We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corny show, lots of booze, food not great”

Jean Laffite Pirate Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Corny show, lots of booze, food not great”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was essentially a big drunk on the water, with some corny pirate show. I definitely wouldn't recommend it for families, with the amount of alcohol and the sexy couples games. I must admit, some people were having an awesome time. It became quickly apparent that the focus was on getting people drunk - the alcohol flowed non-stop. Apparently our tour was imbibing at an unusual pace, as we had to do a quick stop at the dock to get more ice & alcohol!

The lobster was dry & the steak was so-so, the "cruise" was just us going back & forth along the shore. We were ready to get off when we finally reached shore.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BibiOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    44
    4
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We did not have high expectations when we went on the dinner cruise, but we had a blast! The crew works so hard to make sure everyone has fun. It can get a bit raunchy and there is a fair amount of drinking, but go with the flow. We were out when it was raining a bit and it was rough, but we never were far from shore. Come dinnertime, we went into a small dock area where it was calm. It was fun watching the talented team pilot and tie off this large boat in a very confined area. We had lobster for dinner, and it was delicious. Salad, roasted vegies and rice were served and it really was very good. If you like to drink, they are constantly around offering a variety of liquor or soft drinks/water. We are late 50's and there was a mix of people from 20's to late 70's. Go have fun, let your hair down and enjoy the cruise!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank cinrac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trust ME I'm a Pirate”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I booked the Pirate Dinner Cruise for our group of 7 via email prior to our trip to Cozumel -I had read reviews and wanted to make sure it was available on the night we wanted.While at our hotel we were asked if we wanted to book the excursion and the shuttle company would give us a shuttle to town but we would have to take a taxi back. A little extra info:I did a little research and found out some interesting things about the taxi service in Cozumel. The shuttles seem to have a little monopoly going with the airports. The taxi service rates are regulated by the government and the hotels should have a rate schedule that you can ask to see .We ended up taking a taxi to the meeting point at Fat Tuesdays- It is located across from the main docking area for the cruise ships. After we lined up and got our wristbands we proceeded to the pirate ship. I had brought a light jacket thinking it might be cool on the ship- wrong! We were up dancing and our shorts and t's were warm enough.
Each group was boarded, a picture was taken with the pirates, and we were seated. Perfectly mixed margaritas, rum punch, beer and I believe there may have been another choice were passed out. The drinks were great, not water down, or skimpy, and most importantly we always had one in hand!
The pirates were entertaining and got guest involved in dancing, games, and laughter! We had such a great group on board and we met so many fun people! Dinner was great- our group didn't chose the chicken but instead we chose lobster and the lobster and steak plates.
There is no question if you enjoy good food & drink, love to laugh & have a good time, and want to book that one extra fun excursion for your time in Cozumel-THIS IS IT! Be sure to bring some $ to tip these guys- if ever on our trip that somebody deserved a tip, these were the guys! Also we had a little confusion and didn't buy the picture that they offer----big regret and I might have to email to see if they keep them for a period of time.
Our group sends loud ARRRGGGHHH to all the pirates for actually giving us our best night in Cozumel!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BeefeatersOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most fun and the best food!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was a dinner cruise and show! From the time the pirates lined us up on the dock prior to boarding until the we returned to port...this was by far the best time we had all week! The pirates kept the action going...NONSTOP! Engaging the tourists in their antics made the excursion even better. About $60/person, this was the best value...the food (steak & lobster, lobster or chicken (Iguana)) was absolutely delicious...and prepared on a grill below deck all the while the entertainment continued and the drinks kept coming.

Not many can say they limbo'd on a pirate ship...I can. I dare you to take this excursion and give it a try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FUN!!! Must GO! ”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

You won't be sober after this one! Great food - steak and lobster. Very fun alone, with friends or family - dinner not really for young kids. Lots of booze and adult fun!

Will definitely go again when in Cozumel.

Helpful?
Thank BlackLions001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Laffite Pirate Dinner Cruise also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Jean Laffite Pirate Dinner Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing