We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
$302
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$242
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$139
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$155
$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive(Cozumel)
$169
$120
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$270
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$200
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$504
$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,573)
Filter reviews
2,573 results
Traveler rating
883
962
421
192
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
962
421
192
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillel patioportofino restauranttortuga barda mariodive housejuan carlosocean frontpaddle boardsmarket cafefishpizza placeentertainment staffbeach barnachosmain poolwater shoes
Filter
Updating list...
2,023 - 2,028 of 2,573 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am afraid I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any person I hold dear. I truly hope we were unlucky to stay in a room in such bad conditions. The signs of poor manteinance were all over the place. Leaks in not only one part of t he room but three. Water on the floors and running on the walls were the start of a shocking stay.We were looking forward to a shower after flight-ferry-taxi to the hotel and surprise,surprise : shower was broken! It didnt take long to get fixed but We found this a lack of Customer Care. A real shame because the room was very spacious and with a large balcony with pool AND sea view. We were supposed to stay 6 nights but ended up staying one night only and upgraded to the hotel next door "Secrets" which belongs to the same chain but waaaaay better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JuliRuaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear JuliRuaro,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is naturally very disappointing that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and are very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service. Please accept our apologies it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, however, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads to ensure that we take all the necessary actions to improve our services as well to reduce the opportunity for these mistakes to reoccur in the future with other guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband & I stayed enjoying two weeks of peaceful relaxation. Though the resort is upgrading & repurposing a hotel section of the resort to an elite area, I believe more funds should be geared towards "maintenance" on the rest of the resort. Certain safety issues also need to be addressed. Our hats go off to the excellent wait staff at all the restaurants especially Rolando, Edwardo, Izmel, German, Jose Antonio & Manuel.
Also in need of WiFi through out resort & should not be limited to front lobby.

Room Tip: By choice I prefer a second floor unit. Then you have a cover if it rains but you want to sit outdoors. If you need WiFi for business, don't expect usage from your room. Only available at front desk.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StLCardFan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear StLCardFan2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are delighted to hear that you thought your two week vacation was satisfactory and that you found your trip to be relaxing and of good value including our great staff. They work tirelessly to ensure that each guest is given personalized attention. So it is rewarding to hear that you will return to your new home away from home.

We have passed your comments about the maintenance issues to our General Manager so that we can start working on implementing a good preventative maintenance program.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Even though the room we reserved was not ready upon arrival, the front desk staff was more than accomodating by upgrading our room giving us access to more restaurants. The snorkeling was so much fun. There are many activities going on all day long or tons of beach chairs available for those who just want to relax. The breakfast buffet was repetative but the rest of the meals were quite good. We would go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 911MommyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear 911MommyW,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are delighted to hear that you thought your Honeymoon trip was satisfactory and that you found your trip to be relaxing and of good value including snorkeling, entertainment activities and food. Our staff work tirelessly to ensure that each guest is given personalized attention. So it is rewarding to hear that you will return to your new home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sunscape from Sept 30-Oct 4th. The resort was quiet as there were only 80 guests there, which we loved. We loved the beach, swing bars and location. The resort needs updated, which they are currently doing as part of it was closed down. The food was below average for Mexico. They have a buffet open for breakfast and lunch and a snack bar that serves hamburgers and pizza. They only had one of their two restaurants open per night. It was nice that you didn't have to make reservations and it was casual dress. We rented a jeep and made a return trip around the island. The Money Bar and Coconuts are our favorites! We had a great time, but expected a little nicer resort for the Apple rating. We purchased the 5 Apple Square Deal so we did not know where we were staying until a few days before traveling. Of course they put us in probably the least nicest resort, but we were on Cozumel and enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear IowaWildcat,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as the beach, swings bar and location however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel. I have passed your review to our General Manager so that we can improve the overall maintenance, amenities and the quality of food at the resort.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Large, comfortable clean room. Excellent helpful staff. My wife and I are both vegan and the staff at the restaurants prepared us meals off of the menu that fit our vegan diet. Kudos to Alejandro for the help in making that happen. Very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank John_B_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear JohnandStephanieB97,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are delighted to hear that you thought your recent stay with us was satisfactory and that you found a good value to the fact that we accommodated your food preferences, our friendly staff and cleanliness of rooms. Our staff work tirelessly to ensure that each guest is given personalized attention. So it is rewarding to hear that you will return to your new home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews