We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Margaritas on the Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The service was very prompt but no rush to get you out.

Food: 3 different flavours of guacamole. Yum. So fresh. Menu is basically Mexican food. 6 people in our party and everyone enjoyed what they ordered.

Drinks: Best Margaritas we had in Cozumel (and this is based on sampling at many bars)

The atmosphere is best after sunset. There is a large Banyan Tree in the outdoor dining area and things are nicley lit with rope lights.

The owner stopped by the table to check that everyone was having a good time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    186
    49
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our two favorite restaurants in Cozumel are Kondesa and La Kinta, both owned by Kris.They are undoubtedly the two best tables in Cozumel, heads and shoulders above any other in quality and inventiveness. We make it a point of going several times during our stay in Cozumel because the food is so delicious and the menus so creative. They are a welcome change from the typical fajitas and tacos, and make you love Mexician cuisine and the new and fun dishes which can be done with its traditional ingredients.. Kondesa's menu has changed a little from last year and everything we tried was fantastic. The pasta with pablano and cilantro cream sauce was one of our favorites, as were the fish dishes prepared with various sauces. Outstanding! In a major US city, a meal of this quality would be well over $100 for 2. At Kondesa, it's less than half that, including drinks and dessert. The atmosphere in a secluded garden and new age music is very pleasant and the service is friendly. Kris makes a point of coming to the tables to say hello and make sure all is OK. Treat yourselves to a special experience at Kondesa, and save a night to go to La Kinta as well which is equally as good but with a different menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asiantrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food of Our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Super cool place just off the main road. Food was extremely tasty. Get the Mar y Tierra. Best steak I've had in a long time and incredibly juicy shrimp. And get dessert: Pan Katrina. Prices were better than most places for dinner. We spent $45 for two plus tip on three courses. Enough said.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you don't like romantic garden settings, don't go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

If your idea of a great dinner location isn't beautifully illuminated garden...and if you don't enjoy well-prepared food made with very fresh ingredients...and if you don't like innovative cuisine, then stay away from Kondesa! Seriously, this is a great dining experience in the heart of Cozumel.The food tends toward novel variations on a Mexican theme, Jason and Kris Wallenta own both Kondesa and Kinta (and rumor has it that they are looking for a restaurant location in Denver...we're keeping our eyes open for it!)
One ingredient in the risotto we loved was huitlacoche...which tastes like a salty pesto. We asked Jason what this ingredient was, and it turns out to be a local delicacy...corn fungus! Don't let that put you off...it's great!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank halchorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

First night in Cozumel. Loved it. Food, drinks, atmosphere all perfect. Been here a week and going back for more tonight. Best Bartender we have ever met. Homemade from scratch drinks. Best Guac on the island. Excellent service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gal522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing