We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite restaurant in Cozumel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill

Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill
Ranked #49 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite restaurant in Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great empanadas, great wine and great atmosphere! We love everything about this place. We even got to see Tango dancers!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    86
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Over priced, horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you want to pay 50 dollars for a dry flavorless steak this is the place to go. Not to mention the horrible service. Took 20 min to get a couple of drinks, ordered salad and got fries instead! Also, double check your bill you might get a couple extra empanadas you never received. There are so many good places to eat in Cozumel. This place was just a BIG disappointment!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lhawley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mmmeeaatt - and fine salad, too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The portions of meat on offer at this restaurant are huge, and definitely meat is its focus. Even the smallest was enough for two to share, with empanada appetizers and an inventive salad. Excellent tender steak, cooked exactly to order, though it took its sweet time to arrive. We liked the empanadas well enough. Air conditioning was a welcome touch that warm evening. Pleasant high-ceilinged Spanish-mission decor. We tried the sangria -- more ice than fruit, but it was flavourful and went down easily. Worth putting on your list during a week or more in Cozumel.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Excellent food, horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Have to agree with some of the other reviews and surprised there aren't more like them, to be honest.

The food is EXCELLENT. We ate there a couple of times on a vacation a few months ago and had no complaints about the food either time. Had a variety of things including steaks, chicken, and the empanadas. Everything was always very good.

On the other hand, the service ...

The guys that work there seem friendly enough. They just don't provide good, or even passable, service. Both times we had our drink order taken fairly quickly. However, not even once did the waiter ask if we wanted another drink. Had to flag him down each night while our drinks sat empty for long periods of time. On our second trip, knowing this was an issue the last time, I asked for a drink while my first one was halfway full. It never came, even as he told me he would be right back a few minutes later. It wasn't even a mixed drink or anything, just a soda.

Never checked to ask about the food and as soon as it was delivered, took a long time to be able to flag him down again for our check. Funny thing was, though, that as soon as we left cash in the checkbook along with our bill and started to get up, the waiter nearly tripped over himself and ran right over to ensure it was all there.

The service leaves A LOT to be desired - just know that. The food - again, amazing. If you can put up with that, it's definitely worth the meal. Having been to Mexico foiur times, we obviously realize the service is usually a little more laid back - particularly in Cozumel. However, they would really be best served by checking out some other local restaurants - all of which don't have these types of problems. Eating lunch and dinner out for about ten days, we tried about ten different places, hitting several twice or three times. This was the only place where service was an issue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cozumel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Empanadas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved trying the various empanadas here, while our gluten-free kiddo had a great salad. They have good prices here and it's a nice break from traditional Mexican food. I would suggest getting a variety of empanadas and sharing. Even our picky eater liked the ham and cheese ones!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank justdoittx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing