We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iberostar Cozumel”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Iberostar Cozumel”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Spent Thanksgiving week at the Iberostar. Had a great time. The resort is beautiful. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Not much room for clothes if you have 4 people in the room. The snorkeling is fantastic right off the pier-we saw sting rays, barracuda,spiny lobsters and all kinds of tropical fish. There is a $2/person/day charge to get snorkeling equipment or kayaks because the resort is located in a national park or something. The pool was really nice but a little cool since we had more cloudy than sunny weather. We've stayed a 2 other resorts in cozumel that the beach was nicer as far as not rocky but you can't beat the snorkeling at the iberostar. This was the 3rd iberostar we have stayed at and have always had great service. If you don't like hard beds, make sure to request mattress toppers-they made a big difference. The steak house was really good-the best out of the ala carte restaurants. Lots of wildlife here and the kids loved the cats that hang around in the restaurants. Very well behaved for stray cats. There is a nice gift shop at the resort if you don't make it into town and there is also some nice ones in the departure area of the airport. The entertainment staff was great-always trying to get people to do the activities. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skunk911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,050
    1,789
    633
    227
    112
See reviews for
1,445
1,775
91
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I like this resort, it has more of a village feel to it. The rooms are nice well laid out in small buildings scattered about the grounds. No bath tub but most people like showers after all there's great pools and an ocean right there! Food here is fantastic compared to the Occidental Grand next door, great selection of cheeses, deserts, foods, and so on. Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner in main dining rooms are great. Staff are friendly, rooms are kept clean and when something isn't right they get right on it. The dive group is second to none so if you're a diver you are diving with the best. This place has a very comfortable atmosphere and is a good value. The Beach is not that great rocky so if you like to wade into the ocean, you'll have to walk down the beach a bit.

Room Tip: so many choices, ground, or 2nd up to you, I enjoyed the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Client

On behalf of all the staff and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Cozumel and for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

Its cause of satisfaction that you like our food and the service that we have to offer and it motivates us to continue improving.

We are delighted to hear that we have contributed to make your holiday special, we will inform our employees your comments and how they formed part of you happiness.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel.

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I recently returned to the Iberostar after a three year absence.The grounds are still lush and well maintained. The rooms are uniquely shaped and do not have a great deal of storage space. As others have commented the beds are hard, ask for the mattress pad, if you want a softer sleep. Wifi is charged for, and only available in the front desk area, charges are about $7.50/US/ Hr .The two main differences we noted between our two visits were: 1) Customer service in the restaurants was definitely lacking this time. Glasses were left unfilled, pans of food were left empty, and signage denoting what each dish contained was missing. At one point I ate an unidentified salad that had the hottest (spicy) pepper I have ever eaten. It would have been nice to know this was extremely spicy befor choosing it. We ate at the Steakhouse and had the usual Caribbean beef... tough, real tough. But as an example of the lacking in food service, the steakhouse served a whole baked turkey on Thanksgiving Day,It was not carved, nor were any utensils put out to allow anyone to carve it. Personnel wise it appears that no one we remembered from our previous trip was still there. All in all, we had a nice time, but I believe there are some things definitely lacking, that management needs to address, before we will return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2barefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have givien us by choosing our hotel one more time for your recent holidays and for taking the time to write a review in trip advisor in how your holidays went.

I apologize for all the inconveniences you encounter during your stay at our hotel.

We are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the restaurant & food. We have already shared it with our chef and restaurant manager in order to improve and enhance quality. Indeed, your well being and your entire satisfaction is our primary goal.

We take well consideration about all the concern issues you brought up to our attention, and we will definitely work on them, special the ones about the food and restaurant.

Finally, we have opportunities to improve and we will use this feedback as a learning tool, we would be honored to welcome you back at Iberostar Cozumel and show you our improvements.

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depew
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

his was our 4th stay at this wonderful resort,and if anything it got better each time.You name it we loved it.The staff would do virtually anything to make us happy,and it worked,I could not name one person over another,landscaping,pool care,general maintainance,room care,cooks,servers,hosts,entertainers,bartenders,cleanup-the care was phenominal!!!My husband dives with Dive with Martin were as usual awesome,while I stayed back with all the great hotel people,never a dull moment there,always a class or sport,and we loved their "Hey Baby"presentation.The food was always just right,and provided with great care.Not too big a resort yet spaced so you felt you were walking through many well set up gardens,wonderful nightly strolls.Early a.m. the beaches were well groomed and ready for another fun day.I watched many families excitedly head to the beach daily,and return to enjoy the pools later in the day,always to eat their hearts out at the pool or in their beautiful dining room.We have taken,and loved all the tours before,but enjoy hearing people say that they are still very enjoyable.The front desk was extremly helpful any time we needed them,their responses were almost instantanious .We hated to take off our braclets after our 2 week stay,but are already looking forward to another 2 weeks next year.Loved you all Iberostar friends.Excellente!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at iberostar Cozumel and to share with us and the rest of the online community your comments about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings. It is an honor that you had a nice time with our employees; we will especially compliment them for all their effort.

We will pass your comments to our employees and will congratulate them as they have contributed to make your holidays special once more.

We are confident to see you soon here at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel staff & entertainment staff really go out of their way to make your stay a very pleasurable experience. You never worry about getting boared, there are lots of various activities to do all day or just sit in a lounge on the beach or by the pool & they will serve you drinks right there. The food variety was great and the quality good. Our only small grumble was lighting and directional signs on the walkways from our room to the lobby & facilities, we got lost on the winding pathways often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank thebrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at iberostar Cozumel and to share with other travelers your opinion about your recent holidays.

We are especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings. It is an honor that you had a nice time with our employees; we will especially compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

We will share your comments with all our personal and will congratulate them has they formed part of your wellbeing

Regarding your comments about the signs and lighting, will take them in consideration as we always strive for a better service to our clients.

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just returned from 7 days of fun in the sun here. We traveled with 9 others( 11 all togetheer) and had a blast. Dove and snorkeled with Martin, then went to Chankanaub and snorkled as well. The Star Friends kept us entertained as well as the bartenders!!!!!!! Food was good, however, we don't nessarily pick vacation spots based on that........was tough to leave!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a mattress pad upon arrival.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelsonlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the general manager and all the hotel staff we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Cozumel and for taking the time to share your valuables reviews about your recent stay with us.

It’s gratifying to hear that you and your friends had a unforgettable experience at Cozumel island and that all of you like the different activities as snorkel and dive, we feel honored to know you felt like a star at Iberostar.

We will inform the star friend’s team and the bartenders that they have formed part of your happiness and make your holidays special.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends in the near future at you home away from home Iberostar Cozumel.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've been to the Mayan Riviera now for about 7 years, and stayed at about 10 locations. We thought this was one of the best yet for price and just plain charm. Relatively small, great food and service, and the dive center is amazing (separate review). The flamingo's are cool, and the peacocks wandering around even stopped by our room a few times to keep us company.
I'm rating this a 5 as we had an excellent and relaxing stay, the property is very cool and it's a great deal. This shouldn't be confused with a 5 star hotel, which is 10x the cost and none of the character.
Remember this is Mexico, in general the beds are hard, the wine is generic, things fall apart in the humidity, and lizards are everywhere. It's part of the charm!
There have been other reviews, so just some general impressions: the resort is pretty laid back, not a big party place, probably as the divers need to get their rest for the 8AM dive sched. Most guests seem to be 30+, not too many kids. The resort was about 30% full during our stay according to one of the Star Friends, but it was slow season, and expected to pick up quickly. The beach is beautiful sand, but the waters edge is definitely rocky and that continues out to the end of the swimming area, don't bother with water shoes just use the steps at the pier. If you're a snorkeler (we are), you will be disappointed as there is nothing to see offshore other than a few fish under the pier. In that case, you can take a tour (chac-choc) that will pick you up at the pier for a few hours at Columbia and Palancar, as well as a shallow area Cielo for starfish. You can buy a pic package and they will take your picture with conch, starfish etc while you swim around, worth the $30.. Arrange at the tour desk in the lobby. You can also arrange other tours, we rented a jeep for the day and drove around the island, stopping at various beaches and cantinas. Just us on a beach for miles on the east side, brilliant.
Roads are easy to drive, but downtown San Miquel can be pretty busy and a bit chaotic. Pay parking machines are also in English!
We got quite a few bug bites, heard they were from sand fleas, so take some repellent.
Wifi isn't free, you pay depending on how much access you need, you can get a login at the front desk, cost isn't too much.

Room Tip: Ground level floors in these small villas can be musty, 2nd floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rockyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff and the general manager of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel for your recent vacation.

We are especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel’s settings and surroundings. It is an honor that you had a nice time with employees; we will especially compliment them for all their effort. Our team is constantly working to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

It’s gratifying to hear that you had a great experience at the resort and that you like the different activities the island has to offer

We are confident that you will be staying again at our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,636 reviews
14.0 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Visit Us Inc., Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing