We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great alternative to Mexican food”

Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill
Ranked #76 of 373 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great alternative to Mexican food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cozumel has lots of great restaurants that serve Mexican food in a variety of ways. But when you want something different, head to Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill, just a few blocks south of the plaza. They serve steak, chicken, etc., but I go here for the empanadas, small flaky pastry pockets filled with a variety of stuffings: beef, chicken, shrimp, spinach, cheese.....plus some delicious sweet empanadas for dessert. I loved the dulce de leche & banana......yum yum. Hubby and I had a total of 8 empanadas, plus the one dessert empanada, and two beers each, all for under $30. A bonus: no singers wandering from table to table looking for tips. Just a lovely airy building with plenty of windows and soft music, plus great service. I love this place and will return again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTJB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    87
    24
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for vegans!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are one of the dwindling number of carnivores like I am, then this is the place for you. Warm Argentine hospitality and service in a romantic pub-like restaurant.
The vacio (a cut near the sirloin) just melt in my mouth and gave up its flavors, awesome. The filet mignon was one of the best I have ever eaten.
My only complaint: I when for a second visit on Sunday and it was closed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiliRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best steak on the island”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have been eating here for years. Alwayshad the greatest empanadas. This time I had the steak. We returned a 2nd time on the same trip & ate the same thing. It was that good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service cannot be beat”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The food is great. I love the steak. I also like to get one of the salads they have and ask for a half portion, instead of the green salad that comes with the steak. Waiter suggested it to me. Service is excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank InC0zumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service & Great food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Drove by after our night dive thinking that they were closed since it was all dark and empty inside. Fortunately for us, they were not and we were able to sample their great tasting empanadas. They're small in size but they pack a good bite plus the service from their solo waiter was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLASTRAMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing