We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Poplar Grove, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We come to Iberostar Cozumel twice a year .. And have always enjoyed seeing friends and have always been treated extremely well by the staff . A huge change for the better in the Star Friends team . They are much more upbeat then on our March visit .. Always friendly and with badly needed renewed energy. New Star Friends manager Joel is both Professional, friendly and outgoing .. The best I have ever seen! Every morning he greets guests by name and usually in their own language! and it continues throughout the day by his entire team! Cannot say enough how much this has improved the Iberostar Cozumel experience as guests .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Client

On behalf of the general manager and the hotel staff we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel for your recent holidays once more and for taking the time to write your comments on your stay.

We feel honored to have contributed to make your holiday perfect once more, it’s strengthens our determination to hear you have felt like a star in iberostar.

I would like to inform you that will congratulate Yohel and his team as they have formed part of your happiness and wellbeing

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    1,604
    581
    206
    109
See reviews for
1,234
1,552
81
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent an all inclusive week at the resort, with 5 days of diving, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff is superb - friendly, well trained, attentive. Food and drink were high quality, fresh, varied and presented well. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank lgreifenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the general manager of the Iberostar Cozumel we would like to thank you for choosing our property for your recent holidays and for taking the time to write your review in tripadvisor about how your holidays went.

It’s gratifying to have contributed to make your holidays special and to read that you intent to return to our hotel as you have felt like a star at Iberostar

We will inform our employees that they have formed part of making your holidays special.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My second time here, so I knew what to expect. If anything, dive operation has improved! I like the rooms, the property layout (although it IS a long haul from one end to the other!), the wide variety of food offered. Meals are not inspired, but there is so much to choose from no one should go hungry or get bored. I enjoy the attention of the cats in the dining room, the peacocks on your porch, the iguanas lurking in the bushes. Pretty grounds are designed to slow you down, not make "commuting" efficient. The resort provides optimal access to Palancar Reef. If you are into nightlife or town activities, you may not enjoy the relatively remote location (stiff taxi $ to town). A general complaint at this hotel is the rather ridiculous fees for Internet ($5 half hour, $15 day, $65 for the week) and the extremely limited coverage (lobby/pool restaurant) - NO in-room coverage. If you forget that and just relax it's a great place and the diving is spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalypsoReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear client

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel on your recent vacation and also for taking your time to write your comments for us and the rest of the online community.

It is a cause of satisfaction to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our hotel and that you enjoy the surroundings.

We will share your comments to our employees as they formed part of your wellbeing and we will congratulate the employees of the dive center.

Regarding the internet service, in 2013 we are planning to have internet service in all the guest rooms as we always strive for a better service.

We are confident that you will be staying again at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked our trip using CheapCarribean.com Iberostar did not disappoint! The reviews we read here were very helpful. It's true, it's not easy/comfortable to walk out into the water, but going down the pier & down the stairs to snorkle or swim was easy enough. The beach was beautiful with food & drink VERY nearby. We ordered a mattress pad for the hard bed & were much happier after that.

We did a day trip to Tulum & Xel-ha it was nice, but we probably could have done it on our own without the tour guides & time limits. The snorkling at the Iberostar pier was as good if not better than Xel-ha! Tulum was awesome...sitting in a bus for 2 hours wasn't so cool (even though it was air-conditioned!)

We also did a snorkle trip from the pier (booked with Dressel Drivers on site at Iberostar) $40 per person got us out on a scuba boat with over an hour of snorkeling in 2 different dive spots (2 hours total) we were lucky enough to see sea turtles and DOLPHINS!! It was AWESOME!! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: ask for that mattress pad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NMBuckaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cozumel on your recent vacation and also for taking your time to send us your comments on your experience with our property.

We are glad to hear that your holiday has been marvelous and that you have a good time with our employees and that you like the grounds.

It’s cause of satisfaction to perceive that you felt like a star at Iberostar

We will share with our employees your comments and how important they are as we always work to offer a better service.

We hope to see you again at Iberostar Cozumel.

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

IBEROSTAR LIVE CHAT
→do you have wifi at your resort?

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: which resort?

- Iberostar Cozumel

→are there charges for wifi?

→or free fro guests

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: with additional charge of $15USD per day

→oh, we usually have free wifi at the other resorts in the lobby area

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: unfortunatelynot at Iberostar Cozumel
→too bad, makes a big difference

→15$ us per day is very excessive, espcially when other resorts offer it to their guests as a courtesy.. very disapointing,for connecting with family and would have been great for marketing your resorts through social network...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank confused C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights and six days at the Iberostar during October. It is a quiet time of year and the resort was not very busy. Most of the people there were divers and we had a very nice time there.

We found our bungalow very comfortable. The bed is VERY firm which I like. If you do not, be sure to get the foam top they offered upon our arrival. The A/C worked fine. We were able to adjust it to "just right".

From our arrival to departure, we found all the staff helpful and friendly. Whatever questions we had were answered and whatever we asked for was provided. We live in a resort community and are attuned to guest services through our own businesses and this resort has done a fine job with hiring and training. Excellent people.

The food ranged from very good to excellent. At every meal there were many choices and we were always able to find tasty options. Make no mistake, this is not a gourmet experience, but the food was fresh, tasty and nearly always available. Because it was off season and occupancy was low, the theme restaurants were not open regularly. The steak house was open for a steak night and was very good but was not open the other nights.

My wife is a diver and really enjoyed the diving. If you are not a diver there are a number of other activities, but hopefully you like to read or sunbathe. This is an excellent dive resort but other activities a bit limited.

Downsides: Wireless is available but only in the main lobby area and is expensive. Really? Wireless should be included! I wish hot coffee was available from an hour earlier in the morning. The food service crew is in there getting ready why can't they turn on the coffee first?

Room Tip: Not sure if you can choose rooms at this resort. We liked being close to the beach, but it is a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SCPSteamboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers your experience at our hotel

We are honored to have contributed to an unforgettable holiday

Regarding your comment about the coffee in the mornings I would like to inform you that we are passing your comment to our food and beverage manager and will definetely will work on it.

We will congratulate our employees as they have contributed to make your holiday special

We are confident that you will be staying again at our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just got back Wednesday from Cozumel. We stayed at the Iberostar and it was fantastic. The service is exceptional, food was good with a great variety. It was very clean. I love the layout which makes you feel like you are walking pathways through the wilderness.The wildlife is amazing. We are already planning to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We were close to the pool and could see the ocean from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LouAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Cozumel

We would like to thank you for taking the time share with us and the rest of the online community your experience with Iberostar Cozumel

We are glad to have provide you with a outstanding holidays

Its cause of satisfaction to see you had a wonderful time with the employees and that you like our food & grounds

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 3,361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Occidental Grand Cozumel
8.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
6.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing