We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENCE from start to finish!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Scuba Dive Shop

Pepe Scuba Dive Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a PADI International Resort;located inside the Coral Princess Hotel.Open to the Public,offering 2 Tank Boat Dive trips,with pick up service from other locations.All levels-PADI Dive Certification Training,Snorkel trips,Night Diving,Equipment Rental.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“EXCELLENCE from start to finish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Dove with Pepe's in May 2013 and raved. Had the good fortune to dive again in Nov/Dec, still think this shop rates a Perfect 5!

Abdias and Valente were the dive guides. Again, they are extremely knowledgeable about the sites and willing to answer all types of questions regarding the reef life. The groups are small,the boat is fast, the back roll entry is easy & then it's sweet drift dives to enjoy the scenery. Other sites will describe the beauty of the reefs (and it is SPECTACULAR), but this is about the fantastic, friendly staff at Pepe's.

Prior to arriving I contacted Pepe's to set up the dives. From the first email forward we were treated as old friends welcomed back. Questions were answered, dives were made & it was a wonderful experience. AGAIN!

Would gladly recommend the crew at Pepe's to someone trying scuba for the first time, someone who hasn't been diving in awhile, or the dive enthusiast! Frank's staff will adapt to your needs. Looking forward to returning there soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank morganatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    11
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly fun & safe diving with Pepe Scuba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family of four had an excellent diving experience with Pepe Scuba! Frank is friendly and accomodating even on short notice. We emailed about a month prior to our trip to book our dives but he assured us we could wait until after we arrived. This was great since we were unsure about the weather. Our guide Valente was wonderful keeping our safety in mind and allowing time and patience for our exploration. He was especially attentive to our youngest and made sure we were all safe at all times. He pointed out numerous critters we never would have spotted our favorite being the pregnant sea horse! Pricing is reasonable, boats are fast and comfortable. Quality gear was set up and handled for us. All the personnel from Frank to the boat drivers are friendly and helpful. Frank remembered our names from initial emails and all the employees went out of their way to acknowledge our family after our awesome dive experiences. I noticed how friendly they were with other divers and new divers practicing in the pool as well. Excellent place to get certified! My husband and daughter were able to book another morning dive two days later on the spot. Only reason my son and I didn't go again was because he wanted to hang with his non-diving girlfriend, and my right ear was having issues (I need more practice equalizing!) We wouldn't hesitate to dive with Pepe Dive again in the future!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PLfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! Thanks, Frank and crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned from Cozumel yesterday. Pepe Dive shop at the Coral Princess hotel provided an incredible diving experience for two people who had not dived in years. The advice, supervision, instruction, equipment and support was great. Now we realize why people are so enthusiastic about Cozumel diving but you need the right company and Pepe's is it.

Frank even helped us when our car battery died!! Thanks, again, guys.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rouxmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Wonderful Dive Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Frank & staff are top notch and a class act. The refresher dive course, includes an easy, but pretty interesting dive right off the water at Coral Princess. A great way to ease in if it's been a while since the last dive trip. Abdias points out all types of sea life (we saw all types of fish big and small, a variety of coral, eels, an enormous crab, lobsters, urchins, an octopus, etc etc) and is a very attentive guide/instructor. Makes everything chill and not stressful. The boat dives couldn't be easier and more fun -- they hook up your gear if you want which is nice for someone like me whose last dive was over five years ago. And they go in pretty small groups on the boat -- also nice for a more hands on, personal experience. Highly recommended, knowledgeable, safe, and very reasonable prices. (They also loaned us jumper cables when our car battery died!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank snaptrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
1 review
“Great dives, even at Xmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a great time diving with Abdias and Valente! Fast boats got us there ahead of boats from closer hotels. Frank was really responsive to email, and personally dropped us off at the ferry after the dive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Scuba Dive Shop also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pepe Scuba Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing