We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amigos Hostel Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amigos Hostel Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cozy and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2005

I loved Amigo's! The Kopelman's (owners) were wonderfully sweet and everything was just gorgeous! The rooms were clean with private baths and kitchenette. Maybe the beds were a little lumpy and the pathway needed more lighting during the night. Also, the description of a TV and DVD are misleading since there is only one set to be shared with the whole place, no TV/DVD in privacy of room. However, these are the biggest problems, which are definitely outweighed by the coziness and personal touches of the place. The garden is just luscious and so beautiful to come "home" to. Definitely a better choice than the corporate, boring, giant and impersonal hotel chains....get the Cozumel charm by staying here!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
19
56
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2005

Do not hesitate to book here if you are looking for a quiet location that is close to downtown. We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-March 2005 with our 2 children. The room was large enough for all of us and the covered porch was a real plus for a little extra room. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The gardens in which the rooms are located were beautiful and the pool offered a refreshing break from salt water at any time. The breakfast is simple (menu on their website), serve yourself style and fresh drinking water is available at all times. We walked to the ocean each night without a problem. You do walk through Cozumel's residential neighborhoods (which we thought was great) but this may be an issue for some who are not comfortable after dark in a foriegn country. If you are on the fence about this property, I would encourage you to try it and get a taste of Cozumel living.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripplanner104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2005

We had a wonderful time at Amigo's the week of Feb. 26th. We stayed in the Avocado room, which is the smallest, but perfect for the 2 of us. The grounds were beautiful, lots of fruit trees and flowers. The pool was clear and cool(just right for a hot afternoon dip) and we were the only ones using it. Breakfast was also good with lots of fruit, cereal, bread and occasionally, a hot entree. Plus we met lots of interesting people. The location was good - in a neighbourhood, but close enough to the town center and the waterfront that everything was in walking distance. We had a lovely visit and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peaches2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2005

Great value. Quiet neighborhood within walking distance from downtown. Wonderful pool, courtyard and palapa area. In a fun way, Amigo's is similar to a youth hostel for adults. We met other travelers with an adventurous spirit. We'll definitely book our next Cozumel stay at Amigo's.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2002

Just came back from a week in Paradise on the island of Cozumel.. What made this so special ( we've been to Cozumel MANY times for the spectacular diving with El Gran Azul) is the place we stayed.. Amigo's B&B was super. It is tucked away on a quiet street,yet it IS in downtown,on calle 7.. Just a short walk to the water. The rooms are spacious and have a kitchenette with refrig to keep our XX beers cold.. The breakfast was Yummy and the hostess Kathy is about the most informative and friendly person I have ever met while visiting Cozumel.. This IS THE ONLY place I will stay when I return... Certainly worth the price.. Only three units that book fast, so plan your stays in advance..

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
4.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#13 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#23 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#21 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beds Friends Hostel
Beds Friends Hostel
#1 of 43 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigos Hostel Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos Hostel Cozumel

Property: Amigos Hostel Cozumel
Address: Calle 7 sur # 571 | between Ave 30 & 25 Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Amigo's B&B Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amigos Hostel Cozumel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amigos Hostel Cozumel consists of two 4 bunk dormitory rooms, each with capacity of 8 people, with shared bath, lockers, extra sink, AC at night from 10 pm to 8 am May to October, and large communal kitchen area for cooking. Communal palapa area with Dish US TV system, high speed Wi Fi free internet access. Large pool and lush gardens remain part of the enjoyment of Amigos Hostel. Separate private cottage with complete kitchenette, safety box, private bath available max of 3 in three single individual sized beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Amigos Hostel Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing