We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel for people who like the ocean without sand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel for people who like the ocean without sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a very pretty and clean hotel outside of the center. it's plain but in a good way. painted in white and turquoise color. we were there for a weekend and there were only few hotel guests. apparently you can pay as an outside guest and spend the day at the hotel, using the pool and all other amenities. the view is just fantastic and worth getting a room with a view. there are different spots to get a tan; hammocs, beds, beachchairs and chairs. breakfast wasn't included in the price and the quality was less than average. the nachos were soaked from the salsa, the eggs didn't have any flavor and there is much better fruit in Mexico.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello,
I would like to thank you very much for having let your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to have received you in our hotel and it is good to know your enjoyed your days, the view and the different corners to enjoy the hotel and nature.
As for the outside guests, we welcome people to participate in our yoga classes, our ceviche, tequila and other workshops, to listen to our live music and if interested, they can spend part of the day. We have limited the number of people that can come in to guarantee the relaxing atmosphere we want for our guests, who are what matters the most for us.
As for the breakfast, I will check on the restaurant to consider your observations and make the adjustments. We generally get good reviews of the food and breakfast, so we will see what happened. Our chilaquiles should be made at the moment so that you the right crunchiness and flavor!
Our team is working hard every day to listen to your feedback and have the perfect spot for a great weekend or week escape.
Thank you again, your comment is really helpful and we hope to see you back with us.
All the best,
Beatriz Tinajero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    214
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
92
385
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent location,with a splendid view, where the 4 of us spent a great time and had a very good service ! B friendly to them they will B friendly to you !

The advantage of being in a non-all inclusive place is a much more personalized service and the option to go out in town for lunch, diner, shopping, sight seeing, fishing, etc.

Roberto is Hotel B's knowledgeable Food & Beverage manager who will go overboard to make some very special cocktails or a Tequilla tasting session ! Roberto arranged as well for Thalia, an exceptional chef, to cook the 25 lbs Mahi-Mahi we caught... Thalia made 2 separate meals for 4 out of it ! First in a traditional way (ceviche and some baked Tik'nxic) than an exciting mango / jicama ceviche as a starter followed by a marvelous baked filet with sweet and sour salsa (see pic).
José runs around for anything you may need and "Gordito" makes the best flambé desserts in Yucatan !
Service is also impecable at the reception should you need a restaurant reservation or anything else. A real "concierge"service !
My wife and daughter enjoyed some massage while we guys were snorkeling right off the hotel and had a nice cold Sol !
Room is large and comfortable but a refrigerated mini-bar and more water pressure at the shower would be very welcome...
The place is very popular with young (and nice looking..) Israeli touring after their military service so make sure you "reserve" your favorite spot by the pool when you go for breakfast ...
All in all a very good place to stay. Get to meet and know the personnel and enjoy a nice vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel_myMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Good morning!
Thanks for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure to receive you and pamper you. Warm greeting from Roberto, Thalia, José, and the whole B Team.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the different services and spots of the hotel and the island: from great massages, to nice fishing and dinning. And every family member enjoyed different alternatives that the hotel and the island offers. I love that you took the tequila workshop and enjoyed it so much; it is our new baby and I believe it is a great way to get to know a piece of the Mexican culture a little bit more in a fun and creative way. Thanks for giving it a shot!
I´m also taking notes of your recommendations. The day guests that we have had give a nice movement to the hotel but, listening to our guests, we have realized that the most important thing is to respect their space to be relaxed, so we have put a limit to the number of people that can come inn. And we will continue listening to you in order to find the right spot in all senses.
Thank you again for your comment and I hope we can see you back soon.
All the best,
Beatriz Tinajero
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and son for a family vacation. We love this hotel and from the minute we got there we felt right at home. After a long day of travel with flight delays we were in a hurry to get in our hotel. When we got there they had everything ready and felt like they were expecting us. They Show us the place and even gave us a complementary drink. I spent my vacation scubadiving while my family was sightseeing. They gave us really helpful tips about places to visit and how to do things. The hotel is small and pretty which is something that we like about hotels. We always like small hotels and tried to avoid overcrowds. The food was excellent reason for which we had breakfast and dinner always at the hotel. The service was great and we even aspoke with the general manager a couples time. We learn the names of the people who work there such as roberto gm., christian, sugei, jose, wilbert to said a few. We are definetely coming back to this hotel. My wife got a massage from eva and she has been fascinated ever seen. Already planning our return. This hotel is highly reccomended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello dear guest,
Thank you so much for your warm and touching comment. It is a great pleasure to know that we could contribute to make someone´s trip a better one, with nice and unique experiences. That is our whole moto!
Making your feel “at home” is our goal, but a home by the sea, in paradise with an amazing view. We also look for quiet and simple things that make every day more enjoyable such as nices areas to relax, warm attention and care of our staff, couple of hammocks to relax on the deck and many more.
Thank you very much, and we hope to see you again soon in our hotel.
Best,
Beatriz Tinajero,
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Long overdue report. Family of Four (14 & 15 Year old Teens)

Why we chose Hotel B (Thanks to the forum)
We are anti all inclusive resorts for several reasons.
1). We tend not to eat as much in hot weather and we always feel like we have to when we go AI.
2). The food is just okay
3). It's expensive - we can go on two trips for the cost of one.

Hotel B was a small hotel that included breakfast and snorkeling from shore. It allows us to visit other lunch and dinner spots and had great reviews that were perfect for us.

My family of four (14 & 15 year old Teens) stayed over spring break in a Ocean View room on the Main floor. The room, beds and bathroom were fine - nothing special.
(We were not in our rooms except to sleep). The view was great.

We were on the american plan and breakfast was included and has been reported on many times. We are early risers so our service was always pretty good with some language barrier exceptions. Food was good.

The pool was small but nice and the lounge area had a couple big futon like beach chairs that were great. The real reason we chose this Hotel was the snorkeling right in front of the hotel.
We ended up not taking a snorkel tour on this trip becasue it was awesome just jumping in 3 times a day right by the hotel. We have snorkeled many places in Carribean and although Hotel B is not the best place we have snorkeled (Belize) it might have been the best snorkeling from shore that we have done.

Caution - the current pulls you toward the Buccanos end of the Island and the swim back can be difficult even with flippers. It is possible to get out and walk back on the nice path if in trouble or carry a mesh bag with water shoes and plan on walking back. That worked well too.

Cooking Class
My family of four enjoyed the cooking class (Wife's Idea - I was not really interested, but ended up having a lot of fun). Between drinks and ceviche it was a really nice evening spent with the staff of the hotel.

Photography Class
I bought my wife a nice camera a couple years ago and she is always complaining that she does not know how to use it. (Yeah it is not just males who dont like to read directions.)
The hotel organizes a class for people who have no idea how to really use their camera - which is probably 90% of us. Great deal - beats reading the manuel.

Yoga Class
My wife and daughter planned on doing this every morning. I put the over/under at 3 times during our six nights and they came in under at 2 times. They liked it but things got in the way of making it to class every day.

Walking/Biking Path
My son and I are the real early risers - so we would go hop on the path right outside the front door and either walk or borrow the free bikes. It was a great way to see a lot of our side of the island. Also, when going out at night we would sometimes walk the path partway to town or home just for fun.

Taxi Fares
Really reasonable to downtown - to other places it is always good to ask first and haggle if need be.

Driver for the day
We had the hotel find us a guy to drive us around for a day long trip to the other side.
Probably could have planned it better and found a better fit for a driver - but it was fun.
Next time I think I will rent a car for the day.

Food
We went out to several places including Buccanos at night and downtown etc....
We actually ate at the Hotel several times and really liked it.
Sometimes it is nice to explore and sometimes it was nice to just lounge at our hotel and be served while laying on a really comfortable futon beach couch overlooking the ocean.

Staff
Really liked the staff

Bottom Line
Hotel B is a reasonably priced botique hotel with decent rooms and exceptional everything else.

Room Tip: Swim against the current and come back with the current.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthDakotaninKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor, we are glad to read that you have enjoyed your time in our Hotel.
Our team is working every day to offer you the best services and accommodations. For this reason, we are really happy to see that you greatly enjoyed a large part of our services, all the more that you took the opportunity to discover the Mexican culture with our workshops.
Hotel B makes it possible to put together all the essential elements to satisfy each member of the family. For parents looking for quiet and relaxation, we offer Spa with massages or yoga lessons; also you can just relax yourself with a mojito enjoying our wonderful ocean view. For children or teens searching for new experiences and sensations, they are welcome to do snorkel or have fun in the pool. Lastly to reunite all the family, our workshops are the perfect way by discovering all together a new culture and activities while bonding and taking home a memorable experience.
By having participated on the several activities offered at Hotel B Cozumel, you have enjoyed your journey here and for our team that is the best reward and satisfaction that we aim to achieve!
Thank you very much and you will always be welcome in our hotel.
Beatriz Tinajero,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

first let me say that i have been going to cozumel for 39 years - and this was, by far; THE BEST HOTEL EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD ON COZUMEL; excellent room with living area and great balcony overlooking the water/ice cold air conditioning/ice cold fridge/great view from our bathroom window!/room service by concepcion was outstanding (her little animals were perfect)/ pool side service and restaurant service by henri/jose/jose carlos/carlos/fausto/javier and carla was excellent - prompt/eager/and enthusiastic; christian (at the front desk) as well as cesar were very helpful (christian helped me make the reservation over the phone); there were no surprises; and finally - Roberto (food and beverage manager) went out of his way to ensure that our time at the hotel was excellent: he waited on us-he personally cooked for us-and personally gave us a private tasting and education session on tequila and mescal; it was excellent - the hotel is lucky to have roberto - he loves the hotel and it shows in his work and attitude; the hotel itself is exquisite - and is getting better - they have a goal and a vision to be the best and they are working hard to achieve it; we can't wait to go back! larry and carolyn may; hattiesburg, ms

Room Tip: had junior suite 304 (corner 3rd floor - ocean front) - was outstanding! we did not try spa so can n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malambo1
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May. The location and setting of the place is truly stunning. Nice rooms with great views and a modern but also Mexican touch. Maid Service by Conseption -perfectly with a great smile.
But thats where its ends. In general we always felt there was something missing which would make this place more standing out. Service was very inconsistent at Breakfast and also during the day at the pool service. It looks like a bunch of untrained young kids are managing to service there. We never did see any Supervision. We did plan to eat at their restaurant but gladly went out to town every night. The public area especially around the pool should get an update. They need to decide to vamp this place up and make it truly special or just managing it at is on a 3 star level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malambo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-b C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback through trip advisor. Listening to our guests is our best way to continue improving, reinforcing what you like and working on your observations. We are glad you like our Hotel setting of place, and our room views. We changed our ocean view deluxe bed orientation so that you can enjoy the view from the bed after waking up. And we work with artisans from all over México to show a little bit of the country's cultural richness from the Caribbean.

As for your comments on the service, we regret that you had the sensation to have missed something during your stay. Our goal is to create unique and round experiences with all our guests and I can see with did not achieve this goal during your stay. After listening to you, we have started an intense service training program with all our staff and mostly with our waiters. Some of them are actually being formed at the hotel and our goal is to create highly professionals that can be one step ahead of our clients. I am positive that the next time you come you will feel the difference. It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, and have a great week!

Beatriz
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights (4/28-4/30) in Room 206 after spending the first parts of our 20th anniversary vacation in Cancun and Riviera Maya. My wife and I cannot wait to return to Hotel B for a longer visit. I won't describe the hotel as "great" or "excellent." Those words are inadequate. Hotel B simply stated is...special. We arrived early in the morning and our room was not ready so the front desk invited us to change in the bathroom and use the pool and beach area. We immediately fell in love with this hotel. The vibe was incredible. A DJ played very relaxing beat music. There were visitors from numerous countries in the pool and jacuzzi. A small group of mature Israeli college students blended well with those of us from the USA. The service was excellent - good food and our drinks were always refreshed. Staff always greeted us warmly and with a smile, as if they, too, know how special Hotel B is. Clean room with awesome views of the ocean. Added bonus - the snorkeling in front of Hotel B is very good. Plenty of colorful fish to entertain us and we saw many stingray and barracuda. If you visit Hotel B please give Ava at the spa a chance to give you what will be one of the best massages of your life. If you have any doubts about visiting Hotel B, please e-mail us. We will be happy to speak with you on the phone or answer your questions via e-mail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShoreCouple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBCozumel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for this touching comment!
We are ever so touched by reading this comment because you totally received the message that we wanted to transmit, and that for what we are working every day.
Hotel B has you said, is “special” and we are trying everyday to develop this originality to make you to have a unique journey, and incredible experiences. For this reason, it´s a big success for us to hear that you had enjoyed our services like massages and restaurant and that you appreciated our staff helpfulness.
We will be glad to see you again in Hotel B!
Beatriz
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.2 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Property: Hotel B Cozumel
Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing