We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Cozumel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$139
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel(Cozumel)
$168
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$138
$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
$98
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$198
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Secrets Aura Cozumel(Cozumel)
$291
$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
$120
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$504
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$50
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,235)
Filter reviews
5,235 results
Traveler rating
2,271
1,926
680
244
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,271
1,926
680
244
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsdressel diverspink flamingosfishsteak restaurantwater shoestenderloindive shoprooms are smalltex mexswim up barsand fleasspecialty restaurantsmattress topperrocky beachother resortsmain buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,578 - 2,583 of 5,235 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We traveled to Cozumel for a week long dive trip. Direct flight with Delta to Cozumel was nice. Ground transportation was waiting at the airport and trip to the resort was uneventful. Check in went smoothly and our room was located next to the dive shop and dock which was very convenient. The onsite dive shop is Dressel and did a great job all week. Our room was nice and kept clean all week. The different animals made from towels and flowers on the bed each day was fun. The food was good with a nice variety to pick from on the buffet. Had a great week diving with friends and plan to be back in the future.

Negatives
We went to the "steakhouse" one night. An OK steak about Ponderosa quality though.
Got up one morning to a sewage leak in the yard outside our building. Staff responded immediately and it was handled quickly.
Hair dryer in the room was not working properly but again the staff responded quickly and repaired it.

Positives
Great location near the best dive sites so we were usually one of the first boats to the sites and in the water!
Comfortable beds in a clean well laid out room.
Beautiful facility and grounds.
Very responsive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest

We really appreciate your taking the time to share your experience; this is always welcome since it provides us with very important information for our improvement.

Our personnel has been informed of your comments, and they are very happy to know that everything was smooth and enjoyable; we are glad to read that you had a wonderful time at the dive center and that you liked our cuisine, facilities and all the services that we offer to our clients.

Concerning the incident with the hair dryer and the sewage outside the room we would like to apologize profusely and will be working to avoid this kind of situations in order to avoid future incidents. We are also passing your feedback on the steak to our head chef, to work on this point.

We hope we will have the pleasure to serve you in the near future in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is overall the best resort on the island..........I have stayed at many other resorts which are good.........but Iberostar is the best.. Look forward to my return trip again very soon. Keep up the good work Iberostar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Fastboat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Client

On behalf of the General Manager and the staff at the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you for your wonderful words!

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly. It is very motivating for our co workers and the management.

We truly look forward to your next visit to your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel!

Warm Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just got back from vacation at the iberostar. It was. Very nice resort, and the food was great. The rooms were kinda small but still have enough room. Hard beds so we asked for a mattress topper and they gave us one with zero problems. Also ask for a room with one bed there's more room because there set up better. We had a blast by the pool. The pool bar had the best drinks by far. The beach was nice but you can't swim or walk in the water. We did some snorkeling from the steps of the pier and it was good at sometimes. I did find a very large barracuda about 4 foot in about 4 feet of water. Also found a couple of lobsters, a sting ray, and some very nice anemones. If during low tide you look by the beach you might find some really nice urchins. We did a dive with dressel divers and it was good. I felt safe and the video they took of the dives was very cool but kind of expensive so we didn't buy it. Town was a $20 cab ride so we only went once. The Star Friends where awesome. They made our stay awesome. The Vegas show was by far the best. Anyway I would go again if I was doing to do a lot of diving.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress topper and one bed. Also I felt better about drying my scuba gear because we were on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments about our services and facilities during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that you really enjoyed the food, accommodations, bars and all the services we offer our guests. To receive comments like yours really motivates our team to keep improving on offering the best possible service to our guests.

Concerning the situation with the beach it is true that to enter the ocean is a little rocky; the reason is our location near the most amazing reefs in the Cozumel Island and that we are inside a protected national park, so the coast line must remain natural and untouched. That is why, as you well noted, we offer our guest a ladder in the pier to make more accessible the entrance to the sea.

We look forward to your next visit to our property!

Kind Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

One of the best places to stay on the entire Island. People are friendly, the rooms are quaint, and clean. The mini fridge is kept stocked in the room. Each room has a hammock on the balcony. lots of exotic creatures and birds roaming around the well kept grounds. On the beach. If my wife was doing the cooking, it would be perfect. Other than that, you will not be disappointed. .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank chuckrwilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest

On behalf of Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to serve you and your wife; your comments are flattering and really motivate our team to keep working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

In regard to your comments about the food you can be sure that we are forwarding your comments to our head chef of the hotel in order to work on this so that our guests are all satisfied.

We are confident that we will see you in the near future in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Iberostar Cozumel in the past 2 years, we are hooked. We love coming here and just getting away from everything. The food is excellent, breakfast is the best! The staff is polite and helpful. The small bungalows make this such a more casual place than a high rise hotel.

We are divers and the onsite dive operator (Dressel) does a fantastic job. After a couple of dives it is heaven to just rinse off, jump in the pool and relax with a drink at the pool bar.

The only downside to the resort is the rough coral right at the shoreline that makes it challenging to walk into the water. That has never been an issue for us though. We love sitting in the lounges on the beach reading a book and relaxing just enjoying the view of the ocean and pier.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiDiveMotorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews