We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$226
$189
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Cozumel(Cozumel)
$170
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$144
$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$360
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
$117
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$620
$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$119
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$279
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
112
29
5
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
29
5
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig kitchenwonderful pooldefinitely stay here againclean roomscar rentalhot waterdive shopkathyhammocksislandensuitedivingratesferryiguanas
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 155 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Wow, what else can I say? I have been traveling for nearly 2 years now and this is one of the very best hostels I ever stayed. The place is clean, everything is super organised, it is easy to connect to people and hang out around the wonderful pool in this beautiful green garden and on top of this, Katie, the owner, is super nice, very caring and helpful, she even baked a cake for us when I was there. It really really felt like a home. Thank you so much Katie!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schuster K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

THANK YOU for your stay, for your kind words and for choosing Amigos for your place on Cozumel. Wish you only the best. Glad you enjoyed the treats I made!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

In all my travels across Central and South America, this is one of my favourite hostels. Clean, friendly, quiet and a fantastic pool. It's not a party hostel and is a bit out of the way, but in a proper authentic part of town. It's a great place to chill out for a couple of days. Kathy who runs it is really knowledgeable and helpful

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for choosing Amigos and for such kind words. Sorry it has taken my so long to respond. Wish you all the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

As my title says...it is a very tidy, clean and comfortable hostel..... i couldn't ask for anything more. The lady who runs it sets the rules and you follow them which is why it's a well run nice hostel.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

I spent such a great week at Amigos hostel! Kathy is a wonderful host, providing excellent information about local food, activities, directions... as the hostel is situated uptown, it is surrounded by delicious and cheap local restaurants, away from the tourists. The garden is absolutely wonderful, with its hosts such as iguanas and hummingbirds, the swimming pool is just perfect and the kitchen is really well equipped. Cooking breakfast in the morning with the birds tweeting around is an amazing experience! The atmosphere is so friendly, really easy to meet other travelers. The dorms are really clean and spacious. I would absolutely come back here if I am coming back in Cozumel, the whole experience was wonderful! Thank you a lot Kathy!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank Joelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

Kathy, the owner has been living in Cozumel for more than 20 years, but she's originally from Cancun. It's a great place to hang out, relax and meet people due to the hostel's relatively small size (approx. 20 people) so many hang out and simply chat during the evenings. The location is in a local neighbourhood, conveniently away from the touristic center and therefore close to some great, cheap local eats. Upon arriving Kathy provides you with an extensive map and information talk of the Island and hostel, offering many tips and suggestions on what to do. She has contact with some dive shops and rental places which yields a nice discount for guests. Kathy is a great host - one morning she even baked all of us pancakes - and always willing to get to know more of her guests. Beware of the bugs though early morning (7am or so) and make sure to use some insect repellent.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank Jasper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews