We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fifth stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here five times now. Best time and a great feel. A true authentic experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

I don't know what I can add to the other great reviews here...big superior rooms (personally I really like the design), convenient to a pier and dive shops, refrigerators in the rooms, friendly staff (from housekeepers who make the wonderful towel sculptures to front desk personnel), beautiful grounds, peaceful environment, and so on and so on.

If you want a huge, noisy, non-intimate hotel where you can spend a ridiculous amount of money - this isn't it!

Room Tip: definitely go for a Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadiverdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Get the superior room! We upgraded to superior which was supposed to have a ocean view - Right if you look sideways!
Also we got the continental Breakfast - only toast, coffee and juice. Never used it!

Pros: Price, Location, good beds

CONS:
1. Poor lighting, if you want to read in your room - all the lights are on the walls.
2. Employees let their friends and family use the facility (read pool) so it's extra noisy on those days.
3. Literature says free WIFI in room - NOT
4. Needs work (read refurbishing)
5. No comfortable chairs to sit on, also no desk.
6. TV is 13" cannot be seen from bed.
7. Free parking - for about 3 cars
8. We did purchase breakfast and they ruined the eggs.

Take what you want from this review, but the beds were good, it was quiet at night and we ended up getting this room for about $20/night even with the upgrade (in the package including air). And the staff are helpful though ineffective.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciacozumel, General Manager at Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear 1scubaDiver:

Thank you for your comments and feelings regarding your recent stay with us, I apologize for your disappointment and if is unfortunate you did not bring any of your concerns to our attention while you were here.
We always do our best to address any valid issues and we value your input.
Reading lights area good suggestion!!, employee family and friends are prohibited from using hotel facilities (pool) and only hotel guests are granted this privilege.
Free wi fi is available in all public areas like lobby, pool, gardens and restaurant.
Free parking is available both inside hotel property as well as street side parking.
If you should choose to visit us again, please remember that we always do our very best to accommodate your needs and request brought to our attention.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from Cozumel, and again stayed at Villa Blanca. This is approx. the 7th or 8th time we have stayed at this hotel. We absolutely love our superior room which is more spacious than any hotel room in its comparison category and the grounds are very well kept. I just love opening the French doors in the morning, and just a couple of steps, and voila - I am being served breakfast by Arturo and his staff (Nemo Restaurant). Jorge, the hotel manager, and his staff will bend over backwards to ensure that your stay is extremely enjoyable. I am getting "home sick" just thinking about it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you're looking for a resort that has everything you could possibly want, this isn't it. It does however provide things the bigger resorts don't have. Like very few kids, if any, no teenagers, no loud music, Internet in our room and as far away as the beach bar across the street. Beds were EXTREMELY comfortable (compared to the rock hard beds at the big all-inclusive resort up the street solicited heavily everywhere in Cozumel). A/C worked great, PLENTY of hot water (although it did taste a tad salty) staff was friendly and helpful, grounds are gorgeous and well kept and rooms are clean. The pool is large and kept clean. Keep in mind this is a 50 room hotel that caters to divers (3 dive shops nearby). Papa Hogs Dive Shop is next door, Dive Paradise is downstairs from Papa Hogs. You can get a massage next to Papa Hogs. Hogtown Cafe has good food, reasonably priced. La Hach restaurant is across the street. Lapalapita is a beach bar across the street 2X1 Margaritas & Pina Coladas, etc., all day every day.
There is a restaurant Nemo's on-site at Villablanca. It doesn't seem to get much traffic, although Arturo is wonderful and very informative about the culture and island life. We had the chicken quesadillas and they were excellent. We had dinner there, my husband had the grouper and I had lobster, both of which were excellent. The crab salad appetizer was simple but out of this world. We were surprised when we weren't given salsa and chips when we were at the table since that seems to be a staple in every restaurant in Mexico. The restaurant doesn't take credit cards.
We certainly enjoyed our stay, it was quiet, non-stressful (not like some other resorts where there are too many people). Guests seemed to interact with each other and strangers more here than other resorts we've stayed at.
Only complaint I have is that the fouton/sofa bed mattress was about worn out and was very uncomfortable to sit on, much less try to lay on.
We'll definitely be back. One of the most enjoyable vacations we've had.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room, upstairs and toward the back to avoid street noise. Fouton/sofa bed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacieblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was my fourth visit to the Villa Blanca. Great improvement with the free fast Wifi throughout! The maids are wonderful and thorough. Nemos restaurant with Arturo and everyone is always a joy. Special shout out to Benjamin at the front desk at night and in the morning for his special help to all of our group of six, most first timers. Jorge, your the best
And see all as soon as I can. Muchas Gracious.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank terrill54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

caught a good on bookit and found a clean, comfortable hotel ably ran by Sr. Jorge and team. I enjoyed coffee each morning with Aurturo in the restaurant

Room Tip: s2 has wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentmorrdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#30 of 52 in Cozumel
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $52 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villablanca Garden Beach is a beachfront hotel located approximately 5 miles from Cozumel Airport and two miles from town, right in front of Villablanca Reef and Wall (great for snorkeling and diving).Our exclusive property includes 50 rooms and suites, two villas and a Pent-House, all units are equipped with A/C, ceiling fan, refrigerator, satellite TV, telephone and sunken tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villablanca Garden Beach Cozumel
Hotel Villablanca Garden Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing