip two couples were with us. I just can't imagine loosing a happy customer for $200.00

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We got a good deal on a 6 night stay through living social, but honestly 4 nights would have been plenty. There was not much to do, especially in the evenings. Resort was very clean and staff was friendly. Most of the rooms have two full size beds which are very hard and you could feel the springs. You will eat breakfast and lunch at the buffet which is average, the only other option for lunch is the limited snack bar and no other option for breakfast. Reservations for two at the Italian and Mexican Restaurant were not hard to make and the food was great at both places. If you are looking for a white sandy beach to walk on this is Not place for you. Beach is small and rocky and you have to walk over the rocks to get to the small snorkeling area. We enjoyed renting a car and touring the island, but the nicer beaches on the opposite side had very high waves so no swimming was allowed. Drinks are very week, so dont plan on getting drunk. Good vaction for price but would be more fun if you had a big group of friends. Probably will not return, I have hear of better places for similiar prices at Riveria Maya or Playa Del Carmen.

Room Tip: You will get stuck with 2 full size beds unless you upgrade your room. Ask for floor 6 or above to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stay was completely worth it. Not the fanciest place I have ever stayed but I will be staying here again. Nice staff and atmosphere. New shopping area right next door. Try Ernestos right across the street, for lunch, great catch of the day. Don't book excursions with the hotel . There's a place right next door across from Ernestos. You can rent a jeep for cheap and book a massage that's just down the road. The gentlemans name is Huberto. The current sign says its a "gentlemans club", no worries its not. They are very fair and you can get everything the hotel offers next to nothing. Request a room above the 6th floor for a good view. Bring your own cups, they will fill them for you,instead of the small plastic cups they use. You have to fetch your own drinks at the bar. You have to request bacon fir breakfast if you want it, they don't put it out on the buffet. Bring a small clock or watch. There aren't any clocks or coffee makers in the rooms.

All in all it is a great little place as long as you don't expect to be waited on hand and foot. Nice place to snorkel, plenty of shaded areas for the really hot days. Not too loud, no vendors harrassing you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed January 30 to February 13 so with a two week experience, we got a good impression of the hotel. It’s unfair to compare it to other short term stays so it is placed in the same categories as comparable facilities we where we have stayed in Australia, Italy, U.K., U.S., and Canada. The criterion was a four day or longer term stay. Overall, our experiences in the latter three countries were deemed to be than the Park Royal Cozumel.

Of all the hotels we have stayed at, Park Royal Cozumel has the best cleaning. San Borgo Felice in Tuscany was the best but PRC claimed that honour. In fact, with the exception of the staff at Reception, all staff were outstanding and as friendly as you can get while acknowledging the language obstacles.

Reception is long and painful. While the staff tries to accommodate you, the process is not enjoyable. Even if you arrive after noon, a room probably won’t be ready. At times, the entire lobby is clogged with bags of guests waiting for their rooms. I guess that the great cleaning comes at a price at reception.

The guys who carry your luggage up and down the treacherous stairs get extra kudos. A bloody miserable and thankless job well done.

All rooms face the ocean. Any room below the fourth floor has no view unless you like looking a palm trees. Odd number rooms at the north end of the building and are farthest away from the amphitheatre. Unfortunately, they get the sun in the afternoon. The even number rooms are on the south end so you great some much needed shade in the afternoon but the thumping music from the amphitheatre at night. Speaking about thumping music, the Bikini Bar and Pool starts its morning at 10:00 while an incessant barrage of music on a repetitive tape loop and water games. Thankfully, you can retreat the beach.

We had a suite which was much larger than we required. The bathrooms could use more light. Hot water takes a very long time to get anywhere past pool temperature and even then it's not that hot. The beds seem quite short and a little too hard for our tastes.

La Veranda is the buffet for most of your meals unless you eat at the specialty restaurants or one of the two snack bars. La Veranda was pretty good considering it is buffet. The food variety was good to very good and the quality most acceptable. There should be something for everyone. The one comment is at breakfast, getting your first cup of coffee is difficult. The second can be akin to winning the lottery on February 29th. The workers are so fixed on clearing tables that coffee service suffers. A simple resolution would be to provide carafes of coffee allowing staff to clear tables even more efficiently.

El Mexico-Cenas specialty restaurant should be better considering where it is. Like Italian food, Mexican fare is not homogenous. But you would think they would have a superior grasp of the concept. Sadly, it does a great disservice to any style of Mexican food.

El Italiano-Cenas specialty restaurant is a massive disappointment. The same facility in the same hotel chain in Cancun was judged to be superior by our traveling friends. Their best efforts were the Risottos which had some semblance of Italian flavours. Staff in both restaurants are excellent and work very hard to please.

The specialty restaurant reservation system is quite flawed. If you aren't lined up a 11:40, you won't eat before 8:00. And then people will try to book groups of 20 and then split their groups into two sets of 10 and get most of the seats. Worse are the telephone calls which are given priority when you standing in line.

Anywhere you dine at the Park Royal Cozumel, avoid the wine. The red is supposed to be Cabernet Sauvignon but has no discernible Cab Sauv qualities whatsoever. This is probably the worst red wine I’ve ever tasted. Even Two Buck Chuck at Trader Joe's is marginally better than this product. The white wine was a Sauvignon Blanc and displayed some crispness and sharp edges but had no lasting impression on your tongue.

Not matter when or where you choose to eat, you will be peppered in a continuous surveys on how everything went at that time. Enough already, once a week should suffice as I can't see how they could possibly read most of them.

Wi-Fi service is expensive and unreliable. The system froze often. Only one computer can be used during the contract. If you log on with a second computer, you entire contract is null and void. Fortunately, the front desk will put you through to the service provider in San Diego and problems are usually resolved promptly. Nevertheless, for a place of this caliber, it should be a lot cheaper if not free.

If you attend one of the high pressure sales meetings, be aware that they will promise you a ton of “free” things but you will have to harass them forever to get anything from them in return for your time. The hour or so promised sales pitch comes in closer to two and a half hours. It is interesting to see how the prices continue to decline as you keep saying “No”.

The entertainment in the amphitheatre is amateurish at best and inordinately loud. Luckily it does not go beyond 10 very often.

Under no circumstances use the phone with a credit card. You will be charges a mandatory five minutes at $10 a minute. We made three unanswered calls and were charged $56 each time. How can you charge that sum for a call that is not picked up?

All of the pools are very good and the beach offers very good snorkeling only a few feet offshore.

We might return to Park Royal Cozumel but there are many other very competitive resorts that we will try first.

Room Tip: Above fourth floor and odd numbered (north end) but sunny in the afternoon heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing