We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely NOT 5 out of 6 Golden Apples - Would Not Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Trip dates: March 9, 2014 – March 14, 2014

This resort was rated as a 5 of 6 golden apples by Apple Vacation. Overall, I would NOT return to this resort for a second vacation.
Positives: ROOMS: Our rooms were spacious, clean, and beautiful. Our group was offered free oceanview upgrades upon arrival, and our rooms were cleaned out daily. VIEWS: The views throughout the resort and from the room are beautiful. The resort sits right on the ocean, so you are only 5 steps from water at all times. CLEAN: The overall resort appeared clean, our rooms were clean, and the restaurants were clean. SPA: Sunscape vacationers are allowed to use the spa services from Secrets, and this is a must! The spa is beautiful, serene, and absolutely fantastic. Services are great for the price. SNORKELING: The snorkeling tour that you can book through the resort is wonderful! We went snorkeling for a full two hours and only paid $32 (plus tips). Great views and fantastic staff! We heard from many other people that the diving was just as good. WAIT STAFF: The staff at the bars and restaurants were friendly, professional, and did a great job serving everyone! BEACHES:The beaches are sandy and kept clean from garbage and there is a lot of beach space to use. Only downfall is that the water becomes rocky very quickly, so you don’t have a “white sand beach” feel once you enter the water (very few people were swimming off the beaches).
NEGATIVES: FALSE ADVERTISING: The website is full of false advertising! There is NOT a sister resort, that resort has been bought by Secrets, and the Secrets staff will kick you out if you try to come use the “sister resort” amenities. This means there is NO swim up bar and there aren’t 5 restaurants. Management told us that the website was fixed in September, 2013; however, we booked our trip in January, 2013 and read on the website that we would be able to use the sister resort features. MANAGEMENT: The management was nothing short of RUDE to us when we complained about the cold food and the fact that we were kicked out of the “sister resort” after Sunscape staff told us we could go over there AND drew us a map of the pools and bars we could use! FOOD: You have 3.5 restaurants to choose from at Sunscape: a buffet style (food is often cold or has bugs in it), a grill (very basic and limited options), one sit-down (often a one hour wait, food is decent but menu doesn’t change) and a pizza place that is only open at lunch (the pizza tastes like cardboard!). Room service is available – the breakfast options are decent, lunch is basic (soup, mac and cheese, or chicken nuggets) and you can only order pizza for dinner. Want a drink? You will have to go to the bar – room service doesn’t deliver drinks.
AMENTITIES: You have two pools at the resort – they are basic, no swim up bar. You must get up for drinks – not once did wait staff walk along the beach or the pool to take drink orders. There is always a shortage of lounge chairs. Staff does not come through and pick up towels throughout the day, so good luck finding a chair next to the pool or the beach! SMELL: Your beautiful surroundings will often be overpowered by a strong smell of sewage. This awful odor was present as you walked through the main paths of the resort on a nightly basis.

Room Tip: I would only book an oceanview room. The gardenview rooms had a limited view and most were in the ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarissaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi CarissaGB,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you enjoyed we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

In the official page of Sunscape Sabor you can find all the information about what are your inclusions in the resort.

You can contact us at info.seacz@secretsresorts.com before your stay if you have any doubt about the resort.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We got sent here when our originally reserved hotel was overbooked. The front desk staff felt bad for us and tried to be as accommodating. We didn't get the beachfront view rooms we originally reserved but that was not this hotels fault. As far as the rooms, they're average, the bathrooms are a little run down. The rooms only got really cleaned if we left a lot of tip. Otherwise you would not get any towels, soap or refilled the refrigerator. We were a group of 5 families with kids ranging from 6-18 for spring break. It was obvious this was not a kid friendly hotel. Mostly adults and didn't look too happy that our kids were there being kids. We later found out this was an all-adult hotel and the hotel next to this one, Secrets, was part of this hotel. There was an option for the guests to pay $80 to go eat & play next door with out kids. The nightly entertainment was ok. The fire show was really nice. The drinks were watered down unless you tipped them then they would out more alcohol. The main buffet was on the other side of the property so walking there for B'fast & lunch took a long time. Most places have their buffet place at the center of the resort. If I had the choice, I definitely wouldn't stay here. This is more of a 2 star at the most 3 star.

Room Tip: Definitely request an oceanview. it'll be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJMathewmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi JJMathewmom,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed , we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Sunscape Sabor.

Please receive our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We do however hope that, as we continue to work towards enhancing our product, you may decide to give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks at Sunscape Sabor and we had a great holiday!! I am beginning to believe us as Canadians are more appreciative.............! When we arrived in the evening we were greeted and accommodated, we booked Ocean Front and were very surprised with our rooms. If you booked Ocean Front the Barracuda Villa is a great location. (But looking around there are many nice rooms for Ocean view and Ocean Front, some of the Garden veiw would not be my choice.) We had room 3733, highly recommended, huge separate bedroom, nice spacious bathroom, large sitting area, nice big deck with jet tub on it. Everything Clean. The views incredible, and the sunsets!!!!!! Everyday we were left with 6-8 water bottles, beer and pop in our mini fridge. Every night under the door was placed a daily agenda, listing shows, drink of the day, food times, etc
Breakfast, lunch, and supper was served in two areas daily. Food was good, good variety, some nights were special nights like Fiesta and Caribbean Nights. The El Patio was extremely good food, its like their al-la-carte but no limit and no reservations needed. And if you got tired of the awesome Burgers, fries, nachos, hotdogs, etc at poolside there is the Da Mario that makes fresh pizzas 11-6, grab a plate of pizza and off to the pool or in the morning grab an extra bowl of fruit for your room fridge. Several bars open, lots of water at the bars!!! available. All the staff were very friendly people. When we booked the resort it still had the swim up bar and extra restaurant but in December as you have read in reviews it went over to the sister hotel - Secrets - they put up a wall to separate but its not a big deal. We went for a walk to the Secrets side to check it out, some of the rooms were really sweet, you could walk out of your room into the pool or waterside BUT we found it to be Stuffy!! there and were very happy to be with down to earth people on SunScape side. The beach was nice but did get larger as you walked the other direction. good snorkelling, suggest water shoes, baby sting rays two feet from shore. Suggest you rent a jeep for the day, easy driving, really beautiful beaches south direction. Stop at Bob Marleys bar strongly suggest the Peanut butter Tequila, you will not be disappointed!!! And Coconuts bar was great, lots of little shops and beer stops, take them all in!! Fun shopping in town, $15 cab ride, and/or take the Ferry to Playa and have a fun day on the other side! It was a Great Holiday and very safe place to be!!

Room Tip: Worth the little extra $ for Ocean front or Ocean view. Rooms 3711 and **3733 were good rooms for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJFCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi RJFCanada,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed; it is a pleasure to us that our guest enjoyed their stay with us, we are all the time trying to please to our guest, and when we see that you enjoyed your stay we are happy, because it shows what we want to provide to our guest at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, our staff is always offering to our usual level of service.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We get the Sunscape we spent March 1 to March 8, and someone stole my white gold ring with diamands wedding in 2024 our room, it was hidden in two bags zipped, we made a complaint to the reception and supposedly they did an investigation ... but I left with nothing, no compensation absolutely nothing. So if you go be careful. The buffet selection is very minimal. Not much choice, otherwise it is very nice site. They expect to have a tip every time you take a drink. Morning at Portofino restaurant was very good and there was one of the servers were really nice, and Gloria makes omelets is great. Good trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Dominique B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our resort.

It is with regret that we read the comments about some issues you unfortunately experienced during your recent stay with us, and we hope you would accept our sincerest apologies.

As you could see when you were here, we did the investigation about your stolen issue and we could not find anything, we cannot relate this incident with our staff, as you know our housekeeping manager has knowledge of all staff entering your room for cleaning, we investigated this and was not related to the staff.

The policies of the hotel said the hotel is not responsible for all valuables are in the safe, and the information provided by you, valuable was not inside the safe.

We suggested you to do a request to the police authorities.

Despite this, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed our services and facilities; we will share this information with Gloria, congratulating the omelets.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just returned from a week at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel (our 4th visit to the resort) and were shocked at the difference a few years makes. I preface by saying that our group was 3 adults, one of whom is a "member" or has a time-share with the resort. We actually ended up booking through travelocity because it was cheaper than using the time-share points he purchased for an absurd amount years ago (different point of discussion entirely). In previous visits we had always been pleased with our stay, but it will likely be our last. Here's why:

Food:
I lead with this because it is something I want to emphasize for any would-be traveler to Sabor. I am not a picky eater at all, nor was anyone in my group. However the food was absolutely terrible. Mostly served buffet style, it was often cold by the time we ate it (even when we arrived exactly when it opened). The menu is essentially the same each day, mostly compromised of any low-budget food they can throw together (hot dogs on and in everything). We encountered a group that had been staying at the resort for two weeks who stated that every person they had talked to at the resort could not believe how poor the food quality was. We ended up just paying the $15 to take a taxi to and from the town for dinner and ate nutrigrain bars for breakfast and lunch (which we packed after reading the reviews on this site). The nutrigrain bars were the best food we ate at the resort. Just to add a little emphasis on how bad the food was, an employee of the resort (not in food-services), told a member of our group many of the resort employees will not eat the resort food and made a few jokes about how bad it was.

Staff:
As you will see in many other reviews of this resort, it often starts with the front desk staff. Our flight arrived at 11am and we were told we would have to wait in the lobby until check in at 3pm. At about 4pm I checked with the front desk and asked how much longer it would be and was told "wait until about 3pm"... I then pointed out that it was in fact past 3pm, which seemed very surprising to the staff member who they kindly gave us our room keys and let us know the room was ready. As we made our way to the room the employee ran to catch up to us, wrong key as that room wasn't available. We then argued for about half an hour because they wanted to give us a villa, even though we had payed extra for ocean-view. Anyway, you get the idea. Rude, unorganized and disinterested staff at the front, easily the worst I have ever experienced. The rest of the resort staff though seemed very friendly, particularly bar staff and waiters who were very attentive. One minor complaint may be a few of the staff members "took interest" in the female member of our group, to the point she was very concerned being on the resort alone. They asked for pictures of her to use for "selecting cheerleaders for a football team" and endured a few awkward inquests each day as to her availability. One employee even decided let her know that the guys she was with were not good looking enough to be with her and she let them know that it was her brother...awkward and not really the most professional thing I've heard of for resort staff.

Resort Facilities:
As you will read in other reviews, many of the pictures of the resort are actually of the sister resort "secrets", which is a secret...in that if you are staying at Sabor you don't have access. In Sabor you will often encounter a sewage smell, which bothers some guests and others don't seem to mind. We chose to overlook it due to the beautiful beach, though at any other resort I would have been concerned.

Overall:
Many who review this resort in a positive manner do so due to the beautiful beach and the wonderful appeal of Cozumel the island. What they seem to overlook is that you can experience the island at any of the other resorts, often at a similar price yet with better accommodations. I will never stay at this resort again, nor would I ever recommend anyone I know to do so. Almost everyone we encountered at the resort was displeased and stated they would never come back, I would carefully read the reviews on this site and heed the warning they offer. I made the mistake of believing that it was just a few uptight individuals who had taste well beyond their budget, this unfortunately was not the case.

There will be a response to this review from the resort most likely stating that "deficiencies encountered are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience" and that their staff will be extensively briefed, as they use this generic response with every negative review. The fact of the matter is that lousy food, poor service, misleading advertisement and sub-par facilities ARE the Sunscape Sabor brand experience and will remain as such until substantial changes are made.

Room Tip: Stay at a different resort. Though if for some odd reason you are forced to stay here, request ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Hi Daniel R,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us.

As you know we pay attention to every commen that our guest have shered with us, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points.

We sincerely apologize if there were any shortcomings in our end. We kindly would like to invite you to reach us at info.seacz@secretsresorts.com with further details about your stay. Your remarks are truly valuable for us.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our stay at Sunscape resort was brief. We paid an additional $80 per day to transfer over to Secrets & that is the only reason I had a good vacation.

A quick recap
Disgusting rooms - stains, mildew & mold. Smelled sewage everywhere (was not the case next door). 8 bug bites in 30 minutes (didn't get another one the rest of the week when we switched).

Food - Horrible - I'm not picky but burgers, hot dogs, pizza or quesidilla is your only lunch choice. Seriously - no fruit, no salad, no other options.

Agua - want a drink of water from the bar? Get told to go back to your room to get a bottle.

Every day at Secrets we met another group or 2 that had fled from Sabor. Do not let anyone you know stay here ever.

Years ago I worked for FunJet - we've booked 8 trips in the last 5 years through Apple. If this is considered a "Golden Apple" I'm finding a new travel company.

Room Tip: At another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urania95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi urania95,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a great time and 99% of the staff was very friendly. When we initially arrived and saw our room we were somewhat upset because their website shows pictures of the upgraded part of this resort, which is actually called Secrets. Sabor is the low end room wise. This is not a 'time share' but they will try to sell you their discount package, which is just as expensive as a time share. Just say no, and go on with your vacation.If you listen to the pitch (which we did unfortunately) they try to sell you on the upgrade to Secrets. We were annoyed the 1st day because we got suckered into the pitch and we weren't expecting it. Secrets and Sabor are literally connected to each other. Its deceptive to show the better rooms on the website and not explaining that Sabor rooms don't look the same. Once we got over that, we realized that the rooms aren't where you are spending your time, so it didn't matter enough to let it ruin the trip. The food was good and the location on the beach was very nice. We were able to snorkel, scuba dive, and parasail all right there from the resort. We would stay there again. I would not spend the money to upgrade to the fancier rooms because we don't care that much about it. I would have been happy with our room if I went into it expecting more of a budget quality room. The diving was the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front, and near the lobby. It was very convenient. It was a little louder because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hi Kristen P,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service, staff, rooms and the island Cozumel. Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We are going to share all your comment with our staff in order to improve our services and facilities

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,942 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 53 in Cozumel
5,162 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
11.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $129 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun is at the heart of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the perfect Unlimited-Fun(R) getaway in an ideal island destination. Located on the small island of Cozumel, Sunscape Sabor is the most complete beachfront resort complex on the island. The 218 spacious guest rooms and suites offer finely-appointed amenities and beautiful views. Each guest room has a private balcony or terrace, mini-bar, flat screen TV, individual temperature control with air conditioning and more. Sunscape Cozumel's family-friendly experience features a kid's check-in experience with red carpet stairs, welcome treats and resort passports for kids. Connecting rooms and family suites plus kid and baby-friendly amenities are perfect for accommodating families. Families, friends, singles and couples will enjoy Unlimited-Fun(R) privileges with a variety of amenities and activities throughout the resort including limitless access to dining at four reservation-free restaurants and national and international alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages at three bars and lounges. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at the Seaside Grill. Take part in land and water sports, relax by one of two sparkling pools, indulge in the Spa by Pevonia(R), or bask in the sun on the largest beachfront of any resort in Cozumel. The kids can have a blast at the Explorer's Club, a fully supervised club with Red Cross certified staff for ages 3-12, while participating in various activities and programs. As a bonus, explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Dive into the deep at world-renowned dive sites with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator. A fun-filled getaway in the perfect island destination can be found at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing