We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food horrible service!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill

Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill
Ranked #51 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food horrible service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for a date night. This place came highly recommended because of the steaks. We walked in and the place was packed, I put my name in and the guy responded "we're full!" I said I would wait and asked how long, he informed me it would be 10-15 mins. I asked if I could have a drink while I waited and he responded that he was much too busy to serve us a drink while we waited. After 10 mins we were seated. It took another 10 mins to order which I've become very used to here. We ordered and after about 25 mins of waiting for our salads they wrote finally delivered, but no bread. About 11/2 mins later our food arrived....still no bread. We ate which there was no doubt at this point why the food was recommended because it was very good. Then 3 ladies came in....talked to the host and we're served drinks by the same guy that told me no. Our waiter never checked on us once to see how our food was. We had to flag down the other waiter for our bill and a to-go box. Then our waiter came with the credit card machine had me sign the slip at which time he informed me I needed to tip him in cash. Not cool.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    86
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Empanadas and chimichurri to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of 6. Some confusion with the order but the food is phenomenal. The empanadas are delicious, their steak is mouth watering, and if I could have filled my suitcase with their chimichurri to come home I definitely would have! The best place on the island to have a great steak cooked to perfection!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best empanadas ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I only had the empanadas (ordered 5 different!) and they were amazing! Try them all, you´ll just want more :) And their chimichurri is the most delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our best meal on Cozumel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had an delicious dinner here starting with the empanadas. Order several different kinds to share. Then the nicoise salad; also to share as it was huge. Beef kabobs were cooked perfectly. The staff was great. I was not impressed with Cozumel overall but this restaurant deserves a visit if you're there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JGWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
234 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great steak and empanadas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you are tired of typical Mexican food and want a great steak then this was the place. It's not a "New York" steak house steak but it was a very tender and tasty piece of meet. The empanadas are really some of the best I have ever eaten and make a great starter. The staff is incredibly welcoming and we had a great meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank segmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing