We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting info on The Tequila plant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission

Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission
Ranked #93 of 280 Tours in Cozumel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ever wondered how Mexicans turn a spiky plant into their national drink? Free Tequila Tour by Casa Mission can provide you with all the answers. Are you ready for a real taste of Mexico? It's TEQUILA time! Free Tequila Tour by Casa Mission is the only one of its kind in Cozumel. Here, Toño, owner and producer of "HACIENDA LOS 3 TOÑOS" in Amatitlan, Jalisco will take you on a journey through the making of the national drink of Mexico, and you will learn basic fundamentals, like how to drink tequila to best savor. After or before the seminar, you can luch in Casa Mission offering an atmosphere that transports you through the history of a magnificent HACIENDA. Today, this property belongs to the Miranda Morales family who remodeled with tall ceilings the large hallways of the dining room, because here it is where they love to share with their guests the aromas and flavors of this Mexican home away from home.TEQUILA SEMINAR Sample 8 different varieties of tequila, and learn about the differences between them! Anejo, Reposado, Blanco, cream tequilas, dessert tequilas an more - you've never tasted tequila like this before. Learn the history of the Tequila making process and how different types of tequila are distilled and made. Enjoy lunch in Casa Mission #1 restaurant in Cozumel by Tripadvisor
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting info on The Tequila plant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Since it was free, we thought that we woudl take a look at the tour. It was really interesting. None of us knew anything about the parts of the plant and what each is used for. The gentlemen was very nice and knowledgable.

We also got a chance to sample different Tequila's. I found a Mango Tequila was really good. I bought a bottle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank trlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    52
    16
    8
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great tequila tasting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We took the tequila tour with Casa Mission, and learned a lot about the elaboration of tequila, discovered a lot of new things, the people were very friendly and asked all our questions. They lets us try a lot of different tequilas and cocktails.... it was a wonderful experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juanfel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Educational and soe great tequila”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped here as part of an amazing Private tour of Cozumel with Tours Plaza. Our guide at the Tequila Tour was informative and seemed refreshed to see that my husband knows a little about distilation and had some more interesting questions about the process. He knew his stuff and was able to answer these questions and provided some expert knowledge. The tequila tasting was amazing, and really opened my husbands eyes - he previously thought that he hated tequila! We brought back a bottle of Hibiscus Liquor and some lovely fine tequila :) Also, they took our photo when we arrived and offered it to us in a great frame when we left - not too expensive and a great bonus souvenir!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Tequila Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our Tour Guide Tino was a lot of fun.. he made the tour really interesting and it was great to hear the real history of Tequila... the facility was outstanding and the products first class.

Thanks for a great tour.. Salut!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“All tequila doesn't taste like lighter fluid? Who knew?? ;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stopped here as part of our private island tour. The grounds are very lush and green, the shade much appreciated in the heat of mid day! Looks like there is a restaurant on the grounds as well if you're so inclined.

Our guide was quite friendly (Slightly too friendly, but nothing over the line) and gave us a nice introduction onto the process of tequila making. He took us through the different types of agave plants, and which ones are used for tequila, where in Mexico it is produced, and the surprisingly labor intensive process to make it; then it was off to the tasting!!!!!

They have about 4 types of straight tequila and 3 flavored ones. Being that one of us had never tried it straight, he gave us a good method for how to take a shot without salt and lime without choking! (The most aged tequila was just as smooth as could be, no burn at all and the amaretto is just fantastic!!) The samples were very plentiful and he had no problems letting us try 'just a little more' so we could make a better informed purchase, which, of course, we did! Before we left we were directed to a small shack where an older woman was making snacks, and had a very tasty tortilla filled with meat; just the thing to help soak up some of the alcohol!!

I did see other tequila tours on the island, including a very modern looking one for Cuervo, but was very pleased with this one as it had a more authentic feel to it. Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gpisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission also viewed

 

Been to Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing