We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little resort for divers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Angel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Angel Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Montréal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little resort for divers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just came back from 1 week at the Blue Angel. We are both divers and the resort is just the perfect place for people like us. Staf is super nice, the reception is managed by Huit who always grant you with a smile and is always there to make your stay enjoyable. We had a great rrom on the 4th floor with a lot of storage, very roomy. All rooms are ocean view and have a balcony. The only draw back is the noise coming from the street since the doors are not very tight. But honnestly, this was not a major concern. The rroms, ground and lobby are super clean and very causy. The pool is small but it was good enough for us since we were diving most of the time.
We are returning next March and can't wait. This si definitively a place where we will be returning often.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibgaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    143
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
110
285
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I have been staying and diving with Blue Angel for several years and consider it our vacation home. Great location just a mile out of town, right on the water. This small resort has it all for the traveling diver; large comfortable, clean rooms with mini-fridges and safes.
Eva's staff is friendly and helpful, form the front desk to the maid staff, restaurant and dive op.
The open air second story restaurant has very good food and a great sunset view.
The dive op is just as wonderful as the rest of the place. Fast "six-pack" early morning dive boats, larger cabin cruiser mid-morning dives. Afternoon, twilight and night dives all available as well as some of the best shore diving on the island...it's quite simply a great place to unwind and get your dive on!!

Room Tip: It is only a 4 story hotel, all rooms face the ocean, with balconys. Limited number of King sized be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharky60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great little diving hotel. Four floors, about twenty rooms or so, all facing the ocean with outdoor hallways on the backside. It is right on the main road but you cannot hear the traffic too much in your room or on the grounds. Rooms were kept immaculately clean, with strong AC (a must in Mexico) and functional if not amazing furnishings. Bathrooms could use some updating and the tvs are laughable by US standards: 13 or 15 inch tube tvs (not flat screen) mounted very high near ceiling. I never turned it on, so I am not complaining.
Staff was excellent and the owner is fabulous and I have no complaints about anything. If you are looking for a modestly priced hotel in a great location, with nice accommodations and that is perfectly set up for amazing diving, come here. That is why I am giving it five stars. If you want to luxuriate in a spa tub, with granite tiles and while watching an ultramodern flat screen tv, Blue Angel is not for you.

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor rooms because you get a higher view of the ocean. But they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We usually stay closer to town for our Cozumel vacations but decided to get closer to the southern end for the shorter boat rides. Check in was a breeze and all of the employees were friendly and helpful. We met the owner, Eva, on the first day and thought she was very accomodating. We had a 2nd floor room and had a great view over the pool looking out at the ocean and the sunsets. The room was clean, large and the beds were great. Love the balcony with a table and hanging area for dive gear. We are from Phoenix so we actually had to turn the air conditioner off for the day or the room stayed too cold!! The open air restaurant has a great view of the water and has a nice variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is live music in the restaurant most nights. The mango margarita is not only pretty but is delicious too. Our diving was through Blue Angel Dive Shop and was a great experience. We use nitrox and it was on the boat daily and available for our afternoon shore dive. The divemasters offered choices for dives and listened to where we wanted to go. They are also good at marine life ID. The shore dive off of Blue Angel has its entry right under the restaurant (short way to carry tanks!) and is really a good dive. We did it for 7 afternoons and always saw something different. Even a frog fish!!! We usually go to Cozumel annualy and will book at Blue Angel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topdivemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

From the moment we arrived, the staff genially looked after our every need. We were personally greeted by the owner, Eva, and treated to welcome cocktails while our luggage was transported to our clean and spacious room. Our geniunely quick-witted concierge, Huit, was on hand to answer any and all questions we had about visiting Cozumel and our stay at the Blue Angel. The enitre staff was first rate. Breakfast and lunch was served daily with the joke and a smile from Sergio and Jose (hola from Donna Madonna-I miss you guys!). We only had to travel as far as the hotel dining room to experience the best cuisine on the island! OMG, the ceviche was the best we ever had!! The friendly and attentive Izzy and Marco made our evening dining experiences truly memorable. The entire kitchen staff should be commended for their outstanding meals! In addition, we were treated to the incredible guitar prodigy, Abraham, who entertained the patrons 3 nights during our stay! He was nothing short of amazing!

Jorge, our dive master and El Capitan (with apologies for not knowing his name), provided a fascinating and memorable dive experience that rank among our best dives ever! As divers, Fransisco had his hands full, keeping our room clean, but achieved miraculous results. It was truly our home away from home!

Blue Angel provided everything we could ever need; spa services were available (thank you, Elle!) upon request and transportation was arranged from the front desk. We know where we will be staying on our return trips to Cozumel!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandKevin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

As a non-diver, I found the Blue Angel to be awesome in terms of cleanliness, service, and overall quality. It is quaint and inviting. The receptionists were extremely helpful in answering any questions about car and moto rental, and activities in and out of town. Absolutely great food and drinks are served in their restaurant. Thanks to Eva, Huit, Francisco, Sergio, Isi,Marco y todos los demas a quienes no recuerdo el nombre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This place is the perfect diver’s hotel. It has 20 or so rooms so it seems that everything they do is just for you. Your wakeup call is the musical sound of SCUBA tanks being loaded letting you know it’s time to go diving. The open air restaurant is above the diveshop and overlooks the Carribean and the dock so you can see when your diveboat arrives. There are hammocks to grab a siesta in, a pool, or you can hang out at one of the palapas by the water. The restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The local favorites and American food are well prepared and the staff is friendly. The Guac is great! The beer is cold and the frozen Pina Coladas are refreshing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Angel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Angel Resort

Property: Blue Angel Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km. 2.2, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Angel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms, each with patio or private balcony for you to enjoy the beautiful sunsets or you can relax under the palapas on the ocean or around the fresh water pool. Friendly/helpful staff - on-site restaurant where food is freshly prepared and you can get a quick snack or full meal - on-site full service dive shop. This is a smaller, more intimate hotel. The staff will know your name, and you will know theirs after a few days. We like it this way and we will never change that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Angel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Angel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing