We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hoping to make this a habit...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Cozumel, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JenAndAle...
Vallejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hoping to make this a habit...”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I could not have asked for a more perfect family travel experience. Our criteria for our month long stay were: 1) safe and clean, leaving no room for doubt on either 2) central location so we can walk to the beach and stores easily 3) ability to prepare meals 4) reliable Wi-Fi so I could work remotely during our stay 5) hosts that could assist us if needed - we speak minimal Spanish. There is one more that I would add now that we've been there- a pool is essential during the summer months. Summer Place Inn satisfied all of these criteria, and truly exceeded all of our hopes and expectations. It's rare that a trip lives up to the dream- this one absolutely did. Henny, and her son, Joe, own the building. The first level houses their Re/Max real estate office, as well as 3 hotel style king size rooms that have a private patio shared by those rooms. Perfect place to lay in the hammock for a nap or read quietly. This floor also has a large common kitchen and lounge area that opens up on to the backyard with a beautiful pool, chaise longues, and lawn where the family of turtles live (Alice likes to be hand fed tortillas). Upstairs are two more units- Henny and Joe's on one side, and the condo rental on the other. The condo is wonderful- kitchen, living room and sun room (can be used as a 3rd bedroom) on the first floor, 2 large bedrooms with king size beds and 2 baths on the second floor, and roof top access on the 3rd (with access to the washer and dryer, patio set up and gorgeous views). Bottled water is provided, as well as antibacterial wash for produce, and everything you need to prepare meals. Cable TV with DVD players in each bedroom and the living room are nice for the evening, as well as cards and English language books. Having Henny and Joe on site was not at all obtrusive- quite the opposite. They strike a perfect balance of friendly helpfulness without making you feel like you're being watched. Henny even brought us some cake she had made on Sunday evenings. Rather than drone on, I think this sums up the trip for me best- I would love to come back here for a month ever year. Staying at Summer Place Inn made me believe there is a better life out there- less hassle, more simplicity, more fun and relaxation. Easy living with good home cooked meals prepared with friends and conversation over tropical drinks after a swim in warm, blue ocean. Life doesn't get any better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe and clean with all the comforts of home
Liked least: Tile floors can be slippery when wet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderlus...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more! Awesome place to stay :)”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Summer Place Inn is awesome! The photos don't do it justice. My friends and I stayed in the condo here and had amazing time. We are in our 20's and 30's and were in Cozumel for 4 nights for our friend's bachelorette party. Joe, was an amazing host and helped us out with great suggestions and info about where to go and what to do/see. He was essentially a perfect host in that he was readily available when we needed him, but he wasn't nosey or crowding our space. The condo is 3 levels - 1st with living, kitchen, dining space, and an additional bedroom; 2nd with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms; and 3rd with a large rooftop terrace. Plenty of room for us 5 girls! The location was great in a clean, quiet, safe neighborhood - about a 5min walk to the grocery store and a 15min stroll to town. But, if you prefer to take a cab, Joe will call one for you and it'll be there in no more than 5 mins. (Cab ride into town was $4US+tip, from the airport its $10US, to the airport its $6US+tip.) Access to the property is restricted by a keyed gate, for extra security and safety. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking and serving up any meal, and the house staff is very helpful in keeping the place tidy. Summer Place provides some forms entertainment like bikes, body boards, and a library of DVDs to chose from. The hot water, A/C, and wifi work just as well as they do in the States. I can't think of anything that would have made our stay more comfortable. If we make it back to Cozumel, we would definitely stay here again!

PS. Initially I was a little weary about what to expect because of some of the negative comments, but we stayed out late just about every night and had no problems with the management. We saw no evidence of mistreatment of the "locals"; in fact, Joe recommend we try out a very mom & pop's restaurant that is about 2 blocks away and owned/run by locals. (Which I will also recommend - Los Chilangos. Excellent service and delicious, authentic Mexican food!) And if you have to be reminded to get something in writing before you enter into an agreement with someone/a business, you probably shouldn't be booking things at all. I'm glad I went with the majority of the reviews and booked this excellent property for trip to Cozumel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The gate was so darn hard to open
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elevation...
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful & quiet, yet only blocks from the action!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

If you've stayed in Cozumel before, this is the place for you; close yet quiet. This condo only a few shorts blocks from the bustling of the San Miguel Civic Center and shops. The condo has two single rooms and a two bedroom. The "L" shaped two bedroom is on the 2nd floor. The two one-bedrooms (large hotel room style) are side by side in a hallway that leads to the kitchen and swimming pools.// My, wife, son and I stayed in the two one-bedrooms. Both had nice, large bathrooms, comfy beds, and the room was nicely appointed. Semi private porch deck with hammocks on ground level. Also had a college dorm room sized refrigerator.

The pool is perfect for one or two families to play in after eating on the garden porch is lovely in the evening overlooking the pool (watch for the two turtles near the pool). The kitchen part of the garden porch. Other than some spices and coffee, all food items you need will have to be bought at Mega, two blocks away. Full sized refrigerator is available for your use. Five gallon water jug is provided in the kitchen.

The rooms are nice. Even nicer were Henny Watts and her grandson Joe Watts. The owners make the Summerplace Inn truly relaxing and comforting. Henny books the reservations from her home in Canada. She was a delight to work with and provided me some good, locals only information of places to eat. Joe met us at the Summerplace Inn. Throughout our stay, Joe was gracious, outgoing and helpful, and genuinely friendly and interested in helping.

There are a number of different sized bicycles in the garage. I recommend you check the air pressure on the bike you choose the day before any excursion, as we found a couple of bikes with low or flat tires. Most of the bikes are usable.

Joe Watts has a good relations ship with Magarita (make sure you roll the "Rs") form ISIS scooter & VW rentals. By chance, I had already reserved on through this company because they give online discounts. Joe call Margarita (roll those RRRs), verified the rental reservation and had someone at Summerplace in to take us the pick up our scooters the next morning. ISIS was prompt and did not ask for a pickup fee (tip anyway).

I already spoke with Joe about it, however, after making your reservation through Tripadvisor, Henny may soon after send you an email. Her email address that I received was from Mrs. Watts "@CozumelInn"... It was not "@Summerplace".... I tell you this because our cabdriver wanted to see address email that I received Mrs. Watts. The cab drivers know the names of places more that the are given an address to go to. But,....we made to the right place.

Summerplace Inn is the way to split the difference between quite, serene accommodations, and fun tourist bars and restaurants. Stay at Summerplace Inn because it is inexpensive and lovely. The rental cost for both of our rooms was a bargain for the rooms only. The pool, kitchen, quietness, friendly owner and nice landscaping added the lime and salt to our margarita getaway.You will then come back because of Henny and on-site grandson Joe help provided a wonderful experience. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mrs. Henny Watts the owner and her on-site grandson Joe Watts
Liked least: Condition of the bicycles. (Remember they are provided for FREE)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayjeanne
Ottawa Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in Cozumel”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We reserved two double rooms for ourselves and out sister and brother-in-law, with access to a well equipped kitchen and a lovely pool for a two week stay in Cozumel. The managers anticipated our every need and the accommodations more than met our requirements. Close to grocery stores for self-catering and walking distance to the ocean. Perfect for our vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation and owners
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2014
Hi Jan, Thank you so much for your review. It is much appreciated.
I always find it difficult to ask for reviews but in the wake of savey computer users, some of the run down places have a higher review for staying, than at our place . Each review helps bring up our rating for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice G
Hillerod, Denmark
1 review
“Peace and quiet quality with pool, close to city center and the beach.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I have for the last 10 years visited and stayed at Summerplace Inn, Cozumel between 14 days and a month. We have always been very satisfied, so clean and tidy, nice things to look at and a lovely pool. Situated at a quite road, close to the two largest super markets on the island with ATM’s, laundry and everything you need. Lovely outdoor kitchen well sheltered for the sun and any weather in direct connection to the pool area. A sweet harmonic little place.
Henny Watts and her family provide excellent service and we always felt welcome. The hosts, having the background from Canada as well as Denmark/Europe, understand what the visitors need and expect.
Summerplace Inn is absolutely a place we would recommend to others and we look forward to come back.
Alice and Kjell Glorvigen
Hillerød, Denmark

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiegers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home sweet home”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Summers place Inn is like a 2nd home to me! I luv it. This year my family are visiting the hotel for the 2nd time. It was offordable and a huge bang for your buck. I have no idea what the people are talking about when they give terrible rates? I think the hotel is awesome. I felt very safe with my family there, and I can not wait to visit it again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace_1...
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Minnesota Golden Gophers Visit Summer Place!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 5th trip to Summer Place and we love it. We rent the whole place (condo upstairs and three rooms downstairs) and it works great for our group (grandparents, kids, grandkids), coming from Minnesota, New Mexico and Virginia. We make use of the downstairs kitchen almost every night to sit around the pool with 'ritas and guacamole. Summer Place is located on a quiet side street away from the cruise ship crowds, but only 2-3 blocks away from Margaritaville and all the action. We love going to the local grocery store - Chedraui - with fresh bolillios and tortillas. Since last year there has some some remodeling and upgrades to the outside area by the pool and it is roomier and very tastefully done. This year the maid cleaned our rooms spotlessly and left towel "animals" on our beds! Very cute. We feel safe there and it's easy to park and get around. It's a quick trip to the other side of the island to get to Chen Rio, one of our favorite underused beaches. It's a walk to the Zocolo, but we love walking through the local neighborhoods, versus the cookie-cutter restaurants on the ocean side, which can be fun as well. Summer Place is a gem situated in a local neighborhood and the hosts are so helpful with recommendations of things to do, and also calling pizza places if we need, because we don't speak Spanish, arranging taxis as needed to get back to the airport. We feel safe with the grandkids walking to the Zocolo or biking to town for fish tacos (bikes provided by Summer Place). We also use their boogie boards at the beach. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing