We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Entire Family Loved It!”

Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill
Ranked #68 of 370 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Entire Family Loved It!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Can't say a negative thing about Del Sur. The service was excellent and personable. The steaks were grilled perfectly. We loved the chimichurri sauce. The empanadas were absolutely awesome! We caught them just in time, as they closed yesterday for two weeks for renovation. So glad we didn't wait!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    86
    23
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“:( :( :( :(”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Was looking forward to eating there today after talking it up to my inlaws who traveled here with us from the United States and was disappointed to find it wasn't open... And there wasn't a sign or anything explaining why. The food is great...but call ahead to see if it's open before wasting time/cab fare getting there :(

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CherylABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Unusual, Inexpensive, Imaginative, Delicious!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Empanadas are little pies, something like English pasties. At Del Sur they have a variety of gourmet pies, including both savory and dessert varieties. We shared a ground beef, (with vegetables) capresse, (mozzarella, tomato, and basil) shrimp, (with garlic) and "Del Sur" (cheese, bacon and plum!) for our main course; and apple, (with cinnamon and powdered sugar) chocolate and banana, and a dulce de leche and banana for dessert. It was a satisfying (and adventurous) meal and we were out the door -- including tip -- for under $15. Do not miss the dulce de leche and banana!

Service was friendly, efficient, and accommodating. (They readily turned down the volume of the Olympics on their TV at our request) The building is a little unusual: two stories high, but most of the room is open clear to the ceiling, so it's a bit cavernous. Interesting Argentine decor items on the walls. Easy to find, on the corner two short blocks south of the square and one block in from the ocean.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS...”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Was back in Cozumel this month (July) and this is still an EXCELLENT place to eat. scale of 1-10 this place truly ranks a 15!!! The food here is excellent....steaks, fish, shrimp, empanadas. Be sure to tray a Del Sur Empanada....so scrumptious. I have eaten several menu items here and the food is alway SUPERB....not to mention the service. The owner is very personable too. Th ais is a must when in Cozumel....best food on the island. Prices are very, very reasonable. Don't miss it as it is not on the main drag...about 2 blocks off the square.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Del Sur offers considerably more than empanadas now, including Argentinean steaks from the grill. I've only ever had their empanadas, though, since they're so good I can't pass them up.

The empanadas here have a wheat-flour crust instead of the typical Mexican corn masa dough. They are delicious. The beef is among the least good, but still quite tasty. The "Del Sur", with plum and bacon, is my firm favorite. I quite liked the tuna, but my tuna-loving wife wasn't so enamored of it. The desert empanadas are something special.

The last time we were there we sipped yerba mate while a couple of professional dancers demonstrated the tango.

The space is open and high-ceilinged. It's a far cry from their original shop on the north end of 5a Avenida. The owner is friendly and enthusiastic about Argentinean food.

They even deliver.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Del Sur Argentina Empanadas & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing