We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
A TripAdvisor Member
“All around great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

After eating and loving its sister restaurant, Kinta, we had to try Kondesa and are happy we did. Our only regret is we did not find these two restaurants earlier! Best food, atmosphere and service we had all week at reasonable prices. All the entrees were the right size and great quality.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    188
    49
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Probably the best dinner I've ever had!
We took the couple menu and the white sangria, all in all 900 pesos, and it was sooooo delicious! Very creative and arranged with lots of love.
Additional table water was for free.
Truly, on of the best dinners I've ever experienced, you need to go there!
We were lucky getting a table on short notice, maybe it's better to have a reservation.

Helpful?
Thank Rieke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and nice garden setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

It is a nice atmosphere outside with twinkling lights in the trees. My husband and I shared the Kondessa experience. It was wonderful with 3 appetizers, 3 entrees and 4 desserts to share. Everything is so fresh and tasty including the drinks. The waiters are very attentive and we even met the owner Kris and chatted with him. He was offering cooking classes but we weren't able to make it but it sounded like it would have been a wonderful day. Because we had such a great meal there, the next night we went to his first restaurant Kinta. It was just as good in a different way. This is a must go to restaurant. You will not be disappointed! We can't wait to come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Kondesa Cooking Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My mother and I participated in a cooking class that owner/chef Kris has just started to offer through Kondesa. We really enjoyed it. I highly recommend taking the class as a way to learn more about the culinary culture in the area and to have a different experience than going to a water park or sitting around on the beach all day. The class we attended ran from 11:00am-2:00pm, all taking place at the restaurant. We made 3 different salsas (pico de gallo, a twist on salsa verde, and a roasted vegetable salsa), our own tortillas made out of really good masa, margaritas (a non-alcoholic mojito for me, also called a limonmenta), and then we made mexican sea bass wrapped in banana leaf and cooked over a flame. After the interactive portion, we sat down with chef Kris and the other class participants and had lunch that featured the items we made, along with a few supplemental dishes prepared by the kitchen staff. We had chips which we enjoyed with the three salsas we made, along with Kondesa's famous guacamole (guac with a fruit topping and crispy bacon pieces). More drinks were served along with great conversation with the chef and the other participants in the class. At the very end, we went to a station where there were freshly made churros, and we put them in paper bags with cinnamon and sugar and shook them until coated. They also had prepared for us Cajeta and mexican chocolate ganace (a chocolate sauce with chocolate and Nutella) for dipping the churros.

Overall wonderful class. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Guac trio....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful surroundings...excellent meal with the best guac of our whole trip--and we tried at least 10 different ones.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing