We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Cozumel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Secrets Aura Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,227)
Filter reviews
5,227 results
Traveler rating
2,269
1,921
679
244
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,269
1,921
679
244
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsdressel diverspink flamingosfishsteak restaurantwater shoestenderloindive shoprooms are smalltex mexswim up barsand fleasspecialty restaurantsmattress topperrocky beachother resortsmain buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,528 - 2,533 of 5,227 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Iberostar in June. We did not have a good start, as in the way to our room we have been assaulted by mosquitos and had literally to run inside the room. The room was nice, but it had a bad smell. So we asked if they could do something for the room, as to me it was not pleasant at all to stay inside. A lady came with two products, one for the smell and one for the mosquitos. I hoped they had done that before our arrival. Nights were cool, I wanted to turned off the air conditioning and sleeping with just the noise of nature. But there are no mosquito nets in the windows. So, you are immerse in the jungle but you have to sleep with the noise of the air conditioner (which I think was a noisy one).

A couple of days after our arrival they started spraying repellents for mosquitos all around the property, but it did not really work for us.

The food was good and the people at the restaurant very nice. I enjoyed the fresh fruit and vegetables juices they provide for breakfast.

The beach was quite ordinary. We have been to Cozumel before, at the El Presidente Hotel. This was many years ago, but I remember snorkeling in front of the hotel was amazing. Instead, it looks like there is almost no underwater life in front of the hotel; you can see fishes only under the pier. They organize snorkeling trips by boat for 45$.

Once at home I had to wash all my clothes as they adsorbed the smell of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear guest.

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments, we truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides very useful tools to improve, which is imperative for us in this industry.

You can trust that we are sharing your comments to each department head in order to avoid those inconveniences in your rooms.

Regarding your comments about the A/C noise problem, we would like to inform you that we can assist 24/7 as the Front Desk is open and any guest can call us so we can help them with any inconvenient as your comfort is very important to us.

We are sorry about the mosquitoes. The past rain was the main reason why mosquitoes were more abundant during those days. The maintenance department does fumigate every day, but they cannot do it during rainy days, because chemicals do not work in contact with water, so they started as soon as the rain was over, and reinforcement of spraying is made every time a guest presents a concern.

Our location in a very well conserved natural part of the Island right in front of a natural reef is why you can find coral and many kinds of different fishes in our beach, which is one of our most important features; Iberostar do not do or offer snorkeling tours in our pier or property, due to the fact that we have one of the best Diving Centers on the Island set in our resort.

We hope that in the future, you can give Iberostar a chance to show you how capable we are to satisfy our entire guests with all our best efforts. Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences during your last stay with us.

Best regards.

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came to Iberostar after Fiesta Americana closed for 1 year for renovations. While we prefer a hotel that caters to divers...we had several non divers in our group so we selected Iberostar. The grounds and accomodations are beautiful. There is all sorts of activities for young people and as such there was alot of youngsters. The food is OK as it is with all "all inclusives" but the variety was good and the cheese selection was fun to have with a glass or two of wine. Here are a couple of people to look for if you stay at Iberostar. Christian, Rodolfo, Nicholaus, Isadore, and Wilbert, all of these people showed an exceptional attention to detail and customer service. From knowing what kind of beverage you had with breakfast or at the pool bar...to sharing that "special" vodka to "that" special group of new friends. We loved the property, but more than that we loved the people. Yahel with the Star Friends has the patience of a ( Saint ) dance or gymnastics coach with young children as he works with them to be part of the evening entertainment and shows and always had a smile even though I know he worked 25 hours a day 8 days a week. Say "ooh" say "ah" !! Make sure to take shirts with sleeves and some long pants for the restaurants ( not fond of that rule )...Awesome place...I would stay again. If you are a diver...check with your operator...there may be a docking fee if you don't use the onsite dive shop...Dressler Divers...good dive shop NOT local dive masters...if that matters to you.

Room Tip: Get as close to the ocean or the pool as you can.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Client.

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice review and for choosing Iberostar on your last family trip.

We appreciate your remarks on our grounds and accommodations, thank you for sharing with the rest of the users how wonderful your days were with us, and all the information provided according to your experience.

We are passing your comments on to all our department heads, in order for them to recognize their team’s outstanding performance on their assignments, such as Yohel, Christian, Rodolfo, Nicholaus and Isadore and Wilbert. We are happy your expectations were met.

Please receive a big “Gracias” from all our crew and feel free to come back to Iberostar Cozumel any time you wish, we will more than glad to host you.

Warm regards.

Quality Manager.
Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Iberostar is one of the resorts farthest from town, but easy to reach by taxi. It's set right in the middle of the forest and you do feel a world away when you are there. Each room is set in a colorful bungalow with a porch or balcony and a hammock. The rooms are not huge, but adequate, clean, and modern. The food at all the restaurants was very good, the service was amazing, and there is no shortage of things to do or see. From the front desk we were able to rent a jeep to tour the island. From the dive shop we rented kayaks, scheduled a parasailing trip as well as a snorkeling trip. It rained 3 of the 5 days we were there, but there was still no shortage of things to do. When the sun was out the pool and the ocean were steps away and refreshing. We definitely would go back to Cozumel and specifically to Iberostar. From what I saw this is probably the most beautiful resort on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyandliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest.

We really thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel as one of your favourite destinations for your vacations.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and the facilities at our property; it is very pleasant to read comments as yours, where you show appreciation for our efforts to make you feel comfortable with all our different services and activities offered.

Once again thank you for your comments; they motivate us to keep working hard to satisfy all of our guests.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards.

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our stay at Iberostar was such a great experience. The grounds are kept beautifully. The staff is amazingly nice and prompt with your needs. The food is plentiful but not exactly my taste however, I had no complaints. I didn't starve by no means. The roooms were clean however, the beds were a little hard. There are cats, iguanas, flamingos, and peacocks roaming all around the grounds which was sort of cool! The beach entry is rocky but the peir has a ladder that steps down into the water and the snorkling is great under the pier. The star friends make that place happen. They are the entertainers of the resort. They work from sun up to sun down. They are so very talented young men and women and they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and make your experience a personable one. A special thanks to Guillermo, Francisco, Irving, and Yoele you guys rock and made my family's stay a memoriable one! My next stay in Cozumel will be at Iberostar once again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank AuntManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear guest.

On behalf of the Iberostar Cozumel management and all the staff, we are very grateful for your nice comments about your experience with us!

We would also like to thank you for sharing information to other users of this web site about how our hotel works to protect our environment. Being in balance with nature is the reason that we can offer you a wonderful place to snorkel and have all the fauna living with us.

We already passed your comments on to our entertainment team in order to let them know how their efforts are recognized, especially the ones you mentioned!

We will be more than pleased to host you as many times as you decide to return to Iberostar Cozumel.

Warm regards.

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We found this place to be just perfect for our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, room very clean, and the staff amazingly fun and friendly. The food was good and there was always
quite the variety. The drinks were also tasty but make sure you ask for "extra" alcohol or top shelf. Yes, if you do your homework this is not a sandy beach to wade in. But if you enjoy the fish, bring your water shoes and get into the water via the pier. We love to snorkel and found this great place just walking distance north about 5 minutes tops called Alberto's. We discovered this place when we booked our first trip through our Apple rep called 3 Reef Tour. This tour was very good but as we found out you can just walk down to Alberto's and book your own. There were 4 of us so we were able to do excursions with just us! I would highly recommend that you request Lucio as your guide. He took us out on two more trips and was so excited to show us things, explaining the marine life and each time visiting something new and exciting. What we saw each time was absolutely gorgeous and breath-taking. And just to add, the price was right!! This was definitely the highlight of our trip! Just another overall trip tip...bring small bills for tipping.

Room Tip: Closer to beach, facing pool
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff, especially the management, we want to thank you very much for your comments about out resort; it is very nice for us to read how our services exceed the expectations of our guests.

We are very delighted for your recognition about all the work from our maids, gardeners, chefs and all our employees; we will always be pleased to assist you.

Thank you for sharing your experiences in your tours highlighting the beauty of our coral beaches and marine life and for informing other users about our pier.

We are looking forward to having the chance to host you one more time at Iberostar Cozumel.

Kind regards.

Quality Manager.
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews