We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for a relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel B Cozumel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot for a relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We visited Hotel B on our honeymoon and it gave is exactly what we needed. Mellow, easy, relaxing, still fun.

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. They remembered our names, always had a smile on, and would greet you every time you ran into them in the hallway. It felt like coming downstairs to your own living room each morning.

The guys at the front desk could help you get transport and reservations anywhere you needed to go.

We snorkeled multiple times a day right off the dock outside. For the amateur, it is a great experience; clear water, tons of fish and a rock wall to explore.

Rooms were nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. And they provide all the filtered water you can drink, which is awesome in Mexico.

They have a great "romantic dinner on the sea" option that was reasonably priced and super cool for a sunset meal on a honeymoon.

During the day it is a pool club that has people pay an entrance fee to hang for the day. Made for a cool environment, but get downstairs early if you want to pick your seat.

Food and drinks are a bit pricey for Mexico expectations, but not outrageous. Great ceviche options.

There aren't any restaurants or shops within a 25 minute walk, but its a five minute and 60 peso cab ride downtown that is super easy. Its nice to be away from that downtown zone until you want to go there.

2 for 1 happy hour was legit just before sunset. Perfect to get a couple cold ones in hand in time to watch the sun hit the sea.

They offered yoga in the mornings on the deck overlooking the sea. Great experience and great way to start the day.

If you are looking for a great spot that isn't a big resort, this is it.

Do it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your feed back and great coments, we are always happy to read that our guest had a great time and as you mentioned we are a hotel boutique offering a personalize service, with yoga by the sea every morning, ceviche workshops, tequila tasting and othe service as a unique concept for travelers in search of new experiences.
Thank you againg for recoment us, we are looking forward to welcomen you back soon.
Kind Regards

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    214
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
92
384
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

this hotel have 40 rooms. well designed. all rooms have ocean view; pools and jacuzzi right in front of the ocean! although I did not use the pool or jacuzzi I preferred to swim in the ocean. bring your snorkeling gear boy it is beautiful! very few places offer, your own private pool in the ocean. Service great staff always friendly.
only one grey thing. they should improve breakfast

Room Tip: all rooms have a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for you feed back and great comments, it´s great to read the you enjoyed your stay swimming at the ocean right in front Hotel B we are agree the is the best natural pool with that turquoise colors combine from the mini-bay is one of most beautiful places in the hotel, we are happy that our staff efforts were well perceived. On regards the breakfast we already made some changes like adding hash browns potatoes and others.

Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved it! It was the perfect spot at the end of a 2-week trip on the Yucatan. Unfortunatly we could only stay for 4 nights.
Rooms are very spacious and comfy with amazing ocean and pool views. The grounds and pool are kept very clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. We also booked an introductory scuba diving course and a snorkeling tour with the dive shop.
Breakfast was included in our rate which was good. Dinner was excellent as well but more expensive then the Mexican average. Hotel also offers free wifi.

I can understand that it might not be for every as it´s not the typical resort /all inclusive experience, but if you´re looking for something a bit more modern, laid-back, boutique style hotel, this is it.
Would love to go back immediately!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for your amazing comments, We know that 4 nights is not enough for a trip in Cozumel, but is great to read that you go back home with a taste of Mexico with a very good experience as diving in the second largest barrier of reefs in the world and as you mentioned we are boutique hotel with a unique concept offering yoga by the sea every morning, Ceviche and tequila workshops, lounge live music every Thursday and live music and Saturdays…
We will be happy to have you here soon.

Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

So far this is my favorite hotel among the ones I have stayed at!! This hotel is really nice with great service, good location and great snorkeling. The view from the rooms is stunning (all rooms have ocean view) and the rooms are of good size and very clean. The breakfast is good. Yoga that was advertised as for all levels was definitely not for beginners so had to leave the class after a short while. Fortunately they did not charge me for the class! The service and quality of food in the restaurant varies a bit. Some days it was great, some days not so much. They are a bit pricey too but we expected that. I rented snorkeling gear at the hotel ($12 for a day) and snorkeled in the ocean right in front of the hotel. Saw a ton of colorful fish and a huge sting ray! Really enjoyed it! If you're looking for a smaller more quiet hotel this is the place to go. I would keep coming back here just to get that amazing view!! Love this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saradeviletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very exited to read that your vacation were great and that you found our secret, that is our amazing views to the caribbean from your room so if you request the second floor and reserves the Ocean View Deluxe you can enjoy the view sitting in your bed, on regards the activities the yoga by the sea in the wooden deck is one our best, allow me to suggest for your next visit the tequila workshop, an alternative masage aquassage or just take a tour around the island with our bikes..

We will be more than welcome to have you here soon... JUST B!

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The food was superb, the location was ideal, the snorkeling was good, but the service left a lot to be desired. The first day they were very courteous. Prices are a bit high but you pay for the ambience. The second day, the service was slow and our room was cleaned mid-afternoon - right around siesta time. The third day, it was almost 4:00pm and the room had not been cleaned so we canceled service. The fourth day, we requested early cleaning and the room was cleaned immediately and very thoroughly.
We took advantage of the bicycles at the hotel - which were horrible. They did not charge us for bike rental since we complained. I didn't expect top-notch bikes but these were terrible.
They allow day passes so just be aware that in the afternoon the pool gets crowded. The evenings were quiet, though.
Christian at the front desk and Jose in the restaurant were very attentive and made the rest of our stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Overall, I would recommend it but make sure to ask for what you need/expect.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bring to our attention your comments, it´s always great to hear our guests in order to improve our service, please allow me to mention that we are doing all corrections in order to offer an effective room cleaning everyday, also we already made the correct maintenance to our bikes in order our guest can enjoy a tour around the island.

in other hand we are making all adjustments on regards the visitors who wants to enjoy our facilities and restaurant, in order our hotels guests can enjoy a boutique experience. It´s great to read that our sttaf Christian and Jose were attentive with you during your stay, they are always excited to know that thru their work with guests return home rested and happy.

We will Be more than welcome to have you here soon... JUST B!

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

When we got there we didn't think much of it from the front but once we got in the room, our minds changed. The room was so cute and the view was breathtaking. The pool was really nice and the hot tub was the perfect temp. It's set right above the ocean. There is a little lagoon below the pool and you can use it or the latters on the deck or behind the hot tub to get into the ocean. There's no beach, just the water. We so enjoyed swimming around out there because we were all alone instead of a crowded beach. On Thursdays, they have a jazz band that plays out on the deck for dinner. The food was amazing. We had portobello mushroom stuffed with goat cheese for an appetizer. I had cheese stuffed chicken and my boyfriend got pasta with shrimp. The portions were on the smaller size. With all we ate, it was perfect. We also had an amazing dark chocolate brownie with raspberry ice cream. It didn't look like much but was soooooo good. We also ordered two half bottles of wine. In the end, everything was under $70!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirisacrystine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are excited that you enjoyed your visit at Hotel B and I am sure that all details mentioned will be very helpful for future guests.

We work every day to give our guests a perfect and unique journey, through our services, and for sure through all our meals… At the end of the day, this is what makes a stay be remarkable.
Thank you again for your feedback, it´s great to read that Hotel B concept was well perceived as a Boutique Hotel for travelers in search of new experiences!

We will continue working every day for exceed your expectations in your next visit.

Have a great day and..just B!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed 2 weeks at Hotel B, and in that time we saw the best and not so best of the hotel!

Positive points:
- Great view
- Hot tub
- Infinity pool
- Hammocks and outdoor beds
- Excellent access for swimming in the sea
- Friendly waiting and room service staff, some friendly front of house staff
- Good room service
- Very clean

Negative points:
- Noisy AC generator on the roof (not good if you are on the top floor, we had to move down a floor)
- Evidently were vents from the sewer system in each of the bathrooms, which on some nights emanated a vile smell (like kitchen waste), strong enough to wake us. We moved rooms again to avoid this, with moderate success. We eventually found out that this might have been because the hotel's pump had broken down.
- Hit and miss food. If it had been consistently good we would have eaten there a lot more, but being as it was, we went into town for all evening meals.
- Terrible cocktails.

Overall, it was a nice stay, and I would consider staying again if returning to Cozumel, but with a few minor changes, Hotel B could be fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TubsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very appreciate your time and feedback through trip advisor, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the Hotel Views and facilities like the wooden deck with hammocks and the Jacuzzi. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing our service. Therefore we had a meeting with our staff in order to fix all details you mentioned.
We would kindly ask to return in the future so that we can make it up for you and create that special experience that we try hard to offer to every guest.
We hope your enjoyed the rest of your stay and that we can have you back in the future.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
7.2 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Property: Hotel B Cozumel
Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing