We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this resort for a week in November 2013. The staff are exceptional and made our trip so much fun. The food however was not so great. We didn't go hungry by any means. The a la carte restaurants weren't the greatest either. I would stick to the buffet because you can eat whenever you wanted and didn't need a reservation. They repeated their theme nights several times so there wasn't a big change in food from day to day. The cookies were to die for but were in limited supply.
We had a surprise guest (iguana they called it but we thought it was more like a lizard) that stayed in our room all week.
Also, upon arriving home I contracted a bacterial infection (c-difficile) that may or may not have been from the trip and can only be treated by antibiotics (I am on my 2nd treatment at 2 weeks per treatment) and still haven't gotten rid of it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank small_2wn_girl_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Client

First of all we like to express our most sincere gratitude for choosing to stay at the Iberostar Cozumel over many other resorts in Cozumel and for taking the time to write your valuable feed back to us trough trip advisor.

We are thrilled to read in your review you had an amazing time with our co workers, we can assure you that will share all your kind comments to them and congratulate them for the great service they offered.

In reference to your comment about the food we regret that you did not like our specialty restaurants and that you felt that the food was repetitive during your stay with us. Since December we have a new Executive Chef in our property to keep improving our culinary offer; we are sharing all your review with him.
We are sorry to hear that you got an infection we can assure that Iberostar Cozumel prioritizes Health & Safety and has a Department with a team of certified workers who constantly supervise that the food is in the best conditions, and it is also handled and conserved properly. We also work with an external company that comes every month to check the personnel and the quality and the temperature of the different food that we offer to our clients and we are getting good results, we really hope that you feel better.

We hope that will be able to offer you our hospitality in the future.

Kind Regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,018
    1,772
    628
    226
    112
See reviews for
1,423
1,755
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

we just got back from our 2nd stay at iberostar in cozumel. The scuba diving with dresslers dive was phenomenal. They are so organized, and helpful in setting up all your dives for the week or day. The resort is amazing, and the staff goes out of their way for your comfort. The only improvement needed is with the food. It is the same every day and it all tastes the same. Our travel agent Lisa from beach bum vacations set us up with everything we could need.

Room Tip: if you have a pronto scuba gear ask for 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank christy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Customer

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Iberostar Cozumel for your recent vacation and for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor.

We would like thank you for all your amazing comments on our personnel. We like to hear that you also had a great time with dressel divers.

In reference to your comments about the food since December we have a new chef that is working to enhance the quality and variety as well the presentation of the food we offer to our guests, we will pass on your comments to him so that he can go on the right direction.

We truly look forward to your next visit in Iberostar Cozumel.

kind Regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently returned from the iberostar cozumel hotel returning three days ago.
Overall nice hotel we have travelled to many of the iberostar resorts so we were comfortable with our choice.
Very tropical grounds picturesque throughout.
Snorkeling excellent off the beach however poor program with dresses divers in regards to snorkeling,definitely caters to the divers, Don,t waste your money worst snorkel tour ever disorganised, definitely took a back seat to the divers on the boat water one hour past time advised to get on the boat only to have to return twice to the dock yes because of the divers.
Iberostar did not have our room ready waited two hours past check in time to be let into our room.

Room Tip: Book upper level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sylvie137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for having chosen Iberostar Cozumel for your recent vacation in Mexico and for taking the time to send us all your comments on trip advisor.

As you mentioned the hotel is surrounded by a lot of lush vegetation and animals such as flamingos, iguanas, peacocks, or cats. Moreover, the hotel is located near the most famous reefs in the island such as Palancar, Colombia and many of our guest dive and snorkel with Dressel Divers or many of the other companies in the island , we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the snorkel trip with them.

In regard to your comment about the room, we are deeply sorry that you had to wait. Your comment will be reviewed with our Front Desk Manager to find out what happened.

We truly look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Sunny regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I would give the Resort 5 stars if the food was better. The Resort is clean and the service is wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The bartenders are great. The drinks are made well and the liquor is of good quality. The only bar negative is that only 1 brand of beer is available--XX Lager. Three or more beers should be available.

In the U.S., XX Lager is not a popular brand. Its sister brand--XX Amber is very popular. XX Lager is not all that good and it being your only choice for the week is very disappointing.

The food is bad. The buffets are very bland. It is the same thing over and over again at every meal. There are 3 restaurants to pick from for your evening meal. The only acceptable one is the Steakhouse. The Mexican restaurnat was very disappointing. To be in Mexico and being served a below average meal was a real bummer. The Rock Cafe was also disapponting.

We had to escape the Resort after a few days and ate down the beach at Alberto's for 2 nights. Alberto's is very good. The fresh seafood was great. It is very disappointing to stay at an all-inclusive resort and pay for meals at another restaurant in order to get a good meal.

If the food was improved, I would give this place 5 stars. This Resort is the place to go if you are a diver. You are on top of the best dive locations in Cozumel. The Dressler's Dive School and staff are super. We talked to many divers during the week and were told more than once that Cozumel has the best diving in the world.

Enjoy the underwater life and views!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank Phred61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff and the management at the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for you complete review in reference to our services.

First we would like to thank you for all your kind words about the cleaning of our property and the service provided by our employees as they are a very important part of our hotel, also we appreciated all your comments about the bars. You can be sure we are sharing your comment about the beer with our food and beverage manager for his consideration.

In reference to your comment about the food, we apologize if you felt the food was bland and that our specialty restaurants and buffet did not meet you expectations, we are sharing all your comments to our head chef to review this points and keep working on improving our offerings.

As you mentioned the resort is located near the most beautiful reef in the south part of the Cozumel island and we are happy to read you really enjoyed with the dive center at the hotel.

We really hope you can give us the opportunity to host you in the future and show you our improvements with the food.

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Ibreostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just got back from our second stay at the Iberostar Cozumel. The property has not changed a bit in four years. This is both good and bad. Good in terms of the feeling of comfort and familiarity, bad in terms that some upkeep was needed. Due to the tropical garden setting and high humidity, power washing the buildings would be a good idea. The beach is still beautiful and the dining and resort staff (except for the front desk) was warm, friendly,and accommodating. Their service was cheerful and with a smile. My kids loved the Star Friends and their nightly shows, The New Year's Eve Party was just as fun as the one we experienced during our previous stay. We love all the animals on the property including the cats. So no complaints there. The food was average to good depending on the night/day. This time we had two downstairs rooms. We liked the upstairs rooms we had last time much better. Downstairs seemed more damp and humid,with less privacy on our veranda. So if you don't mind a short flight of stairs get an upstairs room somewhere in the middle of the property. If you are a diver the resorts location is hard to beat. All the best dive sites are within a very short boat ride from the hotel's pier and Dressler Divers, the onsite dive shop does a great job getting you there. As other reviewers have already stated - bring your water shoes for the beach and ask for the mattress topper unless you don't mind a very firm bed. When you go don't expect luxury- cheerful and cheap sums it up for me.

Room Tip: Upstairs and towards the middle of the property would be ideal. Ask for a mattress topper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Underwatertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we like to express our gratitude for choosing to stay at Iberostar for the second time and for all your comments regarding your stay.

We appreciate that you value the good points of the resort and also mentioned the ones we can improve on. We are thrilled to read that you felt like home with us for the second time and that you enjoyed the settings and surroundings as well as the different animals around the resort.

We are also glad to hear that you and your family really enjoyed the nightly shows with our entertainment staff.

In reference to your comment about the humidity and the renovations in the resort, please let us assure you that all our personnel work every single day to keep the resort in the best possible conditions, and our maintenance team follows a monthly program to paint, repair and prevent any issues for our guests. Our chamber maids work with chemicals to eliminate the humidity in the rooms and public areas of the hotel.

We are glad that you had an amazing time with Dressel Divers, and we look forward to your next visit in Cozumel.

Sunny Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family and I go to Mexico at least once a year and will stay at a resort priced in the mid range of resorts. Iberostar was one of those resorts that we recently stayed during the Christmas holiday. I must say, I read a lot of positive reviews of the resort but was even more impressed even after staying here!

Like I mentioned, we stayed during the holiday season and the resort (according to them) was sold out. Yet even though full, we would never have guessed that it was full as the resort is laid out in such a way that it doesn't seem crowded. Sure the buffets had a line right when they would open, but if you didn't go right at opening, you could walk right up to the line, and never a wait for a table. Also, by the pool, it never felt crowded, the pool bar always had a seat open and as long as you got to the pool by 9am, you could find a lounge chair.

I really liked the layout of this resort with the building huts. It sure beats the resorts where you are waiting for elevators or always seeing the same people in the hallways. Here, you felt much more secluded and felt more intimate walking around the resort during the day and seeing critters like iguanas or geckos or birds.

The resort is knows for it's scuba. I am not a scuba person and thus we didn't go but I am guessing a good portion of people who come to this resort are and thus maybe that contributed to the "quietness" during the day?

PROS:
* The resort layout - some one here complained about the walking and yes, sometimes it feels confusing trying to find your way to and from, but wow, I loved the layout. It seemed like an adventure everytime I set out and could take many different paths to and from where I was going. It is lit up pretty good at night as well, to aid in finding where you are going.
* The staff - the people who tend the bars are very friendly. Nicolas at the pool bar really stood out. Great staff. The front desk people were friendly and courtious as well
* The pool and pool bar - The pool temperture was "just right" - not sure if it was a heated pool or not...but I have been to resorts where you jump in to cool off and didn't want to be in it for long because the water was too warm or it was ice cold. Not a problem here. The neat thing about the pool bar set up, is one of the bars usually is always in the sunshine. I have been to resorts before where it seems like all day, all the pool bar seats sat in the shade.
* I enjoyed the food at the resort and I really liked the fact that for dinner reservations, you didn't have to book for just that evening but could book for the next day as well. We were a group of 5 and were able to make a reservation for the next night with no problems.
* Plenty of great beach seating and the pool activities are great

CONS:
* If you are looking for a "fun" bar atmosphere at night, there really isn't anything here at the resort. Yes, there is a disco that opens at 11pm, but before that time, there really is only the lounge bar which really is the lobby to go and sit and drink.
* Buffet choices - During the day, it is the same buffet for lunch and the same buffet for dinner. I wish both buffets would be open so you could choose and mix it up each day rather than having the same food. Again though, food was really good and being the resort was sold out, I was surprised it never felt busy.
* Location to the city - if you want to get into Cozumel, this resort is one of the further ones out on the island (about 15 minutes). Not terribly far but not walking distance that is for sure.
* Ocean/Beach - the ocean is beautiful there and makes for great sunset viewing, however, I would not recommend swimming in the ocean as it is pretty rocky. But by the pier, there is an area with great snorkling! Also, there are no long walks down the beach here as there isn't much once you pass the resort area for walking.

Overall, like I said, I really enjoyed this resort and would come back in a heartbeat for another family vacation or if i was interested in scuba diving. It is one of my favorite resorts that I have been to so far. However, I would think twice if I was going with just a couple of friends as sitting in a lobby bar each night either before or after dinner is not my cup of tea. I really wish they would turn the Rock Cafe club into an all day bar that served easy hot food all day. That could be a fun bar rather than having it as a reservation only restaurant then waiting until 11 when it becomes a disco.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 46 which was along the side of the resort. A tad closer to the main lobby but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C-Rad_TwinCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

The general manager and all the staff want to express out most sincere gratitude for all the great comments you made about the services we offer at the resort.

It is an honour to have had the pleasure to serve you during your recent vacation, we are glad to read that you had a great time with our employees and that you enjoyed our settings and surroundings. As you mentioned the hotel is located in a natural area with a lot of animals such as flamingos, iguanas, turtles, cats and parrots among others.

In reference to your comment about the beach it is true that the shore is a little rocky as we are located near the most amazing reefs in the island of Cozumel and being inside the protected natural marine park of the island we cannot alter the entrance, but as you rightly said, we offer a pier to access the sea and enjoy the wonderful marine life.

Once more we thank you for all your comments and we will definitely work on all the points you brought to our attention.

We truly look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The good news... staff was very friendly and courteous, there was a variety of food including fruit, and the quality of cocktails and the pool were good. They also had some pool activities which were fun. There is a divers/watersports shack handy and we easily rented kayaks for cheap. One other plus is they provided bottled water every day in the room fridge.
However, lots of negatives... food quality was poor, beach for swimming was non-existent (sandy beach but water was all rocks and shallow). You can pay a fee and use the pier to get past the rocks. Our toilet stopped working and it took them literally all day and three reminders to come address it, and rooms were extremely musty smelling. After a rainfall, one of the neighboring guests fell hard down the slippery stairs. They charge for wi-fi (no free access anywhere at the resort). They also had evening entertainment--it was enjoyable but pretty low quality.

Room Tip: Ground floor nice -- no stairs for climbing or slipping when wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaInLakeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Client

On behalf of all the staff and the management at the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your constructive review on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate that you value the service of our staff and the variety of the food and drinks.

We deeply regret the incident with your toilet and the time it took to fix it. This will be reviewed with our Customer Service and Maintenance Department to improve the response time and follow-up. We will also be sharing your comments on the food with our Executive Chef. We are sorry you had that impression about the quality.

In regard to your comment about the rooms sometimes and especially in this season the humidity can be really high on the island. Our house maids work with some chemical products to eliminate this from the rooms and publics areas, however, we will work on more solutions.

Concerning our coastline, the shore is a little bit rocky because we are located near the most famous reefs in the southern part in Cozumel and we are inside the national marine park; for that reason we cannot alter the entrance to the ocean in any way. This will keep our environment sustainable for many years to come, and will allow the wonderful marine life to continue living.

We truly hope you can give us another chance to host you in the future and show you our improvements.

Best regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
14.0 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Visit Us Inc., Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing