We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Secrets Aura Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,517)
Filter reviews
2,517 results
Traveler rating
857
940
419
191
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
857
940
419
191
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillel patioportofino restauranttortuga barda mariodive housejuan carlosocean frontpaddle boardsmarket cafefishpizza placeentertainment staffbeach barnachosmain poolwater shoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,829 - 1,834 of 2,517 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am an avid reader and first time writer. I have never felt the need to write a comment about a resort before. This resort was so bad that I have made it my mission to not allow anyone to make the same mistakes we did. This resort was awful! I have been on about 10 all-inclusive resort vacations. I usually make fun of some of the comments on here to tell you the truth. This resort takes the cake on my list of worst resorts.

The resort had awful service. Very rude, lazy, slow, ungrateful of tips, service is what you should expect at this resort. There is a very odd rule that you line up at the bar. Even if you are on one side of the bar, you have to walk around and get in line. Oh…lines…get use to them if you come here! The bars, restaurants, and amenities are understaffed. Lots of lines and waiting here. The bartenders cannot get the most basic of drinks right and after you wait in line for 20min your frustrations will be on high.

I am not a picky eater but the food was best described as unrecognizable slop. Out of about 20 items that you will most likely see every day, maybe two of these are edible.

The mini bar in your room, nice idea if it was ever filled and good luck calling for more, we did every day with no avail. To some up this review without rambling on all day: We had to go out for dinner almost every night; we had to buy booze, pop and beer to avoid lines and to basically enjoy what we wanted; the pools were packed and if you are not up at 530 am to get a deck chair then good luck for the day. We wasted money buy coming here. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't go. Get a hotel or condo or other resort. There are really nice all you can drink beach clubs that can be used if that is your thing.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi Adam C,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

1) Resort does not have enough chairs or palapas. You must get up before 6:00 AM or you will not get a chair 2) Resort does not control towels (with a towel card). If they did, it could lessen people reserving multiples chairs by throwing a half dozen towels and reserving many chairs. 3) Resort does have very limited staff. The staff they do have are pleasant and work really hard. 4) Our room was specious and comfortable (we had a suite) as well as cleaned and restocked every day. 5) This is not a party resort. Evening entertainment is certainly not top notch. Everything dies at 10:00 PM. 6) Food & drinks were more than acceptable. They may have to work on keeping food warmer but there was a nice variety and it was tasty (especially the Mexican food). 7) For best selection at each meal, be there right when the restaurant opens. In the evening, they seem to stop making more food around 8:00PM. (Bad news for late diners). 8) Orientation was poor (this is the tour operator's fault - not the resort's). If you want to know what's going on every day, go to front desk as get the flyer that tells you what restaurants are open and when/and what the entertainment will be. 9) The resort definitely needs upgrading (they were constantly fixing floor boards and there's some wear and tear that shows in rooms and around the resort) 10) "Travel club" people (timeshare) hit you right when you check in. They want to offer you the sun, moon & stars. Just say no thank you if you're not interested. No one gets something for nothing. Save yourself the 2-1/2 hours of sales pitch. 10) Wifi is terrible in lobby, but we got a strong signal on our 3rd floor balcony (outside), near the trampoline.

Overall, the resort is clean, beach is quite nice (bring your water shoes) and snorkeling is great right in front of resort (a great opportunity for beginners) - but would definitely recommend a snorkeling tour! This is a very good choice for laid back quiet people/ or families with children. After reading many of the reviews, people seem to forget that this is a 3 star resort (not a 5 star). For the rating and cost (we paid $1400 pp from Edmonton, Alberta) - we feel we got a decent deal and certainly got our money's worth.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you can. The suites are very spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertagirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi Albertagirl2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Sunscape Sabor that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating service experience. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better, I have passed these comments along to Management for further review.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

After reading some reviews we were wondering if we had made the right decision to book this place for our yearly family vacation. It turned out that the resort is quite nice and of good value for the money. Our bedroom located on the first floor (39 block by Porto fino and the dive shop) was very large for the three of us (my wife, our daughter and I) with two king size beds and a nice bay window. As an added bonus we had a pretty good Wi-Fi connection right fro our balcony. The room was nicely equipped with a coffee maker, a toaster and a fridge filled with Coca-cola, beer, sprite. The shower had a good water pressure and the whole plumbing worked well. The food selection is good not Great. Whatever they have was for the most part good. The kid's club was a big hit with our daughter, she did a lot of different things from trampoline to craft.
The staff is very friendly and doing the best with what they have. After our daughter told one of the maid that she liked Iguana the maid made her one out of a towel and we thought that was very nice of her.
It looked to us that the place is short on staff. Upon arrival, they offered to deliver our suitcases to the room but after waiting over an hour I went back to the lobby to pick them up myself.
The beach is nice even thought rocky pretty quickly. The rocks are not pointy so you can walk without shoes. The snorkeling right off the beach is nice. My Daughter and I saw a yellow ray right off the beach and all sort of small fishes.
There are two pools, one by the lobby and the second near the Porto Fino restaurant with bar at both places.
There is a great dive shop on site (Dive house) with their own swimming pool for training.
You can also rent a car (cars are on site) and book different activities and excursions right in the lobby.
Overall we like the resort and we would go back.

Room Tip: We loved our bedroom (3914) by Porto Fino and the dive shop. Good Wi-Fi connection there as well.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi Tony M,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sunscape Sabor.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

After reading reviews I was hesitant to go to this hotel, but when I got there the hotel was great! The grounds were immaculate, and our room was always clean. They didn't always give you fresh towels each day, but if you needed clean towels all you had to do was ask. The staff were amazing! Manuel, Enrique, and Abril always kept us entertained and knew us by name. Each morning they made it a point to say hello and let us know what the days events were. The food was just fine. They had a decent amount of choices, and if you didn't want what was on the menu, you could always order room service. We were even offered lobster on our last day, 4 members of our group got it and they said it was fantastic! Maximilano was a great waiter and always took care of us. He and Luis kept our drinks flowing at the pool and always made it a point to say hello and greet us with a smile. Overall, I think this resort was a great deal! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back again! Great girls trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girlstrip032014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi girlstrip032014,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that your vacation was wonderful and that you were pleased with the service of our relaxing atmosphere, service, cleanliness of rooms, delicious food and drinks and various staff members. Our team is always trying to ensure that we surpass the expectations of each guest so your review served as our reward. To this end, it was encouraging to hear you acknowledge those aspects of our product.

Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We did a ton of research before going to Cozumel for our first time and decided to stay at Sunscape, despite the not so great reviews. Really, people tend to review places when they have strong feelings about it, either good or bad. I'm fairly neutral, but overall, it was a good time. The hotel grounds were well kept and the staff were all friendly and they did the best they could with what they have to work with. It did take a long time to get food at the sit down restaurants, and the food really was not good at all. That was the hardest part for us, wondering if we'd be able to find something to eat. My husband liked the pizza (so did the iguanas) and some things at Portofino's were edible. Go there for breakfast, skip the poolside place. The drinks were good, though we prefer beer. You can order whatever beer you want, as long as it's Dos Equis. Wilbur was the best bartender and would come up with different concoctions for us each day. The beach was beautiful, but it gets really rocky just a few feet in. We brought water shoes, which really helped. We snorkeled right out front of the hotel and saw some cool fish (much prettier than our freshwater fish!) We have a young daughter who we left at home with Grandma and we tried to Skype in the lobby but the wi-fi is slow and weak. We did a jeep tour through Cozumel Cruise Excursions (book online), and I definitely recommend that. Overall, this is a good place for laid back people. If you can get past the food and find people to chum around with or things to occupy yourself, you will have fun. It's not the kind of place where they will cater to your every whim, but if you are open to finding fun, it's there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeymooners8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi honeymooners8808,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us.

We appreciate your objectivity and I can assure you that we take our customer feedback very seriously and we have made changes for a more positive customer experience.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you enjoyed; it is a pleasure to us that our guest enjoyed their stay with us, we are all the time trying to please to our guest, and when we see that you enjoyed your stay we are happy, because it shows what we want to provide to our guest at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, our staff is always offering to our usual level of service.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews