We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$189
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Explorean Cozumel(Cozumel)
$296
$198
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Cozumel(Cozumel)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$243
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
112
29
5
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
29
5
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig kitchenwonderful pooldefinitely stay here againclean roomscar rentalhot waterdive shopkathyhammocksislandensuitedivingratesferryiguanas
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 155 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2016

If you stay in Cozumel make sure to book at this Hostel. It is very clean, calm and safe. Kathy gives hints and tries to help out with everything you need. She really cares about her customers. I love this place and will for sure come back!

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franziska C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

Amigos has a fantastic atmosphere if you're travelling solo - it's really friendly, and the perfect size. It's about 20 minutes walk from the ferry dock, however that means you are a bit removed from the tacky restaurants and can find more local places. Kathy is extremely thorough and her advice on other hostels and locations in Mexico is honest and excellent.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
Thank AliceGardoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

Short version: It is nice, no bugs, comfy beds, pleasant common area, clean bathrooms, and has a working kitchen.

Long version:
Because the road in front of the ferry terminal was under construction when I arrived, and there were no taxis immediately available, I thought I'd just walk to the Amigos Hostel. It looked really close on the map! It's a bit farther than you'd expect when you're dressed for the 29° F weather of your departure city and it happens to be 29° C when you arrive in Mexico. If you are relatively fit, acclimated to the weather, and not wearing jeans and a long sleeved shirt, it would be an easy walk. If you are not, get a taxi.

Once you are in the gates, the garden has lots of lovely, cool shade. You go down a path, pass the office and pool, and there are the dorms. I was in the Nopal dorm. Most of the other guests were out galavanting at the time, so I begged off the introductory presentation until I could change into more appropriate clothing. After a nice cold (by choice) shower and a change of clothes, I was given a map of the island, a run down on local eateries, and a quick overview of the rules. There were also some three-ring binders with a load of other information as well.

The room was what you would expect. There were lockers to put your stuff in. The beds were bunks. There was an ensuite with shower stall. Not many tables to put things on, but there is only so much room available. The beds were comfortable, and had both sheets and blankets.

The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans. There is a house sized fridge with freezer for everyone to use to store their own food. There is a propane stove/oven and a secondary set of just burners. Fresh water is available for purchase if the tap water scares you. Also, they are adamant about recycling. (As they should be!)

There are extra toilet facilities by the outdoor living room. I think there is one by the pool as well, but I did not go over there. Remember that they don't really have sewage treatment on the island. Don't throw things like toilet paper or feminine hygiene products in the toilet unless you want to be swimming with it tomorrow. (That really applies to the whole island, not just the hostel.)

The pool looked lovely, but was in the sun with no shade and I thought it best not to add sun burn to the overheating/sunstroke I was already working on. If I'd stayed more than one night I would have jumped right in.

There is plenty of seating in the common area. There are books to read, and films to watch, but mostly everyone sat around and talked into the night. Bedtime was early. Most of the group was going diving and snorkeling the next day.

I did request that the A/C be put on that night, even though it was November. There needed to be consensus of the roommates before this could happen, but it was easily achieved. (One my roommates actually thanked me for asking. He wanted to, but felt nervous doing so. Ah, timid people. Bless!)

It is in a "local" neighborhood. The sidewalks are not perfectly level. There may be a stray dog or cat around, or a wreck of a car in front of one of the other houses. If you stop someone on the street for directions, they may not speak English. If that's going to scare you, honestly, why did you leave home? Cozumel is pretty darned safe if you don't do stupid things; like wander around alone, at night, drunk.

A few other reviews complained about the amount of signage around, and the number of rules being laid out at the beginning of one's stay. I don't see a problem with it. There were people from at least 5 different countries staying there when I was there. Better to have everything spelled out ahead of time when dealing with a diverse group. Especially since it is a shared space. Your "no brainer" is someone else's "who would even think of that".

All in all it's a nice place. I'd stay there again and recommend it to others. If you want a 5 star resort with all the bells and whistles, this will not be the place for you. If you want a reasonably priced bed, with a working bathroom, kitchen, and pool, then here it is.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Kathy is a great host and the grounds and rooms are beautiful. I really enjoyed the pool and outdoor space in my time there. Plenty of room to socialize and a great outdoor kitchen and lounge area. Kathy truly cares about her guests and is always there for assistance when needed. A steal of a deal.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

Great place to stay, quiet at night without being anti social. Kathy is a jewel, lots of info and a great host who knows her town. A useful pool (usually not so much at other hostels) and lots of places to chill out in hammocks or in the amazing garden. Quiet in the morning after all the divers head out, very mellow vibe. I will stay again next time I go to Cozumel.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Modern_Day_Drifter36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews