We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you did not dive with Alex Scuba yet it is time for it.”
Review of Alex Scuba

Alex Scuba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SCUBA Diving in Cozumel has become more a business than an adventure. Alex Scuba goes back to the basics, rescuing the true spirit of diving and helping every diver experience the excitement of exploring Cozumel’s underwater world. Alex Scuba delivers a great experience with their patient, friendly staff, an easy-going, laid-back atmosphere at every stage of your diving trip/SCUBA course AND their sincere desire to make your diving experience the highlight of your vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you did not dive with Alex Scuba yet it is time for it.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just came back from our trip to Cozumel. We did dive with Alex 4 times during this trip. Every single dive was nice and relaxing. Alex and his crew were very nice and friendly to us. Special kudos to his crew member, Martin. Martin does a great job taking care of equipment and helping the divers getting in and out of the boat. Highly recommend to dive with Alex Scuba.
Victor

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank victor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    14
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Alex is a cool dude”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our dives with alexscuba. Professional, friendly, etc. would recommend this company. Beware the over zealous beginner divers with cameras, though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blancaycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic scuba diving experience with Alex Scuba!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Prior to our trip we made detailed comparisons of the various diving schools based on Cozumel. The combination of reasonable fares, only few divers per trip as well as Alex's responsiveness on our numerous questions (I wanted to complete my PADI AOWD) made us booking with Alex Scuba.

Now, after the trip we can only say that all our expectations have been exceeded. The boat was never crowded and we had small groups for each and every dive. Alex made very detailed instructions prior to each dive. The completion of my AOWD was both, very interesting, but also big fun. Throughout the dives he always gave tips how to improve breathing and technique.

The locations were great and he always picked the ones which were not packed with other diving schools. Amongst others we made a wall and a wreck dive and both were absolutely fabulous! We can also highly recommend to watch Alex relocating lion fishes...impressive!
Also big thanks to Raul. The dives with him were absolutely exciting, too (good luck for the upcoming ironman!)

If we are back to Cozumel we will choose Alex Scuba again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 stars is not enough”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Although it's very rare, I'd say the highest mark of an amazing travelling experience is when you feel as comfortable as you are at home and as at ease as if you were there with your old friends. Why diving with Alex has above excellent reviews is that his personality and his demeanor can make your day, or in our case, our vacation by doing just that.
My gf and I traveled to Cozumel and did our Open Water certification with Alex. We contacted him a few days before and he pretty much made it happen for us. Most important as beginners was being able to trust our instructor with our safety while doing underwater exercises and Alex proved himself an extremely able and patient instructor that easily earned our trust and taught us pretty much all we know at this point about diving.
The diving experience was amazing, the sites were gorgeous, 60ft visibility, plenty of fauna, the crew was very friendly and helpful, surface intervals long enough to avoid pushing the limits for anyone, snacks and drinks on the boat (decompression sickness is not something you want to play with).
It will be our pleasure to go diving with Alex again! And if you're new to diving we'd highly recommend doing the OWD course with him, it will make diving so much more (entertaining and safer)!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Razvan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Scuba Dive(s)”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our scuba trip with Alex was absolutely fabulous. We did a wreck dive and a reef. There were only 5 of us on the dives which allowed for plenty of time and plenty of sites. I highly recommend doing a dive with Alex. The small group and selection of location is what drove us to choose Alex. We had a wonderful time and hope to be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CodingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex Scuba also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Alex Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing