We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent diving, excellent hotel, Ok rooms”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent diving, excellent hotel, Ok rooms”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked at the Cozumel Iberostar for a SCUBA diving vacation. The diving is superb and the diveshop if well organized and the staff is very professional. The hotel location is perfect for diving and poolside ( the beach is not very interesting). The rooms are a little old the balcony and are was due for a serious overhaul (did not seem very solid). The buffet dining was as expected (good but not super) but the "a la carte" where better. Overall, If you are interested in a SCUBA diving vacation, this is the place to go in Cozumel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank SirEnigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for your recent visit to our property and for sharing your review, we really appreciate the positives comments and the ones that we can work on, as we always strive for excellence in service.

We are sharing your comments with our co workers and congratulate them for a job well done.

We are happy to read that you liked the location; as you have mentioned we are located near the most beautiful reefs in the Cozumel Island.

Regarding your comment about the balcony, humidity is really high in Cozumel, even more so than in other parts of the Caribbean, so our maintenance team work very hard to keep the wood in the best condition all year around, but we really appreciate your feedback pinpointing that area because we will be checking it closely.

We are taking your comments as a valuable tool in order to improve our services and facilities.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,045
    1,787
    632
    227
    112
See reviews for
1,443
1,770
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just home from seven days of paradise. The Star Friends do their best to keep activities going day and night. The food was good, some days better than others but enough to choose from. The pool is lovely, the pool barenders Nicolas, Gabriel and Isidro are faster than lightening and remember everyone. Nicolas made me a special pitcher of sangria, love him! The bed is hard, but not awful and the maid put towel animals and flower petals on the bed everyday. Entertainment is pleasant, these folks work very hard. Only complaint is you can not walk out into the ocean, very rocky, but beautiful beach.

Room Tip: We were in the 71 area, close to pool, beach and lunch restaurant. We had a one story building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent holidays with us.

We really appreciate your kind comments about our team, especially the bartenders, the
Entertainment staff and the chambermaids, your recognition is very important to us and our co workers are a very important element of our hotel.

As you mentioned to enter the beach area, it is a little rocky as we are located near the most beautiful reefs in the Mexican Caribbean but for that reason we offer a ladder in the pier to make more accessible the ocean to our guests.

We hope you come back again soon, it would be a pleasure!

Warm Regards

Quality Manager.
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Mold visible on the ceiling
Sign next to toilet to put used toilet paper in the waste basket, not the toilet!
Not possible to get tanks and do a check out shore dive.
No outside dive operators allowed to pick up at the dock on the property
Front desk will not change dollars to pesos unless you walk all the way back to room and bring passport
No internet service in your room
Internet service is an extra charge like $10 a day
Front desk staff not service oriented and just get to no as quickly as possible
Food is average or below

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your comments to us and the rest of the online community on your recent holidays.

Regarding all the issues you brought to our attention we would like to apologize for the misunderstandings and we want to explain certain areas without trying to excuse our selves for the aspects we need to improve on.

Concerning humidity in the bathroom, in the Caribbean but especially in the Cozumel island the humidity is higher than in the mainland so our maids have some products to eliminate the mold in the rooms and we are constantly checking this matter in order to avoid this inconveniences, however, we do apologize in case any area was not spotted and we have already forwarded this to our Housekeeping Department. Regarding the sign in the toilet, in the whole of Mexico, unfortunately the pipes are not prepared to hold toilet paper, so in order to avoid toilets to block, we, and every household uses the basket for that purpose. Apologies about the inconvenience.

As far as dive operators using our pier, we would like to explain that we do allow external companies to use it but they must first come into our administration office to bring some documentation that our Governmental entities require from us in order to continue granting the pier permissions every year.

As per the currency exchange, Law in Mexico changed in 2011 and we are not allowed now to change more than 300 USD per person per day and also not more than 3,000 cash in one month, and in order to maintain a correct administrative order we have to make a copy of the passport of the person that is changing the money because the local authorities check these files periodically. Again, we are really sorry to have bothered you with this, but it is out of our control.

Regarding wifi, we have good news! This 2013 the management is making an important investment to include the internet service in all the rooms for all our hotels in the Caribbean. That is thanks to our guests feedbacks.

We hope we were able to clarify all the points you brought to our attention and we hope you can give us the opportunity to show you our improvements!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This resort is only slightly above your average All-Inclusive resort in Mexico as food, rooms and the grounds. They had a lot of choices and many of them healthy choices but overall the food was average. The rooms are very clean but the water temp fluxuates and the pillows are hard. And I have never been to a resort where the grounds are not beautiful and well taken care of. So for me this is average. But I really owe much of my good time to the staff. They work SO HARD for very little money and always treat their quests like stars. My favorites were David the Lobby Bartender, Adrian the Beach Bar Bartender, Donatello the Disco DJ, Lucila the Lobby Buffet Hostess, and Wilbert the Lobby Buffet Waiter. Was not to fond of the Pool Bar Bartender, Nicolas. I felt he was mean and got an attitude when you requested top self for your drink.

Over all I had an awesome time and would go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Cozumel has more rocky beaches than not, I would bring hard sole shoes that you can wear in the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest

On behalf of all the staff and the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent holidays in Cozumel and for taking your time to write your review on trip advisor.

It is with big pleasure we receive your comments about our staff, we are sharing your words with them as our best reward is to learn that we made you feel like a star and like at home.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with the water temperature in your room; you can be sure that we are taking actions based on your comments in order to avoid these inconveniences in the future.

Regarding your comment about the service provided in the pool bar we are sorry to read that, as this is one of the bars that people like most but will definitely check more closely the service this person is providing as we want to be sure that everyone works on achieving the same aim, which is your complete satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback and we will wait for your next visit so we can show you our improvements.

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I were there first part of April, had a great time. We thought the food was great, the staff was very good and we met some neat people. The dive shop on sight with the pier was an added bonus. We wll be back. Thanks for a great vacation.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Client

We would like to thank you for your generous review, we feel privileged to have the opportunity to serve you. It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the holidays among us.

Thank you for your kind comments to our staff efforts your recognitions is the best reward to us and we are very happy to have contributed to making your holidays special.

We truly look forward to your next holiday in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to get away for a little break and chose a Cheap Caribbean vacation to this lovely resort. First, be aware that when you exit the airport, they try to sell you timeshare presentations! JUST SAY NO to their offers and that you only want to go to the resort.

The grounds are quite lovely and well maintained - there are peacocks, flamingos, turtles and cute parrots for pictures. The staff are extremely pleasant and friendly - good service. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. (We did change rooms since the TV and hairdryer didn't work and after 2 calls and no response, we spoke to the manager to get another room. Our next room was fine.) They do have a gym - clean but gets pretty hot! Needs better air conditioning. Pool and pool area was clean - lots of activities provided - water exercises, volleyball, etc. Beach was too rocky - you could walk on the pier and go down the ladder to snorkel if necessary.

I'm just not a buffet girl ... breakfast was quite good - choice of fresh cooked omelets and always plenty of fresh, tasty fruits; plus offered cereals, yogurt, pancakes, waffles, pastries, etc. They did have pretty good coffee! Did not care for their luncheon or dinner buffet. Be sure to make Dinner Reservations to the Steak House, Mexican Restaurant and American Restaurant where you can order off the menu - food was much better and tastier there. Service in the Steak House & Mexican Restaurant was excellent!!!

Saw many groups of Divers leaving every day. We did take a 2 hour Snorkel excursions from the resort - which was worth the $30 paid. Otherwise, you have to rent a jeep or pay $20 each way to take a taxi to town... too bad they don't offer a shuttle service for guests. I wasn't too happy to have to pay to check internet - $2 for 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Just be sure to check if everything works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I enjoyed our week at iberostar. From the moment Marcella upgraded us to the moment we left, we enjoyed the peace and quiet of this resort. The entire staff was professional and courteous and made sure our needs were met. The front desk staff is exceptional, housekeeping of the grounds was ongoing, and the star friends were entertaining. I think this would be an exceptional place for a large family gathering as there is something for everyone. Dressel divers took us snorkeling and operated in a professional manner. Only upgrade I would suggest.....the closet is very dark and it was hard to see the safe.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Customer

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Iberostar Cozumel and we would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a review.

Your feedback is very important to us and has been shared with all our staff, comments like yours are very motivating to us and our co workers.

It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our services and the facilities and it was a pleasure to have you here with us.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you once more in the future.

Kind Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
14.0 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Visit Us Inc., Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing