We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
253
64
15
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
253
64
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican neighborhood within walking distance safe neighborhood island life every morning air conditioning five nights scooter rental home away from home a great place to stay enjoyed my stay cruise ship water pressure beach towels king bed dive shop jimena
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 339 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Hurricane Wilma interupted our last attempt to visit Cozumel. This time, we were so fortunate. Booking a room at Tamarindo was so easy...contacting Eliane via email and her speedy responses and help along the way was a breeze. Eliane was more than just the B&B hostess - she provided me with helpful hints, both via email prior to our arrival and upon arrival she sat with us to share her wealth of knowledge and helpful tips.

We arrived late in the evening and Eliane was there to greet us and show us our room. Because it was so late, we agreed to meet after breakfast the next morning and she would go through her welcome greeting, with all the tips and the map of the area.

That was a great start to a great stay. Our breakfast was prepared and our room was cleaned everyday, with the obvious exceptions of Sundays and major holidays. Our stay included Christmas Day and New Year's Day, so we missed 3-4 days - not a problem at all.

The room was spacious and airy. It had a king size bed, a t.v., an working A/C, a mini-fridge (that worked really well!), two side tables for the bed (including one that locks for valuables - I took my laptop and there was plenty of room. There was a cozy single bed - a cubby - that tucked away in the corner/side of the room. That would be great for a third person or extra space for luggage and storage. The bathroom was clean and the shower worked really well. We never once had an issue with not enough hot water.

We had a semi-private patio, with a cafe table and a hammock. Our breakfast (fresh fruit bowl, juice, coffee and a main entre) as served there everyday, though we could have eaten up on the main shared terrace. We enjoyed the hammock, as the patio was partly shaded and cool.

There is a dive equipment wash area and a place to hang equipment to dry. A lovely garden space with bushes, flowers and large trees (including lime trees!)

It is in the middle of San Miguel and it is a thriving, bustling small city. You may hear passing motorists, music (we were there for major holidays and celebrations and did hear music, but seriously not an issue at all!), and the lovely rooster crowing. It is not loud and not intrusive and will soon fade away from your attention.

Keep in mind - you are not at a resort here. The beachfront is not out your patio door. You will need to 'travel' to get to your destination of choice, whether it be for a beach day or for snorkling/diving. There is a Taxi Union, so fares are fair. Prior to getting into the cab, agree on a price to where you want to go. We had no problem getting around.

We loved this trip. We loved Tamarindo. We love Cozumel. We will be back!

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LaRayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

This was my fifth time to Cozumel, my third with my wife, and this was by far the best experience I have had on my favorite island. We took the ferry from Playa after a very disappointing experience with the Hotel Cielo and after a little difficulty finding the Tamarindo- I had forgotten the address in Playa- we found this beautiful gem of a B and B. Opening the door to the property felt like stepping into an oasis. The grounds are gorgeous and felt very natural. After finishing up the necessary paperwork Eliane, our host, provided us with a map of the island complete with suggestions for her favorite places to get breakfast, lunch, dinner and anything else you could possibly need. I can't say enough about Eliane. Her positive demeanor and obvious love for her adopted island shown through and made us feel like we were staying with friends of the family. Also, if your wise enough to choose this B and B, definitely take her advice on where to eat. The people in Cozumel are ultra friendly and by venturing off of the beaten path you will be sure to have an incredible experience that you will never find sticking to the touristy/ cruise ship areas downtown. Zeramtt was great for breakfast and the roasted chicken spot that Eliane recommended was insane! The best chicken of all time and for 70 pesos for a whole chicken with tortillas and salsa the best deal for dinner on the island. Again, this place is the best... Thanks, Eliane! We can't wait to see you next year! Jake and Dawn Lampell

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JTHOR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Tamarindo. The room we stayed in spacious, we had a kitchenette that had all of the essentials, including plates/utensils. Which made is great if we wanted to eat breakfast or lunch in our room.

The bed and pillows were really comfortable.

Elaine was a very nice host and friendly. She even got up early on our departure day to help us call a cab.

This B&B is very private, quiet, in walking distance from many restaurants/local shopping. What I liked about it is we were not in a touristy area. I loved the simple and clean decor.

I highly recommend this place for the independent traveler. Great value too.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mistaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We had a very comfortable two night stay at Tamarindo following a week in Hotel Melia with family. Eliane has designed these units to provide each room with a nook complete with hammock and breakfast table. The bed seemed quite new, the rooms all well cared for, ours had a very efficient AC. Breakfast was brought to our little outdoor table: quesadillas, bananas with granola, coffee one morning.
Anyone traveling to Cozumel would do well to stay here.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandering1Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Tamarindo is a really lovely, beautiful and unique place. Eliane (the host) is so nice. The rooms are also nice and the beds are very big. The breakast is amazing ! We really love that place. We definitely will come back ! Thanks Eliane

Date of stay: April 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelleratwAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews