We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Ryan, OK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First trip together in 20 years.Hotel staff treated us like family. 1501 has a beautiful view with plenty of hot water. Special thanks to Gustavo-bell boy, Genny-reception, Omar-La Veranda, Alan, Jesus, Franscisco, Alberto, Ivan, Gustavo-entertainment. Would definately stay here again. Chichen Itza tour, Chankanaab Park, scuba diving, parasailing, ATX Rails are all a must do. Can't wait to go back. Water is so clear it's unbelievable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyCRyan_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    1,182
    467
    166
    132
See reviews for
959
1,358
56
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went here with our 4 kids ages 17 to 28 in March 2011. The food was good, drinks were good and got better when you befriended and tipped the bartenders. I like being able to order top shelf liquor. Beach is small and you better get there early to get under a palapa. Lots of chairs around all the pools. We got 2 rooms side by side which was nice. I tried to get rooms higher up above the trees so we could see the ocean but after several requests we gave up. Very nice clean resort. The food was excellent at the specialty restaurants. It is fairly close to town. I rented a car for the week to drive to town, tour the island and get to the dive shop down the road-Papa Hogs.
Downsides: Be carefull walking as the flagstone walkways are easy to trip on-they are not level. We saw several people from a small child to an elderly person trip and fall. The view is partially blocked by cruise ships every day but Sunday. Not much to do at night. The entertainment is lame. My older sons went to town every night to Senior Frogs.
You have to sign up for the specialty restaurants and they fill quickly so get in line 1/2 hour before the sign up opens. Bring a drink and meet a new friend! We weren't bothered by the timeshare people once we politely said no thank you. I would go back again.

Room Tip: Get one high enough to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frozentundraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Going to Mexico scared me a little with all the crazy stuff going on but when I landed in Cozumel, it was beautiful, clean and I felt safe.
When we pulled up to our resort, we were greeted by a friendly staff at our taxi. The same service was given to us when we checked in. This resort is BEAUTIFUL! Its very clean and the staff is very Friendly.
We ate a lot at the buffet, it was always good. They have a Mexican restaurant that is a little more fancy that you have to make reservations for it was ok, they also have an Italian restaurant that you have to make reservations for, SKIP it!

Adult beverages were yummie. Try the dirty monkey! At the pools, they have a grill that serves up hamburgers, hot dogs, it was all good!

I would return again, we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsQualls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great All inclusive resort. Very very clean , in and out. Impecable. Beach is small but snorkeling is great. Friendly staff. Short taxi drive to dwontown. You can rent a car right off the street. The only thing we did not like was the agents trying to sell us time share. Very intimidating when we first arrived than we got used to them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poirod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Travelled from Nov. 3-10th and flew right in to the Cozumel Airport. Had to wait in a 3.5 hour line up to get through immigration. What a nightmare! DO NOT FLY IN ON A SATURDAY. This happens all the time here.
I cant explain exactly who would like this resort. Time share sales pple are annoying! The resort staff are very pleasant, speak great English but are ALL VERY inexperienced right up to the annimation crew..
Food is good. Resort is VERY clean.They roll up the carpet by 8pm at this place.
Beach is very small, pools are great but COLD. Hot tubs are NOT heated either. Drinks are ok but dont make you want to run back for more too fast. A/C and Hot water worked great!
Guests from the Cruise Ships come onto the resort daily. Beds are HARD but clean.
If you have problems walking or with balance, stay away! The stone is uneven everywhere so leave any heels at home and bring a cane.There is no elevator from the lobby to the main level of the hotel which would be 15 very large steps or so. Elevators are great after that. You have to pay for the security safe in your room and they are still not safe. Ours was broken into and hotel manager could do nothing.
Travelled into Playa Del Carmen twice,and checked out other resorts. Will not go back to Cozumel ever again!

Room Tip: Demand a room above the 5th floor or you are going to see NOTHING but trees. If you are between 45...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paintbynumber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

very nice property, with excepitionaly pleasant staff, they all went out of their way to make sure your stay was the best it could be. The rooms were nice and clean. the resturant staff was very friendly, with a large varity of choices. this was the first trip doing an all inclusive, and i was pleasantly surprise. plan to return with the whole family in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just spent he week of 11/1/ through 11/8/2012. We had two Presidential suites reserved due to points. The only disappointment was that only one room was provided above the 4th floor with an ocean view. When we questioned this, were referred to member services, where a lady says, "I know, I know - everyone wants above the 4th floor. if your traveling companions are that good of friends - give them your room on the 7th floor". I understand that there are limited rooms/suites available, however, for the use of the 40,000 points, it would be nice to feel that there are some considerations due to members.

That was the only complaint, the staff was very nice, one room had a nice view, the food was better than anticipated based upon comments, and there was a variety of liquor. Ronaldo was very accommodating at the pool bars. The diving was outstanding, and we would come back with no hesitation. Renting a jeep to swim in the ocean and see the quaint bars on the other side of the island was a must.

Room Tip: As everyone knows by seeing this site, if you are to have an actual "ocean view", you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 3,402 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
5.9 mi away
Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.6 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#16 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing