We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique gourmet cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinta Mexican Bistro

Kinta Mexican Bistro
Ranked #8 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
174 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unique gourmet cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went for dinner at kinta and enjoyed every course .the food is unusual and very good at a reasonable price ( though more expensive than others) I think the uniqueness justifies the cost
They were great preparing meals for the kids who enjoyed the chicken fingers (" and the adults did as well) other dishes we tried were the tamarind shrimp, pork pastillo and shrimp/scallop enchiladas all were amazing. The one dish had a vegetable side of I think wine marinated chayote which were incredible. I think they should be a dish on their own
All the staff are very attentive and friendly and speak English well. The atmosphere is also soothing in a quiet backyard courtyard with "chill" music playing
Will rerun to kinta and also looking forward to kondessa during the trip as well

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frexinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    159
    42
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

You can see it has lots of reviews and they are warranted. The food is always good and served hot. Everyone takes care of you as soon as you walk into the door. I eat here often and am never disappointed. Great service and a owner who wants your experience the best it can be eating at Kinta. Try this one and you will be Happy you found it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening of Mayan magic on Avenida 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

In the last week of May 2014, on the day before our departure from San Miguel, Cozumel, we wandered off the main tourist roads and saw an elegant-looking restaurant. Nothing fancy, just simple, creative decor with an abundance of color, suggesting richness without extravagance. Inside, we found a spacious dining room and beyond, a lush garden, all situated with tables in intimate settings. It felt comfortable and relaxed but classy. We ordered a bottle of Mexican wine to accompany the meals we had chosen, as recommended by our waiter, and it was amazing! A different blend (Cab and Petit Syrah) than what we're used to in the Napa Valley, but just as complex and rich and smooth, at a third of the price. As other reviewers have commented, the presentation, flavor and quality of the food was imaginative, a delight to all the senses but especially to taste. My wife had Olla Negra (black bean torilla soup), a Kinta salad (spinach with cranberries), and Pollo Chilango (stuffed chicken breast). I enjoyed Aguacate Relleno (avocado stuffed with shrimp), and a Hibiskis salad combined with grilled fish (a light special available on the daily menu). We shared a flourless chocolate cake for dessert. All these dishes may sound familiar but they tasted so astonishingly new and original, it was as if we'd never eaten anything like them before. The wait staff was friendly, informative, entertaining but unpretentious and unobtrusive. They made us feel as if we were honored guests at their family hacienda. Total cost was, again, about a third of what we commonly pay back home in Napa. I can't wait to return but also to visit the sister restaurant, Kondessa, same avenida, several blocks away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

As always, Kinta delivers. The food is high class with terrific presentation. The flavor profiles are wonderful too. You absolutely must try this place. The margaritas are terrific too. I went with the old Porky Pasilla. I haven't had it in quite a while and forgot just how good it was.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CVChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fine dining off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Each course was delicious and every member of our party enjoyed what they got to eat and especially liked the specialty drinks! The atmosphere was very nice and relaxing. Service was outstanding too and very accommodating, since I had diet restrictions and they delivered!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinta Mexican Bistro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kinta Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing