We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Charming Undiscovered Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Charming Undiscovered Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Already planning a return trip to stay at this charming little boutique hotel. I loved, loved, loved that it was just 2 blocks off the main square and a half block off the water. Convenient to lots of restaurants and shopping, yet quiet.

The staff is a large part of their success. Ivan at the bar makes a mean Mojito, Adrien at the front desk takes care of all the small details that need tending. Elizabeth takes wonderful care of the rooms leaving a different towel animal on your bed each day and for those of you lucky enough to book directly and get a full breakfast, you'll be well taken care of by the breakfast staff. By the second day, they were able to anticipate our groups' needs and be sure and try the coconut french toast - yummmmmy. Tom is the American owner and he is quite hands on and around the hotel often.

Each room is different but stay in a Superior room if you are travelling as a couple - they have a small refrigerator in each room. If you need two beds in a room, you'll be staying in the Standard rooms or splurge and rent the Penthouse - it is amazing.

There is no pool here but who needs it when you can go to one of the local beach clubs nearby and swim in the gorgeous blue Cozumel water or if you stay in the Penthouse - hop in the jacuzzi tub that is out on the veranda.

We enjoyed ourselves so much, we are making a return trip this fall (something we don't usually do). The rates are a bargain - the dive operation they set you up with is amazing and provides lunch so while you are there you really just have to buy dinner - how cool is that?

Counting the days until I return. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    140
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
32
213
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a great, comfortable, convenient hotel. The staff provides excellent service. This was the second time we stayed here and highly recommend it! We love the decor in the rooms, the bar and throughout the hotel. Make sure to check out the view from the rooftop. We will stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was awesome! I went with my boyfriend to Cozumel for a couple days and we stayed here. Upon arrival the front desk agent was awesome, he showed us different rooms we could stay in and let us pick our room. For the price the room is a steal! The room itself Was clean had Hot water, and was comfortable. The wifi downstairs was a great connection, great free breakfast and the staff let us park our rental car for FREE the entire time we stayed there. I know they don't usually do that, but they bent over backwards to make us happy. The front desk has two agents a father/son and they are awesome. They took the time to give us great beach recommendations, restaurant recommendations, and were very Friendly. The hotel is easy to find since cozumel is so small and it's walking distance the main plaza with great shopping /food. I would recommend renting a car to get out the more private beaches.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I just returned on Aug. 6, 2012 from a 9 nite 10 day stay at Flamingo. My friend from Chicago and her granddaughter was there also. I am from Texas. Most amazing place I have been in lately. Warmn friendly staff from Tom, Shirley, Ivan , Adrain, Elizabeth, and the rest of the crew. Rooms great, no problem with hot water, fixed the rattle in AC myself. After the first morning we upgraded to hot breakfast and ate there the rest of our stay. We have friends that live there who are locals and they came a couple times and had breakfast with us. Ivan is the best thing going there. He is warm, friendly, fixes great drinks and can talk with anyone. Please Tom , dont let him get away from ya'll. I cant drink anymore and he fixed me all kinds of wonderful virgin drinks. I have been going to Cozumel since 1982 and I did not know about this wonderful little hotel. Do not be afraid to stay here as its great. The local place across the street has good food. They even brought it across the street to me. You are doing a great job there Tom. Will see you next trip... Maxine F. from Texas.

Room Tip: I think all would be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia_TexasMaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was skeptical when the taxi pulled up to this hotel but the amenities are wonderful! The room (including the bathroom) was clean and comfortable, totally modern. I appreciated the complimentary breakfast (The cook/waiter is awesome!).
The only slightly annoying thing is that the older guy at the front desk lacks the skill to go "above and beyond." --- When I checked in, he told me my room is on the 2nd floor. When I asked for help carrying my heavy suitcase up the stairs, he replied "Well we don't have anyone to really do that but let me find someone." The next day when I asked him about my transportation to the dive shop, he insisted that I was to pay for the fare as it was not included in the price I paid for the diving. I had to show him my diving voucher to prove that I had paid for transportation to/from the dive shop. Finally on my last morning I asked that breakfast be brought to my room (The hotel information stated that this was an option.) so I could finish packing. Again he again replied "We don't really have anyone to do that but let me find someone." BOTH times the cook/waiter helped me.
Nevertheless, I will definitely go back and will definitely recommend this place to anyone who will listen. Of course I will also recommend bringing lighter bags in case the hotel room is on the 2nd floor.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel nestled in great area in downtown Cozumel... Staff was extremely friendly and helpful... Ivan the bar tender and host definitely deserves a raise :) Roof top nice view, room very clean and stylish and cool little hang out areas on each floor... My only complaint is that maybe the air conditioner worked too well... Thanks for the hospitality Cozumel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snooperdooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a little family own small quiet hotel with comfortable rooms, breakfast, even a great bar with cheap drinks and a great bartender. The staff is always smiling and helpful, maid service is fantastic and even the drinks and snacks in the room fridge is cheap.. this is the best deal on the entire island and I will be back again this and next.....Terry, Texas Oilman

Room Tip: Not a bad room, even the suit is only like $140 a night and its HUGE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#5 of 50 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#11 of 50 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#19 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our restaurant and bar "Aqua" is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing