We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis”
Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 380 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
LIVERMORE
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The ambiance in this restaurant is wonderful. The food is also quite good. It is modern Mexican cuisine. I would go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ccohn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    991
    194
    49
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible food, best meal in Cozumel”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We first went to La Kinta the night before, which is owned by the same chef, and were blown away. We were beyond excited to try Christopher's other restaurant, Kondesa. The food was incredibly flavorful and imaginative. The best meal of our trip with La Kinta coming in second. The tortilla soup is TO DIE FOR! We haven't stopped thinking about it since...as were the fish cakes and the tacos. Do not miss this wonderful restaurant if you are in Cozumel. It's fine and fun dining at a very reasonable price. Also, the service is wonderful! Daniel and Christopher were very friendly and charming. I cannot give this place enough stars! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anutterbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate at Kondesa for the first time this trip. It was a fun night, it was raining and the indoor area was booked for a private party. We decided to stay and eat anyway.

The staff made a little rain cover for our table, we actually quite enjoyed the whole experience.

The food is elegantly presented and also tastes very good! We would go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kelz1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutlely Wonderful - Again and Again”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be told about the opening of Kondesa several years ago when eating at its sister restaurant Kinta. Both are owned by Kris Wallenta and are such a treat when we are in Cozumel. Living in Arizona we are exposed to many varieties of upscale Latin inspired food but nothing we enjoy as much as the food here. The food drinks, and vibe can't be beat. The prices are very reasonable. We have tried just about everything on menu and it is all good. This visit we especially liked the San Juan salad with marvelous grilled chicken and the Chicken Poblano. When I arrived at Kondesa one evening, I told the waiter I had just gotten an upset stomach and wasn't sure if I was up to much in the way of drinks and dinner. He told me he had a drink to cure it - no charge! It was bitters and soda. After two I was feeling great! While dining, a party of men arrived with fish they had caught that day and the restaurant cooked it beautifully for them. We saw Kris, the owner, at Kinta later in the week and asked if they were friends and he said no that he does it at both and Kinta and Kondesa for all patrons with a small charge for the side dishes. I was so impressed and now want to take up fishing in Cozumel! The only disappointment was that Jason, the owner's brother was not there as he moved away from Cozumel. We can’t wait to go back to Cozumel and directly to Kondesa..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDGolferBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another winner in Cozumel!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The atmosphere at Kondesa is delightful. We sat in the outdoor courtyard (complete with mosquito coils!) and had a wonderful dinner of fresh seafood and local veggies! Kris stopped by to check on us and we had a nice chat with him. He really makes you feel at home. You must try the guac trio.....amazing tastes! We will definitely be back!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing