We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this hotel!”
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I booked a vacation here because of a living social deal. We have been to Cozumel numerous times and love it there, but have never been to this hotel before. After staying here we will probably never stay anywhere else! (I should say unless they decide to jack up the prices, or let the maintainance go downhill, which happens down there sometimes). This is after all, a newly renovated hotel. Christian, who works at the front desk (and seems to always be there) is wonderful! He is very professional, helpful and patient, he made the experience there very pleasant. The hotel beds were very comfortable, the room was very clean. I have a very sensitive sense of smell, and afer reading one review that said "close the bathroom door to avoid sewer smell" I have to say, I think it might have been someone's spouse trying to cover up a "problem", because there was no smell what so ever. The resort is small, which we enjoyed because of the peace and quiet. The snorkeling right from the hotel was fantastic-we saw a giant puffer fish that was about 4 feet long, a large octopus right in the lagoon right in front of the hotel, and a beautiful eel hanging out of the coral wall along the resort. Lots of beautiful fish too of course. The food at the hotel was very good, but we did not eat there a lot, since we enjoy going in to town in the evenings.

Room Tip: not all of the rooms have a fridge, be sure to ask if you are expecting one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Hotel B Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 794 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights and wouldn't hesitate to come back. The hotel reminds me of a boutique hotel in South Beach. I am more used to staying in large resorts but really enjoyed the more intimate feel of a smaller place. The view from all rooms is incredible. The whole staff was great, they were very helpful and friendly. They felt like family by the time we left! Snorkeling off the hotel was great. The water was clear and calm. We could jump right off the dock to snorkel. We didn't spend really any time in the pool, it was a small pool and quite warm, almost warmer then the hot tub. The american breakfast was good, eggs, toast, bacon or ham and fruit. We also ate lunch there a couple times and it was good. They also set up romantic dinners for us where they would put a table right next to the ocean, it was wonderful.

The only thing that I would change is to put fridges in the rooms with bottled water. They did have water in the hallways and gave us a pitcher for the room which we would have to get refilled. Other than that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My fiance and I just got back last night from Cozumel and stayed at Hotel B. We booked our vacation there for 8 nights because of a Living Social deal. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and our room wasn't ready so we had a couple beers poolside. We had 2 double beds and Christian gave us a King bed so we were happy. Christian is great (he's the reservation manager). We were in 407 and it was a great room. It was very clean and simple, we really liked it. The resort is simple, small, and exactly what we wanted. I am use to big resorts and this was a nice break from the mega resorts. We booked 3 days of diving and ended up renting a jeep which was "key" to this week. The American breakfast that comes with the room rate is good. It got old after 8 days but honestly, it was good so no complaints there. We got two romantic dinners with our deal and that was really nice. We had it on the deck both times and it was nice. A bottle of wine, salad, fish, and awesome crepes were the dinner, both times. The fish was over cooked both times which was not the best but honestly, everything else was so nice that we didn't care.
Things I liked: Nice simple room, Christian, Juan Carlos (waiter). Snorkeling off the resort was great. The hot tub and pool is nice.

Things I think need improvement: Bar and food service. The bar is almost for no reason...never got a drink from it and the first day when our room wasn't ready, no one was there and others who had ordered drinks came up to get them...very odd.
same thing with the food. We would have ordered more food and drinks if the waitress was ever around. i have to say, it was the female waitress, once the male came on, he was great.
Housekeeping. We dived 3 days and weren't back till 3 and our room was not made up. We wanted to take a nap after we got back but almost 10 minutes after we laid down they knocked on our door to do our room. Very frustrating. I'd rather they came earlier in the day and got our room done before 3:00.

OH, we had a massage...AWESOME. Hurt like crazy so let them know if the pressure is too muchl

Other than those minor things, we loved it. We had a great time at a great price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location. Great view from the rooms. Air conditioning works great. Even had a mini fridge in our room. Mattress is extremely hard. Water pressure in bathroom is hit and miss. Close bathroom door at night lest the sewer smell get into your room.
Restaurant was decent. Only had 1 dinner there, too many other places to dine in Cozumel. Complimentary "american breakfast" was so-so. Nothing great but at least something to put in your belly before you start the day.
Snorkeling is decent from the Coral Princess, next door all the way to the hotel.
Advertised daily yoga does not advertise that it is not complimentary with your room. It costs $10 per session per person.
Watch out on weekends. They open the place up to everyone. The pool and hottub are full of locals all weekend.
Didn't use the spa, too expensive.

Room Tip: For the best view, the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockitman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in Cozumel for a week and the last night of our trip we stayed at Hotel B. We very much enjoyed it and will be coming back! The location is amazing! It is north of town and near the airport. After a week of staying in the southern part of the island we really loved how private Hotel B was. It was nice to get away from all of the cruise ship crowds (although we enjoyed seeing the ships come and go every day) The hotel has a very modern feel to it which I loved. I appreciated all of the attention to detail. The interior design was wonderful. Our room was clean and comfortable and had an amazing view of the ocean. The pool/ lounge/ ocean area was amazing and we spent the majority of our time there. We stayed at the hotel for dinner that night because there was a live band "Blackjack" playing. The live music set the perfect atmosphere. We enjoyed a few drinks (my favorite was the strawberry mojito- very fresh and only $5!) We each ate the fresh fish of the day. It was very good, but a little over cooked. That would be the only negative thing we would have to say about our entire stay was the overcooked fish and very slow service at dinner. However we really didn't seem to mind because we were enjoying the music and the views. Drinks during happy hour and service at breakfast on the other hand was very fast and helpful! We then spent some time in the hot tub after dinner. It feels like you are right in the ocean because it is built right into the natural rocks. LOVED IT! We enjoyed the free American breakfast and coffee in the morning and then snorkeled one last time before we had to leave. The two men at the front desk were extremely helpful and got us a great rate for a taxi back to the southern part of the island (we forgot something) and then to the airport. They also remembered us by name every time we got towels or needed anything. The attention and care they took was very nice. All in all we loved it and it is the place we will be coming back to!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe King room on the second floor. All rooms have balconies that overlook the pool...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethVanderPolGammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great hotel and great location. All the staff members were so helpful and nice. Downfall about the yoga class is it does cost money(was not aware of that prior t going). My suggestion is a discounted rate for the people staying at the hotel and or a package rate. Included breakfast was OK. It would be nice to maybe include one more alternative for people who don't eat eggs. Your choice is OJ or Fruit plate, Toast, eggs 3 ways(?) and bacon or sausage and coffee. Although they did bring extra bacon for us since we don't eat eggs. Some people have complained about the music although that didn't seem to be an issue while we were there. There a several areas to relax by the pool and by the ocean. Hot tub wasn't very hot maybe mid 90's but then again we keep ours around 102. We ate dinner there once which was very good. Snorkeling was good but didn't seem as colorful as other years (obviously not something they can control). Rooms were always clean as were the rest of the grounds plus our view from the fourth floor was AMAZING. Locals and some cruise ship employees enjoyed the area during the day but were always polite and didn't take over the place. Overall the place was beautiful and I would come back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor or above, although as far as I'm concerned the resort did not have a bad view...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennfocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Let's start with the good thing, because they are few.
The position of the hotel is very nice one, no natural sandy beach, just a rocky entry into the water. Still a good view, clear see, with a but of a reef, and a sand platform at about 6m deep, few tropical fishes, an eel and a school of squids.
The infinity pool is small but nice, sun beds enough for a half full hotel, not the most comfortable ones in the world, but they will do just fine.
The rooms are big enough, and the view over the sea is nice, if you are on second floor or above. If you are on the ground level, forget about the view.
Also a good place for families with children, but just for visiting, not spending the night here.
Here stops the good things.
The scuba spot was closed all 4 days we've been here.
The so called "activities" are just on paper, nothing is going on here.
You pay for a deluxe room and they try to talk you to accept a room on the ground floor: you are close to the pool, sir! 
If you are smart enough, you'll get the top floors and have a view.
We waited for three hours to get the room we paid for.
Inside now!
Check the pillows first time you enter the room, we have them change 6 pillows and they all smelled like an old dog . Not a chance for an unsmelly one.
You want to drink something cold? not a chance, no fridge in the room (306)
No mosquito nets, but you get repellent for free.
In the bathroom is clean, but from time to time you need your gas mask because of the sewer.
Internet is up and running, 2 networks. Up time? 50% on sunny days.
Chairs on the balcony are a real threat, you end up on the floor too often.
You got a b&b? wrong choice! 
Breakfast is called "american breakfast" and on booking you get it for 200 pesos and in the restaurant for 230. Some eggs and at you choice "fruits plateau" or orange juice. Fruits are at list as old as me, so no way. If you like butter, bring your own! they offer margarine. Every day!
The menus you will see in the pictures, 3 or if you are lucky 4 A5 papers, with a "big" choice of 4 types of fish, 1 chicken and 1 aracerra. 5 pastas in the menu, at the most 2 available.
"Sorry, we don't have linguini"...
Service at the pool  is so prompt, you will die of thirst.
After taking the order, in 5 minutes you will be asked to repeat it.
Coffee drinker? bad luck! colored water.
BE CAREFUL with what you sign, at list one thing on the check is not yours. Happened every single day with every tab.
The front desk staff will be the first to cheat you if you need a taxi or ask for an external service. Taxi to the city is 30-40 pesos, they will tell you 60-80.
To the south part? 300-350. We payed 100 ...
Come with cash (pesos)! no ATM near,  so the Mexican ATM tax will increase with at list 80 pesos (taxi to city and back)
Bottom of line, come during the day, enjoy the pool, the view, even some dolphins if you are lucky, but fly away as soon as the night falls or you get hungry.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VladJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,100 reviews
5.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $85 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing