We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tulum Day Trip”

Cozumel Tours By Johann & Sandra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Save up to 70% on Cozumel cruise shore excursions, tours and activities! Exclusive private tours to Mayan Ruins sites, all-inclusive beach breaks, discounts on scuba diving and snorkeling and much more. Let us show you the service that has made us famous!
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked a tour with Cozumel tours for 3 couples who were staying in Cozumel for a week. We wanted to visit Tulum, so we set up a "tour" with Cozumel tours. Everything went very smoothly. We caught the 9am ferry from Cozumel to Playa. Our van driver (Juan) was waiting with a sign as we walked off the ferry. We walked to his van a couple blocks away and he drove us to Tulum. The 'tour' is actually just transportation from Playa to Tulum. He offered to be our guide at Tulum (for a fee), and he was very knowledgeable about Mayan history and culture. My only complaint was that he did not always make sure that all 6 of us could hear what he was saying. We were at Tulum about 2 hours, which was enough time to walk the grounds and get some photos.

1  Thank Chris2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided jeep tour"
in 5 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 30 reviews
"meeting area"
in 5 reviews
"jean lafitte"
in 3 reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 11 reviews
"actual tour"
in 3 reviews
"playa del carmen"
in 15 reviews
"dune buggy"
in 9 reviews
"air conditioned van"
in 5 reviews
"fish"
in 23 reviews
"interesting information"
in 3 reviews
"meeting point"
in 8 reviews
"private excursion"
in 3 reviews
"chocolate tour"
in 3 reviews
"beach break"
in 5 reviews
"wild tours"
in 6 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 3 reviews
Filter

199 - 203 of 341 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

we rented a scooter went around island very safe and would recommend to everyone . low cost scooter was 35 dollars for 24 hrs im not one to buy insurance I like to keep my money for other things don't let them scare you into buying any .ask them how many insurance claims have been made in the last yr . he couldn't tell me if there ever was one .but very safe the high traffic area downtown is only a couple of miles once your out its like driving in the country lots to see miles and miles of beach with lots of local shops and pubs had fish tacos at one of the stops excellent .bring your suit you can stop and swim at your own beach no one around for miles

Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We visited Tulum and it was a bad weather. but the tour is nice and our tour guide is very friendly.
I think the price is too expensive.

Thank sunnycsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Definitely not as advertised, but.... Before I say what was wrong I want to say what was right.1. They subcontract which is good because the horses were horribly emafiated full of engorged ticks and had open sores and i am hopeful that if they were theirs that would not be the case. 2 They refunded me half the money i paid as requested. 3. They handled my complaint quickly. 3. They suspended that tour package on their website.
Ok that being said we were supposed to travel through the jungle which turned out to be the mosquito ridden brush just a fewfeet of tge side of a busy road. The terrain was rocky and the horses were forced to stumble through all the wet rocks there is only one english speaking tour guide the one that rode in the front does not speak english and was on his cell phone the ehole time. It was advertised that we would see ruins and explore caverns we never saw a cavern and the so called ruins was suspect they did not give the horses any water but had them stay at the dry trough while we looked aruond the village they charge to use the filthy bathrooms and the tour guide must get kick back because he was really pushing for us to buy a $75 bottle tequilla the same exact bottle sells at the 7-11 by the port for $11. It advertises an authentic mexican meal which we never got also white sands beach break was supposed to be included but once again we did not get that in fact moses from the tour company said we would have to pay for a taxi if we wanted to see a white sands beach. He said it did not matter that that was part of our purchase and it would be $12 Yet another issue because it was $16 There was more all in all the worst tour ever but i do not think the main company knew what was going on with the subcontractor.


Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Cozumel Tours By Johann & Sandra, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you Anne for mentioning how hard we worked to address your concerns about this tour, and how seriously we took your comments. This was a new tour, with a new ranch, and we hoped that it would be a great addition to our selection of adventures in Cozumel. You were one of the very first guests on this tour, and the first to provide feedback to us about it, so we were not aware of the situations that you describe in your review.

Certainly the things you describe were not as they were advertised to us when we accepted the tour, and as soon as we received your comments we immediately discontinued our short relationship with the ranch in question. We are always on the lookout for new experiences and new adventures to offer our guests, but while 99% of them turn out to be outstanding, in this case it did not work out that way. We strive to provide the best possible experiences for all of our guests, and it is our goal to ensure that all guests leave Cozumel with lifelong memories that you can look back on for years to come with pleasure. In this case, the ranch clearly did not provide that, and so while we can't bring back your valuable vacation time, we took swift action to ensure that future guests will have much better experiences.

Thank you for all of the valuable feedback you provided us directly about this tour. It has helped not only us but future guests to ensure that all of our adventures are only of the highest quality. We hope to welcome you back to Cozumel with one a wonderful adventure on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our tour consisted of a beach day at Mr.Sanchos in Conzumel. What an experience!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We had our own personal waiter (Mario), our own cabana, all you can seafood, american food, etc. All you can drink "top shelf" liquor and beautiful beach water. I also took advantage of an amazing massage right there on the beach!!! The price was GREAT for everything that we received. My fiancee and I had the time of our life. We would definitely do it again!

Oh yeah, it's fun for all ages!

4  Thank DAPHNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Cozumel Tours By Johann & Sandra, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Awesome! Thanks for posting your experiences with our beach break, I'm so happy that it was a great experience for you and your family. It really is a great value for everything you receive, and Mario will be so happy to know that his efforts really made a difference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozumel Tours By Johann & Sandra also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cozumel Tours By Johann & Sandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing