We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Eat”

Kinta Mexican Bistro
Ranked #13 of 379 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Richardson, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Place To Eat”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having been to Cozumel 20 plus times, I have eaten at many restaurants there. After reading about Kinta on trip advisor we decided to try it. Boy are we glad we did. Miguel was our waiter and he was the best! They served us complimentary garlic bread with pesto. It was delicious! Our meals were perfect and tasted great.We had the chicken stuffed with spinach and plaintains. Our friends had the shrimp. The warm chocolate cake with ice cream topped with the best cookie I have ever eaten was awesome. It is a must have!!! Miguel sent us home with extra cookies. I highly recommend a trip to Kinta and make sure you ask for Miguel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    163
    45
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visited Kinta on 31 July after reading recommendations on tripadvisor. It is off the main square in Cozumel, and from the front gives no clue to the fabulous seating area in the garden. Brilliant lighting and atmosphere, with cool frog covers over the wall lights. We had the Kinta salad with Mahi Mahi fish and the special of of black rice with shrimps and scallops, both of which were excellent. For dessert we shared a serving of banana bread pudding with vanilla ice cream, which was fab!

All in all a great evening, reasonably priced for great food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thunderjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Ridge, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SLLLLLOOOOOW service/poor food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family ate at this restaurant while spending a week on cozumel. We ate here based on recommendations in our condo, but would NOT recommend this place ourselves. We are a family of five and no one enjoyed their dishes. Too many flavors in one dish, some entrees too spicy/hot to taste the entree. Service was so slow. Had to ask many times for drink refills and our check. We couldn't wait to leave this place. It is advertised as Gourmet Mexican and we enjoy many different foods, but not from here. The only plus was the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elan77, Propietario at Kinta Mexican Bistro, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Here in Kinta we want to learn from the feedback that our visitors give us, thanks for sharing this experience.

We're glad you enjoyed the unique atmosphere of our restaurant. On the other hand we regret that you had an unpleasent experience with our food and service.

Our cuisine at Kinta Mexican Bistro provides a one of a kind experience. Unfortunately for you and your family this was perceived as "too many flavors in one dish” We are sorry that you did not enjoy our modern mexican cuisine, a style that has made us famous.

On your next visit to Cozumel we would like to have the opportunity of give you the experience for which we have more than 300 excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. It would be my pleasure to serve you personally, please feel free to email me to kintacozumel@gmail.com.

Kristopher Wallenta
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Left hungry - small portions”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I ate here Aug. 5, 2012. Food and drinks very good. We both had fish dishes - asked for the red snapper (other choices were tuna or Mahi Mahi). After pulling off the fish skin, and scraping off the dark fish meat which I don't care for, I had just 3 bites of fish. And this red snapper did not come close to the red snapper I know of from LA. To me it was some local fish they call red snapper here in Cozumel. Got the pineapple parfait - again so small, ridiculous. Won't go here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Again”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We frequently visit Cozumel and stop by Kinta's on every trip. The meals are delicious and unique. We both had the shrimp on our last visit and it was excellent as usual. It is conveniently located ust a block or two from the square. We always eat too much and then try to walk it off on the square.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinta Mexican Bistro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kinta Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing