We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving Resort”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Loved the complex with its luxurious vegetation, pink flamands and iguanas. We are scuba diving divers and we thought that was a real advantage to have Dressels Divers right on the complex. Don't miss out on paying an extra $150 for a private romantic dinner in one of the villa. We had our own cook and server and it was sooooooooo Romantic.

Have fun!!! Beware that beach lover will be disappointed because the ocean is full of corals. It's impossible to run from the beach into the ocean. You have to use the dock to go swimming.

Room Tip: Chose a second level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabelle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,836 - 2,842 of 5,071 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband, daughter (18) and myself traveled with another couple and their 18 year old daughter the last week of March and stayed at the Iberostar Coz.....GREAT TIME WAS HAD BY ALL!!!! This resort is absolutely lovely. The grounds are unmatched. It was wonderful to just wander around as it felt like being in a quaint jungle village. Lots of photo ops for flora and fauna. From the moment we arrived the staff was exceptional! I believe this to be part of the Cosz culture as well as a smaller resort. Everyone from the entertainment staff to the wait staff was very friendly and always accomodating. The food was fine...not out of this world but good. The speciality resteraunts were nice in that we were waited on and it was a change from the buffet. Though the buffet offered a variety of choices. If you are looking for a gourmet experience this is not the place for you (go to Coz Palace). If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, fun all around great vacation then this is the place for you. The beach is a bit rocky but always beautiful to look out at the ocean. Snorkeling was good right off the pier. We wandered down the beach a hundred yards or so and discovered Albertos....FUNSVILLE!!!! Great place to enjoy some nachos and a bucket or two of Corona. Pass on the lobster (okay but not worth the money). The rooms were totally adequate. Loved the porches and hammocks. The pools were lovely. If you wanted activitiy you could find it and if you wanted quiet you could find that as well. This was simply a lovely holiday and I would definately go back especially if I were traveling with family and friends.

Room Tip: We were in 2203, 2201 and 2103 all had lovely views of the ocean and were conviently located by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvs2paint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I loved it here it was placed at such a good snorkeling place I even saw a baby octopus! It is the best place ever so anyone reading this...GO TO IBEROSTAR COZUMEL!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob10456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We visited in Jan. 2012 and very thing was very clean. I was even impressed with the gardening. Everyone was very kind and helpful. We loved or stay. There was also great snorkling right off the pier we saw tons of fish, starfish, and 2 stingrays! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ness825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time, enjoyed every bit of our stay here. Rooms smelled a bit musty but we were prepared for that, and had brought along some febreze. :-) We were lucky to enjoy a long, 8 night stay, but of course made the food choices not so appealing after about the 5th day. Food was not outstanding but was very decent and abundant. I think lunch was our least favorite meal of the day....but this makes sense that they would put out less effort since most guests were out and about for that meal. Rooms were comfortable, staff was incredible, grounds beautiful. Would definitely stay here again, if we get to revisit Cozumel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hjcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Iberostar resort Cozumel is very dependent on staff for a quality vacation experience.By comparison with other resorts (we usually stay in cancun), the living accomodations are dated and quite spartan. individual 2 and 4 unit concrete w/ thatch roof structures give it a kind of "Smurf village" atmosphere. No dresser with drawers , just a closet with some cubbies,no DVD player or flat screen TV here, mediocre to poor water pressure in stand up shower,and a safe so small ,your 8"x 11" netbook isnt gonna fit . Never the less, the cleaning crew does an excellent job keeping them clean, and the courtesy bar fridge (Yes, theres that !) well stocked with soda water and beer,and the beds (same concrete I think) made nicely. The Communal area of the Resort are quite nice . Buffet and Lunch Pavillions are very well organized and though they are "open air" , they are netted against bird invasion. Wide variety of food available . yes,its bland to suit all tastes ,but plenty of spices and salsas available for those who prefer to "spice it up". The food service staff is friendly and attentive,and dont be surprised if one of the "Star Friends".(entertainment staff) sits down with you for a meal and conversation . As for the Star Friends , they are a talented bunch of young people. weather organizing games , caring for and entertaining kids, (our 6 year old loved Lisette) or skits by the pool and nightly enertainment . they're up to the task.Alajandro ,Ever , Edgar you guys are great. Only one pool ,but its huge and extends in both directions from the swim up bar where Nicholas has a remarkable memory of your favorite drink. The Pool is the center of daily activity and we had little trouble finding lounge chairs. The beach is extremely rocky ,only the most intrepid vacationer would try to swim there,but theres plenty of sand for sunbathing or Volleyball or Volleyball or even Volleyball (we played a lot of volleyball). There are stairs at the dock where you can snorkel and see plenty of fish also plenty of boats there for Dressled on site dive shop. I'm not a scuba diver myself,but it seems that they are the"mecca" of Cozumel diving and major reason people come to this resort. There are specialty "advance" reservation restaraunts also serving steak or Mexican fare ,but we didnt try them (I gave my watch the week off too !) Overall ,as a family vacation with a kid ,I believe we got what we came for,and may return in the future. I dont see this resort as a destination for romantic couples getaways who want private dinners on the beach (forget about it ). For active families , Gradparents looking for a placed to spoil the grand kids or Scuba divers (especially scuba divers) this may just be the resort for you .

Room Tip: Quiet rooms nearer to lobby , if you have kids, request nearer the pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 22moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed Mar 17-24, 2012. I echo all reviewers regarding the amazing staff at this location: the staff are outstanding and attentive even without tips. The grounds are also outstanding and well kept. We love animals so it was nice having a personal zoo every day. The flamingos, peacocks, parrots, turtles, and butterflies, are all fun to watch. All facilities are constantly being cleaned. Unfortunately there is only one washroom in the main dining room but the bank of washrooms next to the show theatre is only a 2 minute walk – at your slowest pace! The Mayan show was VERY impressive and we really enjoyed the beach party night. Yes, our bed was as hard as a rock, but a phone call to the front desk and we did get a mattress pad which the maid assembled for us. We left a dollar or two every day for the maid (the staff do rotate so please don’t wait until the end of the week!). We were impressed with the resort’s efforts to save the environment. We use towels more than just once at home so why not use towels for more than one day while on holiday? It helps cut down on water usage, etc. We hope you agree! The food was excellent also. Yes, there are the mainstays which do not change every day; however, there is a different theme every day so there is variety. I was impressed with the cheese variety. I had fresh focaccia and cheese for dessert with wine every day!! (Yes, I gained a couple of pounds). In our humble opinion, this resort is definitely a 4 star. The only drawback is the beach. Cozumel is known for its reef; however, the beach in front of the Iberostar is all rock and not deep enough inside the marked buoys. Yes, there is lovely sand under your toes when you’re sunbathing and you can go for very long walks along the beach; however, for little ones or for less adventurous swimmers, you cannot simply walk in to the ocean. You need water socks and you need to go off the pier (but then watch out for dive boat traffic!). It is NOT a sandy bottom beach at this resort. OUR ADVICE: if you want a relaxing holiday where you can meet wonderful people and don’t need a sandy bottom beach at your front door, GO!! NOW! Huge value for your dollars. If you are a diver, GO! If you are a snorkeler, well, we’ve seen better snorkeling elsewhere. If you need the PERFECT beach, go elsewhere. Unfortunately Antonio Banderas never did appear on our beach….

Room Tip: We were on a bottom floor unit; keep your doors closed as bugs and creepy crawlers will enter. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigAlTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
4,930 reviews
2.5 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,334 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
6.2 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $146 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing