We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Intamacy for the budget traveler”
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Charm and Intamacy for the budget traveler”
Reviewed April 24, 2005

My thanks to Tom and his staff for a most pleasant stay. Granted, it was the "off" season and so issues of other postings regarding overbooking and such was not a problem. This is a great setting, in a great location - a short walk to the Ferry and plaza. The room was nicer than the big hotel I was at in Cancún, and the food was outstanding. I ate both dinner meals there, and wish I had had more time to sample the menu. I was able to book scuba dives on a great boat at reasonable prices. My thanks!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    151
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
232
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2005

I finished my open water scuba course in Playa del Carmen on April 16 and had one day left to dive in Cozumel, from which my plane was to leave on the 18th. I made the dive arrangements, took the ferry over to Cozumel, and had two great dives. Since my plane did not leave until the next day, I knew I would need a cheap but OK hotel.

I found this one in the French Travel Book, Le Routard. I asked the divemaster about it (she said it had a good bar) and decided to check it out when the dives were over. I was most pleasantly surprised -- a slightly off-season rate of $40, pleasant staff, a clean, perfectly adequate room with plenty of space, minibar, and good bed. Later in the afternoon I went to the hotel's rooftop balcony with a snifter of good tequila from the bar and smoked a Cuban cigar as I watched the sun set. Then I went down to the small restaurant in the attractive courtyard and had a delicious seafood dinner.

The location is especially good too -- it's three blocks from the main ferry dock area where the cruise ships let their passengers off, but it's close enough to that area to walk to the shops around there. It is also near to the local people. Directly across the street is a truly authentic Mexican cafe and lunch counter -- El Morrito. Be sure to try it.

I was really pleased with my staty and plan to return with my wife and spend a little time there next winter. It's not a Hilton, but it has tons more character.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glubglub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2005

VERY INTERESTING! Most as I have , seemed to have really enjoyed their time at the Flamingo Hotel in Cozumel . The Flamingo is what you might have thought Cozumel always Used to looked like but. . . .NEWS FLASH it never did...
This is a VERY COOL small Hotel . I began going to The Flamingo in 1992 boy have I seen it change over the years and ALL for the better BTW. The food is BTW Great and though we own a home on the island we still send refer folks, friends and family to use The Flamingo Hotel when we . . are full : ). AS recently as this past Feb. For "Carnival" btw. Why The Flamingo ? Because I know I can count on how they will be treated and I will not have any concerns for them or their trip. Its not for everyone . . .could be why there are other hotel's on the island Go Figure : )
IF . .. you need a 5 ***** compound . . .go pay for it as your not, going to be happy at the Flamingo Hotel. As for all the rest of us ??? Great place to hang out for a couple weeks wasn't it : )
Richard and Audrey
Chicago/Cozumel

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Divecoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2005

Really nice, friendly staff. The penthouse is a huge apartment - a bit worn-down, but clean with good beds, fridge, kitchen and tv. Wonderful sunset view over the Caribean Sea. Food is fine as well. Spend four nights there. Just might go there again!

Helpful?
3 Thank JakobJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Flamingo during the week of March 8th-15th. Our stay was wonderful and the staff was helpful. The location of the Flamingo just a few blocks north of the main shoping plaza was perfect. The distance to the recreational areas, shopping, great resturants was OPTIMAL! Everything we needed was within a few blocks and the longest cab fare we took was $5. We considered staying out of town at first, but are very glad we decided not to. The Flamingo is on a quiet side street with little traffic and offers a full bar / resturant to top it off. We look forward to staying there again! The staff was very helpful in arranging our daily outings to the beach, shore diving, boat diving, car rental and hourseback riding. Fun stuff! Thanks for a great week in COZY-MEL!
Scott and Cari B

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2005

We booked 4 nights in March 05 based on the glowing reviews we read. We are not divers but wanted to try a hotel close to town for a change. We have been coming annually to Cozumel, Playa or Isla Mujeres for 10 years and have stayed in hotels ranging from simple beach cabanas, all inclusives, to 5 diamond reorts like the Presidente Intercontinental. For the price we paid at the Flamingo, we did not expect much. We were not prepared for the lack of basic ammenities and uncleanliness. We could not get our fan to work and could not turn the extemely noisy airconditioner on except at full blast.......all the controls were broken. We asked for help but no one came. Our sheets were stained with what looked like menstrual blood and the matress was very old and uncomfortable. There was barely any water and it was cold. There was a very noisy party going on just outside our door in the common area and we were awake until dawn. The breakfast was cold and served by a very unfriendly waitress. We had rented a jeep at the airport the day before and waisted no time finding another hotel. We checked out by 3pm and never even considered asking for a refund. You may want to see this place before booking a night.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Flamingo Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2005
We welcome all comments and suggestions from our guests. All the AC units do not have controls because the system is configured with an on/off switch with the controls preset. This is to prevent any problems for the guest who wants to figure out the settings. We have recently been making in room improvements to the hotel such as new beds, new ceiling fans, new quieter ac units, new plumbing and light fixtures etc., but we cannot do all of these while the hotel is full. At present, all cieling fans have just been replaced with new modern ones shjpped from the states and each room has a new mattress. We will soon be installing in room safes as well as fridges to increase the convenience and comforts for our guests. Additional improvement will include completely remodeled rooms with new furniture, upgraded linens, and voice mail for our guest room. All of this is in our long term commitment to provide a better quality stay for our guests. We did have a few spring breakers staying at the hotel, but we do not allow any loud parties and we have 24 hour security to enforce this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our bar and grill is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing