We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.”
Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The food was delicious and different. Beautiful setting...great for couples. Just about perfect. The churros were a surprise.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulGCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    196
    49
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place was outstanding. An eye opening dinner. The waiter Cesar was outstanding, explained everything in detail and offered opinions when asked. First time there so we did the Kondesa experience. Every bite and every collaboration on the plates were perfectly though out and executed. Flavors were fresh and creative. Highly recommended. Also the Mezcal cocktails where outstanding with all of the in-house made ingredients, as well as the tequila bases cocktails. Possible the only reason I may go back to Cozumel, and to try their other, Kinta.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHN_a_2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Proof that fine dining exists in Cozumel”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

After several days of average resort food, tourist traps and a few good tacos, it was such a pleasure to find Kondesa. My husband and I shared the tasting menu (A GREAT value for the $57 price) so we got to try a little of everything: Three types of appetizers, three entrees, and four desserts. The garden setting is pretty and laid-back, the waiters were attentive and the food unmatched anywhere we ate in Cozumel and ranks up there with some of the best meals we've had-- for two foodies that love fine dining, I think that says a lot! Don't miss this place while in Cozumel, at least to have a drink in the garden area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara78412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, unorganized wait staff”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Ok, first of all the enchiladas are the best I've ever had in my life. The first night, we split the enchiladas and the pescado del mar (also fantastico!), but the service was so terrible!! Waiters were standing around like they didn't know what to do! There were maybe 4 other tables w/customers that night, so we were really amazed at the lack of service. We had already been to Kinta in years past and a few days before and decided that Rene, our Kinta waiter should do a training program for the Kondesa staff!
When the bill came, the "new" hostess also shorted us 50 pesos.
All that being said, the next night was our last night and we had to make the hard decision of where to have our last dinner. Hands down, more enchiladas here and I'm not splitting this time! The lead waiter really tried to make up for the previous night and that was a nice gesture, but there are still some issues and I hope it doesn't end up killing the restaurant....

Helpful?
Thank sandrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best mojoto on the island!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This is our second trip here and we were not disappointed again! The triple sampler of guacamole is a must. Very unique and each different. This trip we order the couples "extravaganza" which is an appetizer, main course platter and dessert for about $70 USD. Melt in your mouth is only way to describe it! 4 of our group went to the Cooking Workshop which was from 11-2:30 for $70. A $40 deposit is required. You learn to muddle your own drinks, margarendas were the drink du jour and made their own tortillas. Chef Chris even emails the recipes to you afterwards. This will be a must -so next trip ! Wonderful hospitality !

Helpful?
Thank Moreheadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing