We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Something to consider, just an FYI - ...beware of $15 US per day wifi charge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something to consider, just an FYI - ...beware of $15 US per day wifi charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

IBEROSTAR LIVE CHAT
→do you have wifi at your resort?

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: which resort?

- Iberostar Cozumel

→are there charges for wifi?

→or free fro guests

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: with additional charge of $15USD per day

→oh, we usually have free wifi at the other resorts in the lobby area

IBEROSTAR-LCSUP: unfortunatelynot at Iberostar Cozumel
→too bad, makes a big difference

→15$ us per day is very excessive, espcially when other resorts offer it to their guests as a courtesy.. very disapointing,for connecting with family and would have been great for marketing your resorts through social network...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank confused C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    1,627
    589
    210
    110
See reviews for
1,275
1,578
83
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights and six days at the Iberostar during October. It is a quiet time of year and the resort was not very busy. Most of the people there were divers and we had a very nice time there.

We found our bungalow very comfortable. The bed is VERY firm which I like. If you do not, be sure to get the foam top they offered upon our arrival. The A/C worked fine. We were able to adjust it to "just right".

From our arrival to departure, we found all the staff helpful and friendly. Whatever questions we had were answered and whatever we asked for was provided. We live in a resort community and are attuned to guest services through our own businesses and this resort has done a fine job with hiring and training. Excellent people.

The food ranged from very good to excellent. At every meal there were many choices and we were always able to find tasty options. Make no mistake, this is not a gourmet experience, but the food was fresh, tasty and nearly always available. Because it was off season and occupancy was low, the theme restaurants were not open regularly. The steak house was open for a steak night and was very good but was not open the other nights.

My wife is a diver and really enjoyed the diving. If you are not a diver there are a number of other activities, but hopefully you like to read or sunbathe. This is an excellent dive resort but other activities a bit limited.

Downsides: Wireless is available but only in the main lobby area and is expensive. Really? Wireless should be included! I wish hot coffee was available from an hour earlier in the morning. The food service crew is in there getting ready why can't they turn on the coffee first?

Room Tip: Not sure if you can choose rooms at this resort. We liked being close to the beach, but it is a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SCPSteamboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers your experience at our hotel

We are honored to have contributed to an unforgettable holiday

Regarding your comment about the coffee in the mornings I would like to inform you that we are passing your comment to our food and beverage manager and will definetely will work on it.

We will congratulate our employees as they have contributed to make your holiday special

We are confident that you will be staying again at our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just got back Wednesday from Cozumel. We stayed at the Iberostar and it was fantastic. The service is exceptional, food was good with a great variety. It was very clean. I love the layout which makes you feel like you are walking pathways through the wilderness.The wildlife is amazing. We are already planning to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We were close to the pool and could see the ocean from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LouAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Cozumel

We would like to thank you for taking the time share with us and the rest of the online community your experience with Iberostar Cozumel

We are glad to have provide you with a outstanding holidays

Its cause of satisfaction to see you had a wonderful time with the employees and that you like our food & grounds

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first time to this resort and we loved it! The rooms were great: the maid did a wonderful job each day, cleaning the room while we were out diving. The dive shop staff were fantastic and the reefs were beautiful. The food was very good- especially Mexican night! The fish was fantastic. The bars in the lobby and poolside were well stocked and the barstaff were very attentive. We will defintely be back. Thank you Iberostar!

Room Tip: Ask for a matress topper as this will make the bed much more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineR901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Cozumel

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your stay at our hotel

We are pleased to hear that you have felt like a star at Iberostar Cozumel

Its cause of satisfaction to see you had a wonderful time with the employees and that you like our food & grounds

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malnate, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed there for two weeks during our holyday, last July.
The staff were extremely kind and helpful.
A special thanks to our friend Gabriel from the beach bar!
The bars and the restaurants, both the buffet and "a la carte" restaurants, were excellent! (expecially the steak-house, try it!)
We just wanna suggest to the management to expand, if possible, the supply of food in the buffet restaurant, offering perhaps occasionally some lobster and more tropical fruits (Papaya, Mango, Passion Fruit...).
The sea was unbelievable, a real carribean dream! Crystalline and blue, full of tropical fishes and starfish.
The pool was nice and quite big, not too much crowed.
The room was clean and confortable.
Maybe needed a little of maintenance (in particular in the bathroom) but I have to say that the staff was already working for it, in some rooms! I think that, in a short time, the hotel would be perfect!
Sure we advise it, if you're looking for a perfect vacation in Cozumel!

Room Tip: The room next to the pool are the best ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ale3ena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Client

On behalf of the hotel staff, and particularly the general manager we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Cozumel

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your recent stay at our hotel

It’s cause of satisfaction to have provided you with a perfect holiday.

We will share with Gabriel and the rest of our employees how important were their work for you and that they have formed part of your wellbeing

Regarding your comments about the food, I would like to inform you that we passed your comments to our chef and we will start working for your next visit

We are confident that you will stay again at your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have been to Cozumel a number of times but this was our first stay @ Iberostar & was very happy w/ the experience. As divers, we like to stay near the best dive locations & on Cozumel that is the south end of the island where Iberostar is located. There is also an on-site dive operation (Dressel Divers) w/ dock, large boats & English-speaking divemasters.

Rooms are air-conditioned cabana-style & very nice w/ TV & limited cable. Wifi, which is rather slow, is only available in the lobby & costs appx. $3 per hour.

Buffet dining is the rule, & variety was very good. There are two 'reservation-only' restaurants @ the resort but the continuous buffet was good enough for my group. Fridges in rooms are restocked daily, including beer & several on-site bars complete the scene.

Oceanfront provides snorkelling off the dock & a large pool w/ swim-up bar provides wet entertainment. Taxis are always available @ the front desk & cars or Jeeps can be rented also. Note that a taxi ride to town costs $20 US!

All in all, a great relaxing place I would stay at again!

Room Tip: Be prepared to do a lot of walking as the grounds are rather large & spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank conchasdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar and for taking the time to write a review for tripdadvisor about how your holiday went at the Iberostar Cozumel.

We are glad to hear that you had a special vacation and that we have contributed to our guest happiness

We are confident that you will be staying again at our hotel Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tenth time here, just keeps getting better. Not crowded, weather fantastic. Staff from check-in to check-out was outstanding, friendly, and competent.
The food has actually improved; with my favorite being the seafood dishes that were varied and fantastic. At one lunch there were 3 types of ceviche; as well as several types of grilled seafood.
Beach is well maintained. Wildlife on the grounds was great, with Flamingos, Peacocks, Iguanas, Parrots, and Cats.
Will always come back to the Iberostar!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank osohub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Client

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us to serve you once more at you hotel Iberostar Cozumel & to share with us and the rest of the online community your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel.

It’s a cause of satisfaction to have contributed to make your holidays special and to know you have felt like a star at Iberostar Cozumel

We will share your comments to our employees and will congratulate them as they formed part of your happiness

We are confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar Cozumel, your home away from home.

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 3,401 reviews
8.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Occidental Grand Cozumel
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and VISIT US, INC. so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing