We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Resorts = BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Iberostar Resorts = BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've stayed at this Iberostar on 2 occasions and had a perfect time. Well maintained grounds and friendly staff. Most speak atleast some English to go with our ever growing Spanish so no probs there, in fact, it gets quite fun as they enjoy learing words from us as we learn theirs. We'vs stayed at Iberostars in other locals too and all have been top notch. Be sure and bring long pants for dinning in the specialty restaurants! (Burmuda shorts don't count)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joe-Lenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing our resort to spend your vacation and for taking the time to write your comments on your recent stay.

Your feedback is important to us and we sincerely value it, because it assists us in improving our service day after day.

We are pleased to know that you liked our environment, as a committed company in satisfying our customers, it is pleasing for us to receive your comments about the service provided as well as the customer care offered by our staff. You can be sure we will forward them so that they feel motivated.

We look forward to you next visit to your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    1,607
    581
    207
    109
See reviews for
1,238
1,557
81
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you're looking for a fun, reasonably-priced resort, Iberostar Cozumel is a great one. The best thing about it were the people. The employees are so friendly and accommodating. They make you feel special. The free-roaming peacocks, flamingos, iguanas, and cats (they even have an on-site vet to care for all the animals) were wonderful. Tons of food. I'm vegetarian and I never went hungry. The pool was awesome and I enjoyed the upbeat water aerobics. We also too advantage of the snorkeling trip which was only $45. I saw lots of starfish, sand dollars, a shark, sea turtle, stingray, many tropical fish, beautiful sea vegetation and coral. The beach was rocky so if you're looking for a white, sandy beach - this isn't the place for you. I didn't miss it though. It's easy to take a cab to town and go shopping. One night vendors from town came in with tables of silver jewelry and there was also an artist who did amazing paintings using spray paint. Like I said, prices are very reasonable so the rooms aren't brand new and mine smelled a bit musty the first day but once the a/c was on, the smell went away. I had a blast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnimalLover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for all your comments about the services we offer in the Iberostar Cozumel.

It is good to read from your review that you had a great vacation with us and that you enjoyed the different activities and the wonders the resort and the Cozumel Island has to offer. Thanks for your special mention on the wild life and food, and your kind comments on the staff.

Your feedback motivates us to continue working to improve our services. We are confident that you will return to our hotel in the future, so we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit at Iberostar Cozumel!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We read lots of reviews of Iberostar Cozumel. Excellent customer service. Beautiful grounds.
Upon entering our room, we smelled the humidity. Experienced that at other resorts in the Carribbean. Expected it. Went for the buffet that night. Thought the chef was doing leftovers night. Very dissappointed. This went on for a few days. We then witnessed the General manager and assistant manager coaching the chef on his food. Quality went up 100%. Disappointed we were restricted to 4 a la carte reservations in a 14 day stay.
Beach was beautiful. Shoreline was rocky (knew that before we came). Brought snorkel gear and boots so this wasn't a problem. Lots of marine life just off shore. Chased a barracuda, saw a rock fish and many more fish under the pier. Great service from the waiters.

Great breakfast buffet, chef cooked on the beach for lunch ( different items each day). Just dissappointed with night buffet. My wife and I are both chefs, so, we are picky.

Grounds are just awesome. Felt private. Looking forward to going again. Just, bring Off. Sand fleas are a pain (itch).

Room Tip: Beds are hard. Ask for a foam matress insert, or, drink a lot.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Costumer

On behalf of the general manager and all the staff of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your stay in Iberostar Cozumel trough Tripadvisor. They always help us improve our services toward future guests.

We value very much your feedback stating both the positive points that you found in our resort and as well as the ones where we can work on; you can be sure that we have shared them with the management team and we are taking actions to improve our quality based on your comments about the buffet and the different points you brought up to our attention.

Thank you for your kind comments about our co workers, we will congratulate them for the good job they do.

We look forward to your next visit to your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family of 4 just returned from the Iberostar Cozumel, we have vacationed in Mexico more than 10 times, 2nd time in Cozumel. Very Good value for the money we paid. I have 2 young daughters who had a great time, mainly due to the entertainment staff. They were very engaging with people of all ages and were a very energetic and talented bunch. Special mention to Milexa, Fransisco and Johal, they were outstanding!!!Food was good, there was always plenty of food at all meals, not a great A La Carte selection though. Resort was small to moderate in size which we loved, everything was easily accessible. The grounds were envirnomentally beautiful with flamingos, igwanas, turtles, peacocks, well manicured and maintained. Rooms were dated, but clean, cleaning staff did an excellent job. Our biggest disappointment was the beach, horrible, could only enter off the peer, snorkelling was satisfactory. Overall, we enjoyed our family vacation very much, the kids had an awsome and memorable time, and we met some great people.

Room Tip: Request a room near the pool, therfore you get access to the pool and beach, 5 minute walk to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very happy to hear that you and your family had a great time at the Iberostar Cozumel and enjoyed the services provided by the hotel.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings and all the different services that we offer. It is also fantastic that our employees made your stay so enjoyable; we will compliment them for all their hard work, especially the entertainment team Milixa, Francisco and Yohel. It will be very encouraging for them to learn that you appreciated their effort so much.

Regarding the beach issue, as you said, we have a pier ladder to enter the ocean because the beach entrance is rocky. It is a natural protected area located by the reefs and we cannot alter it in any way. It is part of the charm of Cozumel! However we respect your opinion, of course not everybody has to like it.

We are confident that you will be staying again at the hotel Iberostar Cozumel, we look forward to having you back!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Of the several resorts I've visited, Iberostar Cozumel compares to none. Even of the several Iberostar's....this is my favorite. Separate bungalows, jungle setting, southern point of the island, secluded, beautiful beach, Albertos is a walk away down the beach, staff, food....Was there in August, going back this month. Can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKCSUNSHINE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff we would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and also for taking the time to write your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor on your stay with us.

It is gratifying to read from your review that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings and that you had a nice time with employees; we will especially compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests and your words will be inspiring and motivational for them.

We look forward to your visit. Please let us know, as we would like to meet you in person!

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were invited to Cozumel for a wedding. Having never stayed in the area before, we did not really know what to expect.

The only really disappointment we encountered was the beach, or lack there of. Cozumel is a diver's paradise. The entire island is a coral reef and lacks sandy beaches with the exception of a couple on the East side.

This resort was incredible. We loved how the rooms are laid out. Small round buildings with no more that four rooms in each. The rooms are small, but clean and fresh linens each day if you so desire. The small refrigerator was stocked each day with coke and water and beer.

The food was good. It is mostly buffet, but still hot and delicious. You can reserve meals at the restaurants a couple of times, based on how long you stay. These meals are great and should not be missed.

Snorkling is a must. There are lots of fish and starfish that hang out under the pier.

I think the best thing about this resort was the nightly entertainment. The Star Friends put in some hard work to give you the best show. They involve the crowd and make it extremely fun to watch.

Rent a car and drive around the island. It's not far around and we did this trip in just a couple of hours. Stopping at many of the bars on the other side of the island for a drink.

We also took the ferry to the mainland and visited Playa del Carmen. It has a beautiful beach and lots of resaurants and bars to visit. It is a very beautiful town. It is worth the trip.

I don't understand some of the negative reviews. We had no problems with any of the food, staff, entertainment, rooms, etc. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mabelbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Costumer

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you by choosing Iberostar Cozumel for your recent vacation and also for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed our food and services, as well as the hotel’s grounds. We are also delighted to hear that we have contributed to making your holiday special; we will forward your comments to our employees and congratulate them, especially the entertainment team for the excellent work they make.

Regarding your comment about the beach, it is true that the entrance to the water is rocky, as we are located near the reef (natural protected area), however there is a pier with a ladder to access the sea.

We are sure that for your next vacation you will not hesitate to give us the opportunity to serve you again at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our room had a strong smell of mold. We washed all our clothes when we came back. I have never experienced something like this before.
The worst entertainment seen so far. We saw a lot of kitch in the caribbean resort, but this is the worst by far.
Bad kitchen. Not too many choices. Same food every day. They don't have even a real restaurant for a-la-carte. They transform the buffet area in a restaurant.
Bottom line: we expected more for the buck we paid. Especially during the Christmas period when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
6 Thank Andida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at Iberostar Cozumel.

Accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

We are sorry to hear that you had a negative impression about our cuisine and the entertainment; we would like to let you know that we have shared your comments with Management and our Chef in order work on each area. We always strive for service excellence so we always welcome feedback like yours. Regarding the room, if you can provide us with some more information about the dates of your stay or the room number we will fix the problem immediately. We do have a maintenance program all year around but due to our location by the sea, it can be challenging to stop humidity from coming in.

Regarding the a la carte restaurants, it is true that the restaurant by the pool is the buffet during the day and the steak house restaurant in the evenings. We also have the Mexican restaurant and the Star Rock restaurant located near the lobby area, which are solely used for that purpose.

It saddens us to hear you have decided to do not return to our resort, but if you change your mind in the future, we will be more than glad to welcome you and show you the changes made.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 3,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Occidental Grand Cozumel
8.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
6.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing