We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
$302
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$306
$248
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$172
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$139
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$155
$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$504
$454
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,268)
Filter reviews
5,268 results
Traveler rating
2,292
1,933
682
247
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,292
1,933
682
247
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsdressel diverspink flamingosfishsteak restaurantwater shoestenderloindive shoprooms are smalltex mexswim up barsand fleasspecialty restaurantsmattress topperrocky beachother resortsmain buffet
Filter
Updating list...
2,853 - 2,858 of 5,268 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tenth time here, just keeps getting better. Not crowded, weather fantastic. Staff from check-in to check-out was outstanding, friendly, and competent.
The food has actually improved; with my favorite being the seafood dishes that were varied and fantastic. At one lunch there were 3 types of ceviche; as well as several types of grilled seafood.
Beach is well maintained. Wildlife on the grounds was great, with Flamingos, Peacocks, Iguanas, Parrots, and Cats.
Will always come back to the Iberostar!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are preferable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank osohub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Client

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us to serve you once more at you hotel Iberostar Cozumel & to share with us and the rest of the online community your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel.

It’s a cause of satisfaction to have contributed to make your holidays special and to know you have felt like a star at Iberostar Cozumel

We will share your comments to our employees and will congratulate them as they formed part of your happiness

We are confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar Cozumel, your home away from home.

Greetings

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed Oct 26 - Nov. 2. Was a great time for our fifth trip here. (Last trip was only okay...they improved back to Iberostar standards again.)

Check-in staff were okay, Friendly and informative, but seemed to rush through some things.

Food - Very good at the buffet. Even though it was slow we were able to eat at one al-a-carte restaurant (steakhouse). The other one was only open on Friday (The Mexican one) which was our travel day, but they did the same food at the buffet one other night so we didn't miss out.

I wish they would change their restaurant reservation system. Booking them from 9 am -1 pm is crazy when a lot of people are diving at this time.

Rooms are good (simple) as well. Maids keep them quite clean (thanks Elaina) and well stocked. Ask for a mattress pad for the bed as they are very hard. Quite common in this area. Only issue was cool water in the mornings when we cleaned up before breakfast. We didn't mention it since we showered in afternoon or evenings. The morning we left we also had hot water. Strange, but our friends had the same issue.

Too tired from diving so we didn't go to any shows. Wish they had more entertainement in the lobby bar area at night.

Internet (their computers) is a hassle, but for a couple of dollars to keep in touch with family is not a big deal.

Bartenders are all good and friendly. Gaspar is great and we remembered him from trips past. Wish they had a little better Tequila selection (no anejo) and when they ran out of Havana Club the first night we arrived, didn't see anymore the rest of the week. (I did request it for the next couple nights, but no luck. I gave up.)

Dressel Divers is great as well. Sophie, Chris, Sven, Doug, Naza all very professional and patient dive masters that we were lucky enough to dive with. All the staff was courteous and friendly, not to mention informed. "Hi" to all of them and safe dives everyone.

Room Tip: We are divers and like to be close to the dive shop. An upper floor is nice so when it rains your walkway doesn't flood out. Some rooms have limited ocean view as well, but most are jungle/garden view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ma_golfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the general manager and the hotel staff, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel once more & to send us your comments on your experience with Iberostar Cozumel

We are pleased to hear that you had a fabulous holiday; it’s gratifying to know that we have contributed to our guest happiness

We will congratulate Elaine, Gaspar as they have formed part of your wellbeing.

Regarding your comments about the night entertainment we are passing your comment to our entertainment manager, will start working inmediately as we always strive for excellence in our service

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, in your home away from home Iberostar Cozumel

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

this is the perfect place to wind down and have a great time diving with fantastic reefs great staff at Dressel divers it could not have been better thank you to all the staff at Dressel divers and at the Iberostar they really take great care you and see to your every need.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trevorjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just came back from my annual Cozumel trip with the dive buddies. We typically stay at the Sabor, but Ibeostar price was the same so we gave it a shot. We had a very nice room ocean and pool view. The food ( especilly lunch buffet) was very good we like sevitchi. A nice touch was the room mini bar. Here are the draw backs of the resort: too long distance walk to lobby, no Bar with atmosphere that folks hang around ( Sabor has a nice bar on the beach), and small beach with rocks.
If you want a quiet place with good service this is an excellent show
Kudos to star team that tried to entertain , but most folks went to bed by 8:00.

Room Tip: Stayed at 1212 and liked it, good pool and ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank galedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My adult daughter & I stayed at the IB Cozumel from October 13 to 20 and had a fabulous time. Though we’ve stayed at a number of other IB resorts in Mexico & Dominican Republic, this was our first stay in Cozumel. We haven’t stayed at an Iberostar resort for several years, but find their resorts to be consistently good, and the IB Cozumel is no exception. Though older and smaller than many other resorts, it is very charming with the same great service and beautifully landscaped grounds & wildlife.

On arrival we were greeted warmly, served a cold beer, and quickly shown to our room. Our unit was on the second floor, room 2412, which was convenient to the pool, beach, restaurants, and lobby. Also, we were far enough away from the theater that we were never bothered by noise. Our air conditioner worked well. The room had some upgrades to the shower, with a glass enclosure and modern shower head. We always had plenty of hot water. (Remember that C is for caliente in Spanish!) The TV was a modern flatscreen, but we never turned it on. Due to the older construction, there is a shortage of wall outlets, so don’t forget a power strip if you have lots of electronics. The beds are hard, but we didn’t really mind them. The maid kept our room immaculate with clean sheets and fresh towels daily and outdid herself with towel sculptures.

Food was similar to what we’ve experienced at other Iberostar resorts. I didn’t notice a decrease in quality since the last time we visited an IB resort. Being a Spanish chain, the food is not American! I really enjoyed trying new dishes. Even if you’re a picky eater, you will find something to eat. Desserts are fantastic as is the bread! Due to low occupancy (20%), the a la carte restaurants were open only on Thursday & Friday. We ate at the Mexican, and had some delicious Tacos al Pastor and enjoyed sampling the dishes on the buffet. On Friday, we ate at the Steakhouse, and enjoyed the Beef Plate, which was flank steak. Again, the dishes on the buffet were delicious. Breakfasts at the main buffet and lunch at the poolside buffet also provided lots of choices.

Due to low occupancy, there was no problem getting beach or pool chairs. The beach was deserted, and the beach bar was closed, so we spent most time at the pool, enjoying the pool bar and conversations with the other guests. We met many wonderful people and have some great new friends! The staff was also friendly. Alfonso, Nicholas & Aaron took great care of us at the bar. Alfonso knew how we liked our margaritas and made them special for us! The Star Friends were also fun, but not pushy about activities. Mario did a great water aerobics class & was lots of fun. We also enjoyed visiting with Guillermo, Stassy, and Jorge who joined us at breakfast or lunch. Juan was excellent at the lobby bar. These folks work very hard to make sure your vacation is enjoyable. Both the guests and employees we met made this vacation very special and we look forward to returning.

Weather was great the week we were there with one cloudy day and a little rain here & there. Due to the humidity, there were sand fleas & mosquitos. Be sure to bring bug spray with DEET. I don’t think anything else works.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cabushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews