We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal!”
Review of New Especias

New Especias
Ranked #119 of 370 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An Authentic and Cozy Italian Restaurant in the Wonderful Cozumel Island!!! (We moved from ITALIANINI!!!)
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Service was great, food was exceptional. Lots of choices on the menu. Nice wine list, great deserts - try the tiramisu! I'll go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    26
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited New Especias on 7/26 around 6:15 in the evening and the restaurant was completely empty. Which made ordering and receiving our food a quick experience. After we had placed our orders, our waiter brought over a small glass of wine and two pieces of bruschetta complimentary for us and both were delicious. I ordered the Fettuccine with sausage and mushrooms, and my mom got the lion fish entree, both of which were daily specials. They were DELICIOUS. I cannot say enough about how good the food was. Each of us basically ate half of the other person's food. For dessert we ordered the Panacotta with chocolate. It was great also but was definitely made earlier in the day and kept chilled for service. Which doesn't really bother me because it does take a long time to cook (as far as I know). Overall, the food tasted excellent for the price and was definitely a great way for us to end our vacation. We will definitely be back again on our next visit to Cozumel!

Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful anniversary dinner!!!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a nice place for an anniversary dinner while in Cozumel and we most certainly found it! From the wine and appetizers to the main course and dessert, this was absolutely wonderful! Th staff was very nice and helpful and owner Francesco delivered a dessert for us and stayed to speak with us for a while. Very friendly, very personable. Being a "real" Italian restaurant, we steered away from the "American" dishes having the Lionfish and the bacon wrapped shrimp. The flavors were so new, my wife and I were commenting on them back and forth all evening. We are from Kansas so while the prices are a bit on the higher side for Cozumel, they are below what we pay here in the states for a much lesser meal. We had a drink each (very generouse sized drinks I might add), 2 dinners, and an extra appetizer and the bill was right at $50! The same amounts here are at least $75 and no where near as good. Thanks Francesco, we look forward to seeing you again next year! I did mark them down a bit on the building as it is a little small

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great rooftop locatioon for dinner!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This little gem is out of the way and not easy to find. We were told of it by locals and it did not disappoint!
From the apps and the drinks, it was heaven on a plate!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves2GetWet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good but...”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

First let me say our food was very good so don't get my review wrong. The staff was friendly and we felt the atmosphere was great. Loved the day of dead at the bar downstairs. I guess my disappointment for lack of a better word was for all the hype we read about them being from Rome and authentic i would say they were off a bit. Gnocchi and lion fish -fish flavorful -gnocchi not the best we ever had. Risotto I was so looking forward to authentic as claimed but I have had better in USA and that to me is where I was disappointed Again it was very good I just was hoping it was as the other travelers stated and only because of that I didn't give it an excellent. Maybe food was off when we ate there last nite (or maybe because I have had true true authentic )and since many other places to try I can't give them a second chance but wanted to just add my two cents Thought price was appropriate as well. Please try them though

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squirreltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Especias also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to New Especias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing