We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look out, Antonio..We're coming back..again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This upcoming trip will be our fourth. Everything we need is within a brief stroll. We can't recommend the San Mig highly enough. Antonio and May will organise anything you could possibly think of, from laundry to day-trips ...and, of course, fishing! The town square on Sunday nights is a delight; Guido's and La Choza restaurants are marvellous dining experiences.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajorTom1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2010

My husband and I booked Hacienda San Miguel online and were very happy with our choice. This was our first trip to Cozumel and it was a brief stay, as we had spent the 5 days previous at an 'all-inclusive' in the Riviera Mya. What a fun change this was! We walked from the ferry with our bags to the hotel. This place is on a quiet street within walking distance of everything! Our room was very nice with tiled floors, Mexican style furniture, air-conditioning that worked well (unfortunately we didn't really need it), very nice bathroom with painted sink bowl (pretty), and a small kitchen with a full size fridge. We didn't need that either since we found plenty of great restaurants. The staff were so helpful and pleasant. They gave us weather reports to aid in our decision about which day we should do a snorkel trip, restaurant recommendations, arranged a jeep rental for us, and brought us a continental breakfast each morning, which we enjoyed on our patio overlooking the courtyard and gardens. This place was quiet, casual, well-maintained, comfortable. Although there is not a pool, nor is it on the beach (one within a short walking distance), we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We are now into our seventh stay over a six year period, usually for 4-5 weks per visit. Gisela and her staff are exceptionally pleasant, helpful and attentive. The hotel has all of the comfort and amenities you could want for a carribbean island vacation. For those who say you can't swim in front of the hotel - wrong - we do it almost every day, mostly for late afternoon snorkeling. Wonderfully located on the north edge of San Miguel - a 10 minute walk from the main square, a one minute walk to Guidos, a five minute walk to Al Pie Del Carbon steak house, and many other great places to eat..
Nick & Katie, Lexington, Va.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wllacrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Room: great shower! warm with lots of water pressure. bed was okay. The breakfast was a little skimpy but the room was well equipped with air conditioner, tv, sink, stove, and fridge. Wifi is available. The gardens out front were beautiful and relaxing.
Located at the quiet north end of San Miguel, within walking distance of the ferry pier (if you're luggage is light). Would suggest you rent a car to get to beaches or other activities.
The staff were extremely helpful in recommending restaurants or beaches to check out.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Having read the reviews, I can only endorse the positive comments previous people have written. The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming which is a real asset to this hotel. We rented a moped, thanks to Antonio's organisation, and were able to go the supermarket so we could use the well-equipped kitchenette. The beach on the west coast, which hotel guests have free access to, is a bonus and has all the amenities you need. However, at the time of our stay, the staff at this beach were not very welcoming to us as they seemed to prefer the high-spending cruise ship passengers. We made our feelings known to Antonio and the manager and we feel sure that this small problem will be dealt with. Despite this, I would still highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellajanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Not much point adding too much to the other great reviews which I wholeheartedly endorse. But just to say a really lovely place, beautifully appointed, just outside the crazy zone so felt more cut off but still a very short walk to get into the action, and the service was exceptional. I arrived late on the first evening but Antonio made sure I got to go diving the following morning and had breakfast for me at 7am. By the way the diving in Cozumel is out of this world, way more spectacular than disappointing Isla Mujeres.

The breakfasts are brought to your room as there's no restaurant or bar (though there are shedloads close by), which was a nice touch, if a little lacking in choice, but then again, with a huge fridge and kitchenette with coffee maker I just went to the supermarket and stocked up.

The only real criticism I have is, as has been mentioned, the beds are seriously hard. With a bad back I had to ask for additional pillows to wedge around me for comfort.

Very nearly a perfect score all round.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samantha_n16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We had the most amazing vacation, ever! When we arrived at the Hacienda San Miguel we were greeted immediately and made to feel at home. They showed us to our place and inside was a personally addressed letter which greeted us again and gave the names of all the staff. The room was exactly perfect! It had a large bottle of water along with the furnished kitchenette. We discovered we had working WiFi in our room as well (just in case we wanted to update facebook :)). The shower was amazing. Perfect for two people at a time (if one so desires) or just loads of space for one person. Hot water took a minute or two, but it was worth the wait.

Sleeping at night was a joy. The room had it's own A/C, of course, and while the beds were initially HARD, we must've gotten used to them pretty quickly because we all went to sleep almost immediately every night. We woke up completely refreshed to Maya, Eva, or Antonio bringing us our breakfast. We loved going into the garden in the morning to read and drink our coffee, so some mornings Antonio would just leave our breakfast there and tap on our door to let us know. Perfect wake-up service!

We loved the security of our little Hacienda too! When we came, and when we left, there was always someone to greet us. "Hola, familia!" is still stuck in our heads and we miss being greeted so enthusiastically now that we're home. The staff was always available to help in any way they could. They offerred suggestions to dining as well as directions for walking. They offerred to call for anything we needed. They set up the rental of a car for us to tour the island and visit San Gervasio, Chen Rio and Punta Sur. They gave us tips on where to go, and more importantly, where NOT to go.

Here's a great tip: Ask Antonio where to go snorkeling and rent his gear! He has good stuff!

We loved the location of the Hacienda! It was only blocks to the main square, so you saved on either a rental car for the duration or on taxi service because you could virtually walk everywhere you need to go. We did hire a cab to take us out to Mr. Sancho's twice, $15 USD each time, each way, no deals. We also hired a cab to bring us back from Mega with our groceries (cost was $40 peso's for the three of us ... so $2.50'ish in US) and to take us back to the airport, $5 USD.

In the town square at night, often there was live music and people dancing. Also, amazing restaurants encircle the square. Some terrific shops are right in the area too. TIP: We found better shopping deals off the "main drag" on the side roads, or backstreets.

We were sad to leave our little Hacienda behind. They have charmed us forever, and we're from the Northwest, so, that's not an easy thing to do.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle 10 Norte 500 | Entre 5a Ave y Rafael E. Melgar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range: $56 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most exclusive zone in the downtown of Cozumel the biggest island of Mexico in the caribbean where we combine colonial design with peace, the beauty of nature in an ambience full of tranquility, elegance and comfort. These gorgeous studios and suites have been decorated with rustic Mexican wood-carved furniture and have been equipped with: • Kitchen with refrigerator, freezer, stove and oven, coffee maker and kitchen utensils. • Purified bottled water. • Cable TV with remote control. • Air- conditioning. • Private bath with shower. Hot and cold water. • Hairdryer. • Safety deposit box. • Table and chairs in the one and two bedroom suites. • Daily continental breakfast served to rooms. • Internet Wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda San Miguel Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Miguel Cozumel
Hacienda San Miguel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing