We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locaton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here in January after making a last minute change in hotels. First, the hotel is in a great location. Its about 2 minutes from the Pier and beside the mall.

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The drinks were great and made with love.

The hotel was very clean and kept very well. The rooms were clean and the rain shower was a huge plus!!

The view of the pier was amazing. We had a good look at the cruise ships as they came in.

I only had 2 minor issues at this hotel. The first was the lack of food choice at the buffets. There was not a huge selection at any given time but what they did offer was good!! The burgers at the beach bar were great as well!!

The second issue was the lack of night time entertainment. After the show they only option was to head up to the sports bar which ran Karaoke 2 nights but that was it. It was very quiet at night. This is no reflection of the hotel but the people who stayed there.

Also, the pool was a little chilly…

I would stay here again in a hear beat!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank time2fly2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 4,290 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

For the price we paid, this resort was great. We were a little confused by the double beds at first, but my husband and I just rearranged a bit and pushed them together for an EXTRA big bed! No worries.
We have stayed at many Mexico resorts in different places (first time to Cozumel) and liked that this was cozy and easy to get around. The entertainment and activities staff are so much fun. Big shout out to Gustavo, Jose, Sonja, Jesus and Fernando. They work so hard and remember your name right away. Loved that. It was Carnaval in Cozumel while we were there and did not know that when we booked. What a FUN and amazing experience. They really go all out and the dancing is fabulous.
The food on the resort offered lots of variety. Only complaint is not enough Guacamole! The one thing I look forward to on every Mexico vacation. It was only on the buffet at lunch. Would love to see it at the snack bar as well with nachos. So overall, can't complain.
Snorkeling was great and could do this right off of our beach.

If you have not been there before, it's worth paying a taxi to take you around the island. Wait until Sunday to do this though. The cruise ships do not come in on Sunday so it's all locals and very peaceful. You really get to enjoy all of the wonderful places to eat, drink and sight see. You could even just spend a day at Playa Bonita. BEST beaches on the island.

If you go downtown, eat at Woody's. The price for food and drinks are cheap, the food is excellent (Lobster for $20!) and they have live entertainment every night that is great.

We were so sad to leave our Park Royal Family. We met tons of great people and had a blast. Would definitely take our kids back with us next time.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms on the whole resort with King beds so expect to get two doubles. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First of, we were talked into the vacation club presentation. This definitely tainted our perspective. We were promised a scooter for one day, a car for one day and a pass to playa de Carmen. The scooter broke down on us, the car was not safe and the pass could not be used when we needed to use it. We learned, after the fact, we could have rented better vehicles for what we ended up paying in insurance. We were told the presentation would last 90 minutes. It lasted 120 minutes and was a lousy experience. The hotel food was average. We actually found better dining in town. Unfortunately, this is an $8 dollar taxi cab away. The hotel is positioning itself to cater to the cruise ships, offering day passes for the passengers. The cruise ships became an annoyance on several levels, such as blocking the sunset, dumping a lot of transient people in community, etc., .

If you want out of town, there are several, much nicer, better places down the beach. If you want in/near town, this is not the place for you.

The service was excellent and very accommodating.

$15 per day for internet. Go to one of the many places on the beach that offer WiFi for free. Also, adjacent hotels such as El Cid offer WiFi for free.

$18 to rent a cheap set up of snorkel gear.

Room Tip: Perhaps one of the top floors so you can look beyond the cruise ships?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainLaurelRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A good place for a week stay. Room is fine but we had two double beds. $15 for 24 hrs of Internet is insane. They need to do something about their limestone walkways. Food was alright nothing special. Compared to the Mayan Palace on the mainland this place was great. We had a great view from our room.

Room Tip: Try and get above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I took our honeymoon here. It was very fun and relaxing. It is an all inclusive resort, full bar included. The staff were all very nice, especially in the dinning areas. The one complaint that we had was that we were three floors directly above the stage and the shows were VERY loud and usually went until around 10:30-11pm and construction started in the lot next to the resort promptly at 7:00am. We ended up switching rooms and it all worked out fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building furthest from the stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephlewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were disappointed with the hotel. They have so few king size beds don't count on getting one. There are no fridges or clocks in the rooms. The wifi is $70 a week and not reliable. Don't use the computer stations! The snack bar food was greasy hamburgers, hot dogs, 'chicken burgers' and nachos - I was not impressed as not everyone wants greasy food. The hotel was not full so only one half of the buffet was open. The food at the a la carte was average. The elevators were dangerous. The doors sensors did not work and the doors would close on people as the entered and very fast and hard. I have 2 big bruises from the doors closing on me. We also got stuck in the elevator and the buzzer did not work and they were not monitored. Fortunately the elevator was glass and we were able to get the attention of a staff person. It was an hour walk into town and a 10 minute walk to the cruise ship mall which no one mentioned to us even though it had everything the downtown shops had. I have stayed on the Mayan side before and the hotel and food was much better and a comparable price. Upside most of the staff was very nice. Front desk service was poor. The cruise ships stop very close and do cover half of the view depending on where your room is.

Room Tip: Don't expect a king size bed or to be able to request your room. If you can request to be above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We brought 10 of our friends with us. Felt welcome from the minute we got there. Check in was easy and quick, less than 10 minutes for all 6 couples. Rooms weren't ready but we got wrist bands and changed into swim suits, then they locked our belongings into the room behind the front desk. The activities staff are a hoot and remembered all of our names after the first introduction. We learned a new pool game...Pass Ten...it was lots of fun, but not for those who are out of shape. Food was much better than I remember and more variety. I don't know how anybody could go hungry. Drinks were cold and there were plenty of them. Carlos and Okie-Dokie are awesome bar tenders, Tony kept the coffee flowing at breakfast. The 'towel' guys are pretty funny too. The staff all speak English very well. I only went to one of the evening entertainment shows and three of the people in our group ended up being a part of the show. I haven't laughed that hard in a long time. The cruise ships left before the sun set and I did get great sunset pictures on the days it wasn't cloudy. Never had a problem finding a chair at any of the pools, no mater what time of the day. I can't wait to go back for visit #5!! My only disappointment was the Apple rep for the hotel. No more traveling with Apple.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask to be away from the elevator and families with loud children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
5.9 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,882 reviews
7.9 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $161 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the award-winning architecture and the interior design of Grand Park Royal Cozumel; its Mayan touch that lives together with the nature that surrounds it will captivate you. From the pools, Jacuzzis and bars, you will be amazed with the turquoise shades of the sea. You will also be delighted with a wide range of gastronomic options including seafood and international specialties. Immerse yourself in an incredible submarine adventure by practicing diving and snorkeling in the world’s second biggest reef. Our activities program and nightly shows are ideal for enjoying in family. Fun is guaranteed! Live the Grand Park Royal experience in Cozumel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing