We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Cozumel Race was AWESOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amazing Cozumel Race

The Amazing Cozumel Race
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Amazing Cozumel Race: Small-Group Tour and Scavenger Hunt
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Play Amazing Cozumel Race - an interactive, clue-based adventure game that's like a reality show! Equal parts live-action mystery novel, and scavenger hunt, it's the best and most fun way to experience Cozumel. Form teams of two or more, with a maximum of ten guests per team. Spend an exciting day racing throughout Cozumel, solving devious clues each step of the way. Try to be the first to unlock a secret code and defeat an ancient Mayan Curse. Enjoy a brief snorkeling adventure. Use your wits, energy, and sense of adventure as you race against time. See a side of Cozumel most visitors never get to see. Enjoy a post-race race awards ceremony at a local restaurant with prizes for top finishers plus two complimentary beverages for all participants!
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Cozumel Race was AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was the highlight of our families' 7 day Caribbean cruise. I mistakenly thought it would be a leisurely stroll through the city of Cozumel but my family had other ideas. The other families/teams took the task as seriously as we did while still having fun. I was exhausted by the end of the race but it was so worth it! The locals are extremely helpful and occasionally direct you if you need help. The final awards ceremony was great and the workers put a lot of effort in it. I would recommend this to ANYONE!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,472
    135
    18
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Time!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

By far 1 of the best excursions we have ever been on!!!! 13 of us participated ranging in age from 11 to 50, and everyone had a blast!!! Locals cheering you on and helping you when you ran by made this even more exciting. I highly recommend this and would love to do it again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to avoid the tourist traps -- and have a LOT of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family (ages 45, 44, 14 and 11) did the Amazing Cozumel Race as a shore excursion during a cruise, and it was one of the highlights of our trip! The team of Alonzo, Eduardo and Erika did a terrific job of leading us on a trail of clues away from the Cozumel tourist traps and into the town of San Miguel. The race is like a bunch of "mini-tours" that change every time: ours included snorkeling off of a glass-bottom boat, a visit to the local museum (where we wanted to go back to check out the mind-bending art), rummaging through a farmers' market, and lots of interaction with locals every step of the way. The residents seem to be very familiar with the Race, as folks everywhere are eager to help. Most importantly, the shopkeepers in the tourist area seemed to give us a break from the constant sales pitches that they directed to other tourists. The fun ends at an off-the-beaten path restaurant where the food was good and the beer was cold. We highly recommend the Amazing Cozumel Race.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim_PSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
1 review
“The Amazing Cozumel Race”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was an AWESOME and of course AMAZING experience for our entire family - ages 48, 45, 14, 12 and 10. Our trip leaders - Alonso and Erika were fantastic in explaining the rules, the map, the safety precautions, etc. You start at one end of town, and follow fun clues, figure out puzzles, snorkle for clues, use local help and race around Cozumel!! We absolutely LOVED this excursion - it was very creative and fun...we brought water bottles (smart!) and wore matching tie dye shirts to be a team (not smart!!!). Other teams knew exactly where we were at all times ha ha ha. You end at a local Mexican cantina where you get two free drinks, chips and salsa and can order food - which was also amazing. This was a GREAT excursion - DO IT!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Britten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Amazing Race for "Team Lovebirds"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Typically, honeymooners want to relax on the beach or wade in the pool, but my husband and I decided to do something that we both enjoy--engage in a little competition! We had no idea what was in store for us when we arrived at the meeting place/shopping center. Would be we arguing with taxi drivers? Would we get lost in this foreign place? It wasn't until we received our instructions before the race when we learned what we were getting ourselves into (and that it was all on foot).
Anyway, the race was a blast! What we liked the most was interacting with the locals. They were so nice, very helpful, spoke English, and kind of got a kick watching Americans run around like crazy people. About everyone we encountered was extremely motivating and helpful. We believe one particular woman was responsible for helping us grab the gold medal :) At no point did we feel like we were in an unsafe, unclean area. It was a great experience and we would recommend it to anyone looking for an adventure.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adeck24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amazing Cozumel Race also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Amazing Cozumel Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing